The Final Dyretripe

25 Apr

Everything comes to an end at some point or another, and so it is with blogs. I am closing both (Popular & Classical) blogs once some ‘housekeeping’ has been taken care of.

The reasons are many, and varied, but top of the list is that there has been a greatly reduced level of traffic through the blogs, especially recently, to a point that they are no longer paying their way and i’m back having to subsidise them once again, which as i’ve made clear in the past, i cannot afford to do.

It is quite ironic that whilst i’ve spent the recent downtime working on a new, very accurate, decoding process for Dolby Surround, the blogs have been dying on their feet. To make it even more so, during the time working on the new process it became apparent that i’d found a missing piece of the puzzle in relation to decoding SQ which has led to there being a modified version of ‘Phoenix’, which is now fully complete.

I am planning a two stage close down as there are a couple of releases i want to put out before finally calling it a day. The first will be a small number of (D) reissues, on both blogs, that were used as testers. These will only be available for ONE WEEK. After that they will not be available, no matter what!

The final stage will follow, where DS600 will be released, again for the limited time of ONE WEEK. After that, there will be the final bye-bye posting.

The first of the stages is planned for the 1st of May 2017.

Once completed i will then leave the Quadraphonic community for good.

OD

65 Responses to “The Final Dyretripe”

  1. sacdtodvda May 8, 2017 at 00:39 #

    I have always said that you should do what is best for you.

    And while I have no desire to see the demise of the blog, I fully appreciate the reasons. Apart from the recent decline in interest there is the parallel issue of knowing what to release given the sporadic and sometimes unexpected commercial quad releases appearing recently.

    Your work has given me much pleasure and much joy, and I am eternally grateful. I wish you health and happiness.

    • Michael Eldridge May 20, 2017 at 17:01 #

      Dear OD: I’m another relative latecomer/lurker, but I too want to thank you for your devotion, generosity, and expertise. I’m sorry to see your work come to an end, even sorrier to see this blog and its amazing collection of resources disappear. You leave behind a stunning legacy regardless.

  2. birdycat19 May 2, 2017 at 04:52 #

    All good things must end, and your blog has provided me with musical treasures I will listen to for the rest of life. Thanks for your passion and hard work all these years. Take care and thanks again.

  3. Werno May 2, 2017 at 03:38 #

    OD, I will echo the thanks that others have expressed for the many hours of musical transport that your work has brought me. I’ve been scrolling through the blog marveling at the variety of music and technology you’ve refined and shared. Thanks for your labors of love in the service of music, for which we can never be grateful enough.

  4. Brian Whistler May 1, 2017 at 17:42 #

    Unfortunately for me, I came to this blog pretty late in the game. There is no way I can express my gratitude for the many treasures I have found here. Just finding a decent decode of Weather Report’s TailSpinnin, which is a kind of quad holy grail for me, was a revelation. Now that it seems more unlikely than ever it will ever be officially released ( since AF didn’t come thru on it,) it is even more important than ever to me. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

    I’ve been quiet on the blog, lurking in the comments section. Ironically, I now feel like adding my two cents, but alas, it’s a little late for that. I just wanted to express my appreciation for all the hard work you put into perfecting your processes Richard- you have done a great service to the quad heads of the world. Wish you all the best going forward.

    By the way, I’m unclear as to exectly when the blog goes down. Do we have the entire month of May to make our final selections, or will it go down sooner?

    • oxforddickie May 1, 2017 at 21:41 #

      The blog will come to an end one week after the release of DS600

  5. takicat May 1, 2017 at 16:44 #

    Sorry to hear. But a tremendous thanks for the utter joy you have provided me with your releases.

  6. bayards May 1, 2017 at 01:42 #

    Some nice things said about our OD on FB group…. Someone moaned about fees but I chimed in that servers cost money to run. I’ve had a wonderful time listening to stuff I never knew existed. Good on OD ☺️

  7. Owen Smith April 30, 2017 at 23:47 #

    My oldest download from the blog is DS55f Mike Oldfield Tubular Bells, downloaded 12 April 2012 (I’m still running the same uTorrent installation, though the software has been updated a few times). I didn’t get fully involved for at least 8 months more though. 5 years.

  8. therecordconservatory April 30, 2017 at 07:33 #

    OD, nothing is stopping you from setting the story right when someone posts in the groups. I think it would be cool if you did more posts on the blog providing the correct information to the misconceptions. That way the information is published and explained clearly. Whenever someone posts something false, you can provide a link that explains why it is false. You don’t have to have a debate. People will either believe the half-baked things being said or people will believe your organized and clear explination of the subject. thats the best you can do. I am not an expert on the technical aspects. I am also not an expert on members who are problimatic. If you want to name names here or in FB PM I am willing to listen. I think a lot of people are rallying behind you and your blog so why not stick around for all the people who like you?

    • Drew April 30, 2017 at 11:41 #

      Hear hear! Please don’t deprive us of your wonderful work!

  9. mgburch April 30, 2017 at 06:37 #

    Thanks for letting us know in advance you’re shutting down. I appreciate all the tremendous work you’ve done over the years. Best wishes for you OD.
    “So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish” – Douglas Adams 🙂

  10. Mike Lynch April 29, 2017 at 23:39 #

    It sounds like your pretty burnt out and worried for the moment. I’d say time for a vacation and a new funding strategy. It sounds like if not for the expense, you would be happy to continue. I know nothing about your decoding work, but it sounds interesting. Perhaps its just recent developments have taken a course away from your product demand for the time being, and it’s time to retool the business model.

    • oxforddickie April 30, 2017 at 00:59 #

      There is no chance of me ever returning to this. I’m afraid when i pull the plug that will be it.

  11. sumo5763 April 28, 2017 at 16:22 #

    Sad to hear this OD but extremely grateful for all your generosity over the years and the sheer enjoyment you have afforded so many, a truly remarkable achievement enjoy the rest and relaxation. Thank you

  12. Owen Smith April 28, 2017 at 14:20 #

    May I remind people the blog rules say to download no more than 3 titles at once. Someone on videotron.ca is downloading 19 titles from me, which means they are unfairly hogging most of my bandwidth while the other people downloading 2 or 3 titles don’t get a fair share. You can set your torrent software up so that only 3 downloads are active at once, shove 20 torrent files in, and it will churn through all 20 torrents but never downloading more than 3. Whoever you are downloading 19 (and they’re all titles from the Donate Per Release era) you will be blocked on my server if you’re still doing it by the time I get chance to reconfigure.

    • moonstarstudios April 28, 2017 at 18:45 #

      My most sincere apologies. I have upped the links in utorrent and then left for work. I was sure that I had started three and paused the others. I will stop any remaining downloads as soon as I get home. Again, I’m dreadfully sorry for the inconvenience.

      Simon

    • Owen Smith April 29, 2017 at 14:17 #

      It’s OK, mistakes happen. Just set uTorrent to only download 3 at once and let it do all the queuing, there is no need to Pause them.

  13. calchar April 27, 2017 at 19:15 #

    Firstly, many many thanks for everything you have done for the preservation of quadraphonic music. I bought my first quadraphonic record about 1973, I think, Deep Purple if my memory is working and have quite a few more now. My initial thought is that your work has such importance that closing down is almost akin to shutting the British Library and demolishing it. I also must plead ‘guilty’ to being one of those who have not contributed lately, firstly because of an extended illness and then because of a career change (at my age!). But I have no desire to appear selfish and wish you all the very best for the future. You have left us all with a continuing legacy and won’t be forgotten. Now just need to make a few donations for those special albums……Sincere thanks again.

  14. gleeksmirt7 April 26, 2017 at 19:52 #

    Damn! This is really bad news. I’m very sorry to see you shut it down, OD but you have your reasons whatever they may be. I’ve accumulated so much quad stuff here so I must say thank you for all your incredible work. I’m sure going to miss this site. As far as the facebook group goes… I don’t see any quad downloads being offered so it doesn’t interest me. OD, We’ll never forget you.

  15. daveede April 26, 2017 at 16:04 #

    This is indeed sad news, but only because of the riches I’ve discovered through your blog – many thanks for that, OD! If I may be completely self-serving, are there legacy titles that you’ll be supporting through the week? Unfortunately I have a backlog that I’d like to hear, like that Ebehard Schoener disc.

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2017 at 17:30 #

      All of the titles on the blog are available and will be until i shut down fully.

      • daveede April 28, 2017 at 01:02 #

        Good to know, I will contact you this eve. Thanks again.

  16. Owen Smith April 26, 2017 at 09:40 #

    Don’t forget to write down the decoding processes OD. After the hiatus roughly this time last year it became clear how much trouble you were having remembering things. If you don’t have it all clearly written down, in a year or two you will have forgotten. Losing the research behind all this would be tragic.

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2017 at 09:50 #

      Ha ha, you know me too well. In case people don’t know, none of my work is actually written down, it’s all in my befuddled head.

      You do realise that if i do write it down it’ll probably be in the form of a long form equation that’ll take someone who understands the matices to work out LOL.

    • Owen Smith April 26, 2017 at 09:55 #

      I was more thinking of step by step instructions of how to do each type of decode, which anyone that can drive computer software could follow.

      But a set of equations would be better than nothing.

  17. rockysquirrel April 26, 2017 at 06:38 #

    Very sorry tp hear this, OD. I discovered so many things I hadn’t previously heard through this blog. I am amazed with what you have done with SQ. It would have been nice to hear what you could have done with Dolby Surround. Long life and happiness to you, and thank you for the honor of allowing me to be a member.

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2017 at 09:46 #

      Thanks. SQ has always (and i mean going back when it all started and i had Ben Bauer as a penpal)been something that i firmly believed in, and still do. QS just doesn’t cut it. The problem was the poor decoders at the time, which is only because technology wasn’t up to it. Yes the system had its problems but it was really the best of a bad bunch.

      I would like to think the Ben would appreciated where i’ve taken SQ decoding too, well beyond what he thought that’s for sure, but it’s still not possible to do it in real time, we still aren’t clever enough (technology wise!)

      The last things, as i mentioned, to be released are some of the titles that were used during the recent (last) fling at of working on the process’s which will include at least three Dolby Surround reissues (spread over the two blogs) as well as a few new ones. There may also be one or two SQ as well, but don’t don’t hold me to that.

      That will conclude releases on the blog, but do take note of the limited time they will be available, apart from DS600 (if i actually get started on it)

  18. Highlander April 26, 2017 at 01:29 #

    I’m very grateful to have crossed paths with you online OD and wish you the best, After first learning about surround on the web from Mohave, I soon ran across your fine blog. Over the years, you’ve turned me on to some fabulous music which I’m very thankful for.
    I routinely donated during the PayPal days but after the changeover, I wasn’t on board with the new company. However, I hope you’ll reconsider the blog after a break, since your work on the various decoding processes are stellar! The FB group isn’t quite up to your standards of excellence, but I could see how that would influence your decision. I hope this isn’t the end, but if it is, I understand your decision and hope all is well with you. I appreciate your efforts over all these years, you’ve greatly influenced quad and surround sound for the better!

    • oxforddickie April 26, 2017 at 09:32 #

      Ah, Mohave… those were great days, have some fond memories. The end? it is i’m afraid.

    • Owen Smith April 26, 2017 at 09:37 #

      The loss of PayPal access was in many ways the beginning of the end for this blog. Donatioms reduced significantly (for reasons I never really understood, maybe it’s a UK – US difference).

      • SacdtoDvda April 27, 2017 at 01:01 #

        The new process worked fine from Aus – apart from my credit provider suspending my card after the first two purchases, but they were doing that with all sorts of vendors.

        • Bruce Greenberg April 28, 2017 at 00:45 #

          By the time I started coming here, the new system was already in place and I had no issues from the U.S. But, I seem to recall reading that the system was done for a while while you switched. That probably didn’t help matters.

  19. crispin14 April 26, 2017 at 01:06 #

    Very sad to see this go. It has been great getting the real sound out of some of these recordings I’ve owned and many new ones.

    Please keep a mailing list in case you reconsider in the future.

  20. John McBride April 26, 2017 at 00:46 #

    Awh no! I realize I am a late-comer – and have not been able to contribute much. BUT I have derived so much pleasure from your work, OD. It has been a real listening exploration and thrill. Especially AWB! I’ll miss it all so much – but understand and wish you all the best.

  21. Drew April 25, 2017 at 23:15 #

    I too have enjoyed so many of the – generally classical – releases, and have eagerly followed the blogs over the couple of years since I delightedly stumbled on it. But I’m a classical music buff mainly, and I guess that is a minority taste here (indeed everywhere). I was looking forward to many of the releases mooted and discussed, and when frustrated because they’re not forthcoming, I can only presume they would have so few takers, OD, that you must consider it so much wasted effort. Of course I would be willing to contribute more, but no doubt it would be a drop in the ocean, for how many regular subscribers are there, in fact, to the classical blog? – I don’t take up ALL the releases because, musically, they are often not to my taste. Many times I have thought to myself ‘why that release particularly? The musicians are third rate, the performance (or sometimes the piece) doesn’t warrant attention, albeit the recording is quad!’ But that, of course, is a personal judgment. (Eg. the recent Saint-Saens – a composer I happen to find shallow and unappealing – with the undistinguished Phillipe Entremont, though I understand to some it will have rarity value, and having been unlisted, constitute a ‘find’.) I hope you don’t take mind my honesty at this late – is it really terminal? – stage: It is your blog, and your time and (mind-boggling) expertise you are expending. But I have much appreciated it. (Insert tearful emoji here!) Not being technically minded, I can only wonder at what miraculous and rareified processe you have used, and the ingenuity involved in their development!

  22. Paul I April 25, 2017 at 21:39 #

    Very sorry to hear this. I wish it weren’t so, but it is ultimately your decision. Good luck OD and a very sincere thank you.

  23. Captain Beyond April 25, 2017 at 20:39 #

    Oh my goodness what sad news this is !!! The joy and delight of the vast musical catalog you have shared will never be forgotten. Your dedication and acceptance of nothing less than perfection is a rare bird in these modern times. We have traveled down this bumpy road together for several years now and the good times will stand out in my memory. You and your blog have become a part of my life just like Owen said. Nothing can replace it. I believe everything is a circle yet some things do come to an end. Wish is was not so. Heres wishing you the best moving forward my friend. Thank you OD for all you have done.

    • Owen Smith April 26, 2017 at 00:06 #

      Talking of the good times, I will never forget the few weeks about 2.5 years ago that lead to Phoenix. There was SQ-III, then some Dolby Surround processes (which had some releases done in them), then the abandoned SQ/IV and finally a “compromise” that lead to Phoenix. Every other day I got an email from OD about some new idea or development and how great it was and how excited he was by the results. All I could do was offer encouragement, listen to test files and be astonished how much he achieved in such a short period. It was a magical window of time amongst his medical issues (which he’s mentioned before on the blog so I’m not revealing anything new here).

      Ironically the recent work on Matrix HJ (shame there are so few titles in it) and the new Dolby Surround process that fed into Phoenix+ remind me of that time (plus the new turntable), but in a sad way since the blog itself has been doing poorly for months. My own server’s upload figures are well down for the last two months (after an all time record of 1.1 gigabytes uploaded for December – how quickly things change).

      • Owen Smith April 26, 2017 at 00:49 #

        Silly me, 1.1 gigabytes doesn’t even cover one release. I have just checked the figures and my server uploaded 1.1 terrabytes in December.

  24. atq April 25, 2017 at 19:41 #

    Sorry to hear this. I’ve had so much fun and heard so much different music through your blog. Thank you for all your work.

  25. forthosewithfourears April 25, 2017 at 19:26 #

    This has been a wonderful trip OD. Just glancing back through the folders … What other list has Barbra Streisand rubbing shoulders with Popol Vuh ? Or Mike Oldfield with Beaver & Krause ? Thanks for your brilliant work, and I just hope this will all be preserved somewhere for posterity ?

    • Owen Smith April 25, 2017 at 22:48 #

      My copies of everything are safe. Backed up on multiple hard discs, some held offsite. I don’t have the right to do anything with them, that’s up to OD. And in ten years time when myself and OD have both been run over by the proverbial bus who knows, it will probably all be lost.

      The only way to ensure eternal longevity of data these days is to make it all public domain and upload it to some public domain server like github. Of course something like that might attract the copyright holders. A different option would be to lodge it all somewhere like the British Library, which should ensure survival for academic interest but almost no-one will ever get access to it, as proven by the Matrix HJ Genesis concert recording they hold.

  26. Keith Bruce April 25, 2017 at 19:01 #

    Thank you OD for all your hard work.

  27. zaphod2359 April 25, 2017 at 17:36 #

    Terribly sad to hear this. Thank you so much for sharing your passion and knowledge,and for all the hard work. I still have more releases than I can count to listen to.

  28. bayards April 25, 2017 at 17:27 #

    Could not a subscription per quarter work? You pay to keep in the loop whether you download or not. Very sad to see you go mate!

    • oxforddickie April 25, 2017 at 20:29 #

      Although the blog (in its various guises)has managed to weather such times, this time there is no way that it can be rescued. Basically i no longer have the desire to continue. Those close know of my views on the various issues involved in my final decision, i’ve been warning them for a while, i guess they just thought i’d get over it, as i have in the past.

      This time it’s for real.

    • Owen Smith April 25, 2017 at 22:50 #

      Never say never. No decision is final, I’ve learned that working in the software industry.

      And if you want to start this again in a few years’ time there would be absolutely nothing wrong with that.

  29. tarkus2013 April 25, 2017 at 17:17 #

    Speechless…but very much understand the situation. You have done so much for your followers and will be sorely missed. Can not possible thank you enough for the joy you have brought into my home.

    Kurt Vonnegut said in speeches that a plausible mission of artists is to make people appreciate being alive at least a little bit. When he was asked if he knew of any artists who pulled that off he would reply, ‘The Beatles did’.

    I would paraphrase that to say about O.D. You did masterful work (and shared it!) that made being alive better for many people whose lives you have touched. This probably sounds really corny, but I really am sincere about it.

    Charles

  30. monagler April 25, 2017 at 16:26 #

    Very sorry to hear. I will have to get busy in these next few weeks! Thanks for everything.

  31. Bruce Greenberg April 25, 2017 at 16:17 #

    I am one of the newer followers hear and have greatly appreciated the music you have added to my collection. The new rips in particular have been excellent. This is a pretty natural fact on the web, so don’t feel too bad. No matter how good the blog, when you’re only going out to a niche group, it will run out of gas. I think Joni said it best, “All good dreamers pass this way some day”. Thank you so much for all of your hard work.

  32. jaypfunk April 25, 2017 at 16:01 #

    Really sorry to hear this. I will miss this blog very much. Thanks all the great stuff over the years. You always did great work.

  33. lupineassassin April 25, 2017 at 15:56 #

    :O Please email me.

  34. Owen Smith April 25, 2017 at 15:44 #

    A sad development. But given the recent facebook group attracting all the downloaders there isn’t much that can be done. I have enjoyed the blog greatly and it has become part of my life. I’ve been short of listening time recently, but at least that means I have a backlog of releases to listen to which should keep me going for a few months.

    Thankyou for your genius OD.

    • Bruce Greenberg April 25, 2017 at 16:20 #

      What Facebook group is that, Owen?

    • jaypfunk April 25, 2017 at 16:31 #

      Link to facebook page please

    • zaphod2359 April 25, 2017 at 17:32 #

      Let’s hear more please. Might this be the thing that gets me to finally sign up?

    • Owen Smith April 25, 2017 at 22:58 #

      OD advertised the facebook group here on this very blog back in February. It’s a bit ironic he linked to something that became part of his own blog’s downfall.

      https://dreamingspiresquadarchive.wordpress.com/2017/02/28/new-kid-on-the-block/

      Personally I think a facebook group is too public and the copyright holders may object. Someone may have decoded or transferred the quad, but the copyright is still held by whoever and they can legally get annoyed about it.

      • oxforddickie April 25, 2017 at 23:29 #

        Unfortunately i have serious issues with that facebook group, i left and the reason is one of the other causes of my decision.

        • Kenny Mendenhall April 29, 2017 at 20:38 #

          As the creator of the Quadraphonic Facebook groups, I would like to make it abundantly clear that OD was welcomed with open arms to both groups. I also put a firm ban on sharing any of his conversions without his consent and encouraged him to advertise his blog without restriction. He has never brought any concerns to my attention. We have never had an unpleasant conversation and this feels a bit out of left field.

          • oxforddickie April 29, 2017 at 20:53 #

            One of the QQ ‘gods’ decided to attack me. I tried to impart some information but it was obvious the QQ underground were to have none of it. So i left.

            The quadraphonic comunity is easily the worst i’ve ever come across in that false information put down by those who actually know nothing is taken as fact and anyone who dares to ‘shake the tree’ is attacked.

            I’m leaving the community as i found it.

            • Kenny Mendenhall April 29, 2017 at 21:04 #

              I agree with you that there is bad information floating around, and I do try to address and confront it when I come across it, the group has expanded to the point where it is near impossible for me to correct everyone who says something sketchy. Also I am trying to avoid fights and drama from leaking into the group. Yes, the subject of quadraphonic is full of falsehoods and BS, but so is every other subject, not just quad. Especially technical subjects that not too many people grasp fully. All one can do is try to make corrections and try to provide the correct information as much as possible. I’m sorry if you feel like I am remiss in policing the group, but I am providing an open forum for people to discuss quadraphonic sound. The point of the group was never intended to be a textbook on quadraphonic sound.

              • oxforddickie April 30, 2017 at 00:57 #

                I never said you remiss in anything. What i’m i’m well and truly fed up with is the one subject you are obviously not willing to go near, those individuals whobelieve themselves to be somethibg they certainly are not.

                Anyway, this is all rather pointless as i’ve washed my hands of the quad no-hopers once and for all.

Leave a Reply

