Santana – Greatest Hits

8 Nov

santana-greatest-hits-ds287p-front

Allmusic

Reissue: (D) New decode

Release: DS287p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

10 Responses to “Santana – Greatest Hits”

  1. records633 December 13, 2016 at 01:36 #

    Nice stuff, I had one of his ‘Best ofs’ on LP 25 or more years ago, Never imagined there could be so much more going on in the mixes. Fantastic stuff. and a sight better than some Santana Quad mixes Ive heard ‘Decoded’ in the past. Again I need to hear it fully, Ive played a couple of tracks and wowzers had to come here and thank you before the album has played out. It always sort of surprises me what that could put in a SQ LP.

    • oxforddickie December 13, 2016 at 01:41 #

      Thanks for your comments on the albums you’ve listened to so far and i’m glad you’re enjoying them

      • records633 December 13, 2016 at 01:49 #

        I wish I could have one of those hats you see in old cartoons that shoot off your head with a gunshot sound when a character is astounded or amazed. as when I heard your SQ decode what could lye in those grooves. Thanks again man.

  2. Owen Smith December 11, 2016 at 21:02 #

    This is great stuff, I love that Santana guitar. The quad mix is good too, though it’s been a few days since I listened so I can’t comment on specific tracks. I do remember thinking how damned good the LP rip is, this seems to be a constant in all these new LP re-releases.

  3. Bruce Greenberg November 9, 2016 at 22:11 #

    This got me through the morning commute today. I had it cranked to 11. My ears are ringing. Oh wait, they’re always ringing. Still, enjoyed the quality and mix. Although, at the end of Evil Ways, the lead guitar seems to disappear for a few seconds. Not sure if my CD player was acting up or if that is a weird part of the mix. It plays loud very nicely though. So thanks for the great timing.

    • oxforddickie November 10, 2016 at 05:38 #

      CD player? Interesting as the iso is DVD.

      • Bruce Greenberg November 10, 2016 at 05:41 #

        Yes actually. If you must know, I converted the ISO into DTS Wav files and then burned them to a CD so that I can play them in my car. Sounds really good, to these 60 year old ears.

        • oxforddickie November 10, 2016 at 05:46 #

          Ah, thanks for clearing that up, just interested you know.

          I’m really enjoying this series of ‘My Peronal’reissues, soe are really shining, all thank to ‘The Old Bird’, with a load more to coe.

          Would really like to hear peoples views of these reissues.

          • Bruce Greenberg November 10, 2016 at 05:58 #

            Of course. I’m just trying to be cute. 🙂 I didn’t have the original, so I can’t compare it to that, but I have a multi channel of Abraxas (not sure where I got it from) and I’ll probably compare those songs this weekend.

            • oxforddickie November 10, 2016 at 06:23 #

              I think i pulled out some of the earlier Santana releases for the reissue pile as i’m really fond of those earlier albums, pure magic.

Leave a Reply

