Aerosmith – Rocks

3 Oct

aerosmith-rocks-ds21p-front

A long-overdue reissue

Allmusic

Reissue: (D) New source and decode

Release: DS21p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/VĀ  MLP/DTS/DD

 

8 Responses to “Aerosmith – Rocks”

  1. Owen Smith October 22, 2016 at 19:37 #

    This did not sound dynamically flat to me at all. Quite the opposite, I found this a lively listen with plenty of dynamic range. Great hard rock tracks and a really excellent and active quad mix. Guitar solos appear in various places throughout, but it’s always a pretty well thought out mix. And so clean a transfer for LP, I can hardly believe it. Phoenix did it’s magic too, the guitar solos in the rears are only in the the rears with no bleed through into the fronts that I noticed.

  2. Bruce Greenberg October 5, 2016 at 01:42 #

    Big guitar solos coming out of the rear speakers; just like God had intended. šŸ™‚ Actually a lot coming out of the rears. A class rock mix (to over use the pun). Dynamically, it seemed a touch flat, but I don’t really have anything to compare it to. Pretty standard for this era I suppose. I did hear things I don’t remember hearing before (I am getting old): The whip at the end of Back in the Saddle, for example. Overall, a very nice rip. Thanks!

    • oxforddickie October 5, 2016 at 05:30 #

      Thanks for the review. Am interested that found it a little flat, do you think it’s a ‘production’ issue or something else?

      • Bruce Greenberg October 5, 2016 at 05:55 #

        Like I said, I don’t really have anything to compare it to. I don’t own “Rocks” in any format. It reminds me a lot of many 70’s albums that are just a little flat when listening to them with today’s equipment. The really well produced albums, like Roxy Music’s Avalon, just leap out at you. Since the source isn’t tape, I’d say I think it is the original production.

        Honestly, I’m not real good at describing these things and probably not real exacting in how I describe something as flat. This may sound weird, but I try and turn up the volume until it feels right: Until I feel the music. If, before that happens, the highs start to bother me, then to me the implication is that it is flat dynamically.

        I’ve got a couple of Aerosmith vinyls (I have no idea where they came from). I’ll try and give one a listen tomorrow morning and see how it compares. It’s not exactly apples to apples, but…

        • oxforddickie October 5, 2016 at 06:32 #

          “Or until your ears bleed” lol.

          Thanks for taking the time. The reason i asked was because there has been a change in turntable and was just interested if the change in sound quality might have a cause.

          • Bruce Greenberg October 5, 2016 at 07:53 #

            Oh, they bled out years ago. Led Zep and Lou Reed are mainly to blame. šŸ™‚ More on this tomorrow, when I can turn up the volume.

          • Bruce Greenberg October 5, 2016 at 16:15 #

            I pulled out an old Aerosmith album that I must have stolen from my ex and gave it a spin. I also listened to your Rocks on my main system instead of in my car (I do most of my listening in the car). So, first, it sure seems like the LP I listened to was pretty compressed (probably a better word then “flat”). That is pretty typical of albums trying to get airplay back in the 70s (I’ve never forgiven Springsteen for compressing the hell out of Born to Run). And compared to that that LP, Rocks sounds a lot better. So, without actually having a copy of Rocks to compare it to, I’d say your system did a good job of reproducing the original sound from the album. If anyone is a fan of old Aerosmith, this is worth the listen. Without going crazy, they had a lot of fun with the mix.

            • oxforddickie October 5, 2016 at 20:21 #

              Thanks for doing the comparison. It is a little more active than normal, and a bit of fun.

Leave a Reply

