Al Hirt – The Best Of

3 Aug

Al Hirt - The Best of Al Hirt CB064 front

Link

The Captain is back!

This title was the 21st LP from Al Hirt originally released on stereo in 1965. I recall ‘Java’ playing on the radio very frequent during my youth. Back then AM radio did not pigeon hole everything into some demographic but rather programed to a very wide spectrum audience. Today everything is in its own box. Not sure that is a good thing.

This Q8 transfer was requested by T Bradley back on February 26th so please pardon the long delay. If you enjoyed this ‘Best of’ may I suggest another title by AL Hirt. “Honey In The Horn” from 1963. It is not quad but enjoyable never the less. Enjoy CB

Release: CB064

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Al Hirt – The Best Of”

  1. Highlander August 13, 2016 at 20:09 #

    Thanks CB, appreciate your return. I haven’t heard Hirt in years, but in surround, I”m sure it will be an immersive experience. Good to see you posting again. 🙂

  2. T Bradley August 7, 2016 at 17:57 #

    Ironically, last week was my birthday so I wanted say a huge THANK YOU for the excellent surprise gift and also welcome back CB!
    I’m really looking forward to hearing this one after it finishes downloading.
    I agree about the diverse days of AM radio programming as that’s also what I grew up on and I really miss getting to hear the wide variety of genres all being played on one station.
    These days my radio presets in the car have multiple “oldies”, “classic rock”, “country”, and “top 40” stations from the local and neighboring communities and I end up bouncing between presets a lot due to their small, limited, and very genre specific station music libraries and their tendency of frequently repeating the “hot” current hits every hour or two. Even the oldies stations get stuck in a rut for a week or two at a time, just sort of shuffling a common playlist on a daily basis before throwing that one out and playing a new list that contains a very different grouping of songs for their next recycling period.
    But at least I’m fortunate to have access to a variety of stations within each format.

  3. Captain Beyond August 5, 2016 at 16:32 #

    Thank you folks for the hearty welcome back. I have also missed being here and am glad to be back. Hope everyone is doing well and had a fine summer so far. With luck we will be looking forward to more regular contributions from the Captain in the future. Thanks again.

  4. Bruce August 5, 2016 at 07:13 #

    As always, excellent rip. I loved the classic 70’s mix too. I haven’t listened to Al in probably 20 years. His music was always too mainstream for me, but he was a hell of a player. I did enjoy this more than I thought I would. Thanks.

  5. chuck eisen August 4, 2016 at 21:42 #

    Thanks for this, and welcome back

  6. Mats Lindgren August 3, 2016 at 19:16 #

    Good to see you back. Thanks

  7. K Douglas August 3, 2016 at 18:38 #

    Hey CB & OD,

    It has been a quiet summer round these parts, and with all the business of life that has not been all bad, but I gotta say it is GREAT to see some renewed activity. I have been particularly wondering about OD since the passing of your Mom last April. It took me months to return to something like normal after my Mom passed in 2009. I hope you are both doing well, and I am sending you my best encouragement. Thanks again for all you do!

  8. gleeksmirt7 August 3, 2016 at 18:20 #

    Welcome back CB! It’s great to see you again. How’s that quad Grand Funk coming?

  9. rockysquirrel August 3, 2016 at 15:39 #

    Welcome back, Captain! Missed you . . .

  10. quadro2013 August 3, 2016 at 15:09 #

    Thank You so much!

  11. Ade Gregg August 3, 2016 at 09:18 #

    and how do you become a member?

    • oxforddickie August 3, 2016 at 12:06 #

      Not sure this belongs on this post. This question was asked only a week or two, but basically there is no membership ‘as such’ althougheverything you need to know is written in the pages above.

      And to let everyone know, this is the last time this sort of question will be allowed, i honestly believe that all the information needed is available on this blog, without the need for asking ‘how’.

  12. zaphod2359 August 3, 2016 at 01:56 #

    Thank Yu CB!

  13. lupineassassin August 3, 2016 at 01:10 #

    Thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

