Ray Conniff – The Way We Were

26 Mar

Ray Coniff - The Way We Were DS236f front

Withdrawn until further notice

Reissue: New decode

Release: DS236p

Source: SQ CD

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

13 Responses to “Ray Conniff – The Way We Were”

  1. Glen A. Gill January 24, 2017 at 18:57 #

    “Withdrawn until further notice”. Could this be because of Vocalion? I just recently purchased a double Conniff disc that was released in SACD. I understand that Dutton is planning on more. Is this release one of the albums he will be releasing later making you have to pull it? Just curious.

    • oxforddickie January 25, 2017 at 01:17 #

      Although not the original reason, it’s becoming a little worrying with regards to these titles whether to release any more of them in case they are reissued.

  2. Irv April 2, 2016 at 18:06 #

    I was right about COMPANY, A LITTLE NIGHT MUSIC< FUNNY GIRL

  3. Irv March 27, 2016 at 20:40 #

    Sorry, but there was never a quad release of a Conniff LP onto CD. I’ve checked with the Conniff website manager. All the CD’s were from the original stereo releases. And Conniff has two n’s and f’s.

    • oxforddickie March 27, 2016 at 21:27 #

      I see….

    • Alfie March 27, 2016 at 21:54 #

      You’ll be new to quad then…

      • Irv April 2, 2016 at 18:05 #

        Started about 1973. Have quad reel-to-reel and 8-track. Lafayette with wave matching and Tate 2 for SQ. Sansui for QS.

        • Alfie April 2, 2016 at 22:45 #

          Sorry, that was extremely patronising of me. I don’t imagine the website manager would necessarily know if the engineer had been given the correct tapes. Most hidden quad mixes are released unknowingly.

          Anyway, I haven’t had a chance to listen to this to determine whether it’s quad, but I can’t imagine OD would make a mistake on something like this.

          • oxforddickie April 2, 2016 at 22:59 #

            The silence on this is deafening, surely someone must have listened to it apart from me

          • Owen Smith April 3, 2016 at 14:50 #

            I have a backlog stack several inches tall. And I haven’t even added last weekends release to it, I’ve been too busy decorating to blow them to disc yet.

            • oxforddickie April 3, 2016 at 17:02 #

              Yea, the real world does tend to get in the way ay times… Decorating, that’s one of those never ending jobs.

        • sacdtodvda April 3, 2016 at 11:22 #

          What would be really great to see (and I mean this in all sincerity) would be your opinion of OD’s decode, and whether you feel that the source was an actual matrix encoded quad mix.

          I suggest this because OD has been quite forthright in the face of opposition in denouncing several of the long-rumoured hidden quad mixes as being simply stereo that gives an interesting effect. In my view it’d be unlikely that he’d release a decode of anything that he felt wasn’t truly an unmarked matrix mix.

          • oxforddickie April 3, 2016 at 11:29 #

            I agree. I’ve not wanted to say so myself and am glad you done so.

Leave a Reply

