John Lennon – Imagine

27 Feb

John Lennon - Imagine DS408p front

Album info

Reissue: New decode

Release: DS408p

Original Release: Q4 PAS 10004

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

4 Responses to “John Lennon – Imagine”

  1. bigheadrascal March 3, 2016 at 02:29 #

    My ears don’t work like they used to either. But the Imagine lp was murky in stereo back in ’71. In quad it’s murky from two additional channels. Maybe John was at a stage when asking Sir George to officiate would’ve been clinging to his recent Beatle past? My opinion, Lennon’s previous album “John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band” in ’71, (aside for the “Imagine” track) was artistically superior and sounded a helluva lot better. The technical stuff? There are plenty John could’ve chosen besides Phil. I haven’t yet listened to this Phoenix rendition, but the most I’m hoping for is a bit more high end to offset the predominant mid range sound of this album.

  2. Paul I March 3, 2016 at 02:10 #

    Its a shame about this one. If you are hell bent on hearing Lennon in Quad, “Walls and Bridges” is a better option, but even that one leaves something to be desired.

  3. Lonky 1 March 1, 2016 at 18:16 #

    I often preface my comments with the caveat that my ears don’t work as well as they used to, so my comment must be taken with that in mind. This is perhaps my favorite Lennon album so for you making this available, again , I thank you. I find this decode,much like I found the original one, a bit muddy, dense to a distraction. My guess is it’s either me or the original source lp. Does anyone else hear what I hear?
    Please OD take no offense to my opinion, I love the work you do dearly.

    • oxforddickie March 1, 2016 at 18:34 #

      It’s not me who needs to take offence, the Imagine quad mix is well known to be, well to put it mildly, Crap. What you heard is what it is. It’s a little clearer thanks to the decode process, so better than the original release, but basically it’s as good as it gets.

Leave a Reply

