David Gates – First

3 Feb

CB062 David Gated front

Link

Released in 1973 this debut from David Gates takes up where Bread left off. The outstanding guitar work is from the hands of the late Larry Knechtel. He was member of The Wrecking Crew and also a member of Bread. Larry performed the soaring guitar solo on ‘Guitar Man’. It’s a shame I missed this LP back during its original release because it’s a good one. Some outstanding tracks here to enjoy are ‘Soap’, ‘Suite: Clouds, Rain’ and ‘Ann’. I wish to thank member Steve Tuznik for bring this album to my attention. Enjoy CB.

Allmusic

Release: CB062

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

8 Responses to “David Gates – First”

  1. moonstarstudios December 2, 2016 at 02:09 #

    I admit having only discovered Bread with Audio Fidelity’s Quad SACD so I did not grow up with this music. This means that I get the luxury of discovering both Bread and David Gates’ solo output at the same time. I’ve read many times that his solo material was not as strong as Bread’s material, but I respectfully disagree. I come to this music with zero expectations nor do I compare both body of works. I find this album simply beautiful. The music is excellent and the Quad mix is spot on. The Moog is nicely placed in the mix and enriches the usually more acoustic sound of his music.

    This one will be getting a lot of playtime.

    Job well done Cap! 🙂

  2. Ron September 2, 2016 at 05:48 #

    What a pleasant surprise! As with a number of things I’ve found here, an album I wouldn’t likely have heard otherwise. Ditto what’s already been said, and thank you!

  3. Owen Smith February 28, 2016 at 15:16 #

    My parents were here when I played this, and my mum recognised it as David Gates. I enjoyed it, good songs and good vocals and a nice quad mix. Also great sound qualty for a Q8, nothing of note wrong.

  4. birdycat19 February 17, 2016 at 08:29 #

    Yet another thanks for this one. A really good quad mix–I’ve played it several times!

  5. SteveTuznik February 3, 2016 at 21:22 #

    What a great treat to hear this once again today! David Gates was one of the terrific pop voices and songwriters and provided most of the hit songs of Bread. Back in the 70’s, it was rare not to hear a Bread song on the radio.
    One song on this First album has an emotional attachment for me, and every word fit a situation that was going on at the time.
    A really nice Q8 transfer and very enjoyable.
    Thank you Captain!

    Peace, ♥, and ♫♪

  6. birdycat19 February 3, 2016 at 02:08 #

    Wow! Thanks! Gates was one of the best pop songwriters of the time…

    • birdycat19 February 3, 2016 at 02:08 #

      And bring on “Never Let Her Go”!

  7. lupineassassin February 3, 2016 at 00:08 #

    Wow, thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

