Denon UDA-100 UD4 Demodulator on Ebay

27 Jan

Just noticed this rare beast up on Ebay (UK). Perfect for anyone who has any of the 30 or so UD-4 LP’s that were actually released. I’ve actually got one! (i bet you already guessed that anyway  LOL)

13 Responses to “Denon UDA-100 UD4 Demodulator on Ebay”

  1. atq January 29, 2016 at 09:42 #

    Seriously, what is that unlabelled button for? Does anybody know?

    • captainbeyond55 January 29, 2016 at 12:44 #

      One thing it does is cause people to ask questions. My not so serious answer.:) Just like you I wonder what that button is for. Hope a serious answer is upon the doorstep.

    • Owen Smith January 30, 2016 at 01:49 #

      My google-fu has failed to find an answer, I am all googled out. No schematics, no service manuals, I can’t find anything of that nature.

      • atq January 30, 2016 at 11:00 #

        Thanks CB and OS. I’ve asked a few friends and had these suggestions:
        1. “More better” button
        2. “Welcome to 1974” button
        3. It will light up in black text on a black background and say: “do not push this button again”.

        All of which I found amusing, but I want to know for real too! I thought possibly it’s a stand-by button? A lot of tech these days has a software standby button and a hardware power switch.

      • Owen Smith January 30, 2016 at 15:24 #

        I’ve asked the seller what it does.

      • Owen Smith January 30, 2016 at 16:57 #

        The seller says “It’s the noise suppression on/off switch.” which, while very helpful, begs the obvious question what sort of noise suppression?

        • atq February 1, 2016 at 09:59 #

          Ha ha! It really is the ‘more better’ button!

  2. Owen Smith January 28, 2016 at 01:00 #

    So does it a actually decode CD-4, SQ and QS as well as UD-4? The front panel selector knob implies it does, and there aren’t enough discrete inputs on the back to be one for each format.

    • oxforddickie January 28, 2016 at 08:00 #

      It doesn’t have ‘official’ SQ & QS decoders so it will, like many japanese units of the time, attempt to use the BMX decoder (with tweaks) to decode them, and anyone who remembers the likes of Pioneers attempts to do the same with SQ using their QS decoder, it will not be accurate.

      As to CD-4, it will demodulate it, but whether it will be full CD-4 bandwith with no pumping issues due to the lack of ANRS, i can’t say.

  3. circular Vibes January 27, 2016 at 19:32 #

    I saw it too. I have the chrrnt bid.

    • oxforddickie January 27, 2016 at 22:01 #

      How many LP’s do you have?

      • Circular Vibes January 27, 2016 at 23:40 #

        I have 2 so far. They are classical but I forget the specifics. Both found in thrift stores by accident. I am interested in being a completist in my 4 channel system. I am trying to have the best I can afford for 70’s style playback, for when I am not listening to conversions. I haven’t got the smarts to convert myself and still get a thrill when I find quad records and tapes locally or affordably online.

  4. atq January 27, 2016 at 16:35 #

    Oooh. There’s a button to the left of the Separation dials. I wonder what happens when you push it? Everything else is labelled.

Leave a Reply

