David Bowie – RIP

11 Jan

Have just heard that David Bowie has passed away after his 18 month battle against cancer.

Although none of his albums were released in quad, i felt that the passing of one of rock’s greatest icons could not go unnoticed here.

A sad day indeed, his early albums are, to me, classics, including some of his earlier material on Decca/Deram.

22 Responses to “David Bowie – RIP”

  1. Owen Smith January 14, 2016 at 18:59 #

    BBC Radio 2 just played a piano version of Life on Mars recorded in tribute by Rick Wakeman. As you’d expect from Rick, the playing is exemplary and the piece had great feeling. The DJ said there’s a video version of it online, which is here:

    I’m sure as a Wakeman fan OD will be interested in this.

    • Owen Smith January 14, 2016 at 19:11 #

      If I understand Rick’s comments correctly in the video, he played for Bowie on the original Life On Mars recording.

      • oxforddickie January 14, 2016 at 20:24 #

        Very true, at that time he did a lot of studio work, he played on quite a few of Bowies tracks.

      • SteveTuznik January 16, 2016 at 19:26 #

        Absolutely right Owen, Rick performed on piano on the original version of this great song. Also, in 2015 Neil McCormick, chief rock music critic of The Daily Telegraph, ranked it as number one in his “100 Greatest Songs of All Time” list.

    • oxforddickie January 14, 2016 at 20:25 #

      Thanks

    • SteveTuznik January 16, 2016 at 19:37 #

      Thanks for sharing Owen! Excellent new version of this song that he played originally but added some new chords to.
      I’ve been playing a lot of Bowie lately, especially since his passing. I also played the brilliant “Scary Monsters” album two days before he died–the last listen while I knew he was still here but had no idea of his very imminent end. One of the things I thought to myself numerous times while listening to various Bowie albums were the complexities and changes to his melodies that were not at all simple, but were just so damn appealing.

      It was great to hear Wakeman say some of the same things that I was thinking. Just before Rick played this piano piece you shared here, he said “David was a wonderful melody man and not just the melodies. He had great ideas for chord structures and would throw in the odd surprises when you were least expecting it.”
      Perfectly said!

  2. Keith Bruce January 12, 2016 at 03:26 #

    David will be missed I was lucky enough to see him twice in the early 80’s sadly I was to young to see him in the early years. I just noticed I don’t have any cd’s, all my Bowie is on vinyl I have everything thru the 90’s. How strange I never bought one cd. I see Amazon has put Temporarily out of stock on almost every cd except Pin Ups that is an outstanding selection.

    RIP David and prayers for your family to be in peace.

  3. rayc2 January 12, 2016 at 00:50 #

    I have his albums from the David Bowie up to and including Scary Monsters – though I’m not fussed on that last one. From trying so hard to be famous to seemingly effortless success he made some great music, helped along a lot of artists and scandalized the western world a couple of times.

  4. kilg0retr0ut January 11, 2016 at 17:49 #

    A very sad day! 😦

  5. Highlander January 11, 2016 at 14:42 #

    WTF! Ah man, this really hits me hard, I’m so bummed to learn this. And I’ve been on such a David Bowie kick as of late. I just listened yesterday to Blackstar all the way through twice again on headphones. It’s such a superb album! I’ve always thought he was on another level in terms of talent, creativity, singing, stretching popular music boundaries, etc.
    I can’t take it right now. I gotta see some sunlight first before learning more online. Lemmy, now Bowie.
    So sad.

  6. tarkus2013 January 11, 2016 at 14:23 #

    R.I.P. Ziggy and all. A rock legend/innovator has passed.

  7. SteveTuznik January 11, 2016 at 13:50 #

    Shocked.
    Very sad.
    The stars look very different today.

  8. Alfie January 11, 2016 at 10:52 #

    Such sad news to start the day. Not a complete stranger to quad, of course:
    https://dreamingspiresquadarchive.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/david-bowie-serious-moonlight/

  9. bigheadrascal January 11, 2016 at 10:14 #

    Shocked numb.

  10. matsarnelindgren January 11, 2016 at 09:47 #

    Sad to hear. He was continously re-inventing himself and his music. His newest album came last week. Rave reviews in swedish press.

    • Owen Smith January 11, 2016 at 20:11 #

      I could never get into Bowie’s music. The problem for me was the continual re-invention that you mention, I’d find the odd bit of Bowie I liked and then he’d never do anything like it again. His influence on music and popular culture however is easy to see even for a non fan like myself.

  11. Em² January 11, 2016 at 09:02 #

    Devastated but glad I was there to enjoy his work over the years. Changed my musical horizon. The Berlin trilogy encouraged me to explore their influences. Didn’t think we’d be enduring this day so soon. Great music lives forever.

  12. bayards January 11, 2016 at 08:53 #

    In tears. I’ll be re-listening to his surround albums.

  13. bayards January 11, 2016 at 08:52 #

    In tears. At least he did a few surround albums which i’ll treasure.

  14. joeerand January 11, 2016 at 08:16 #

    Sad, and impressive that he was doing good work to the end.

  15. Gul Dukat January 11, 2016 at 07:59 #

    Lemmy, David—-so sad

  16. lupineassassin January 11, 2016 at 07:46 #

    I am stunned. My god, he was only 69! 😦

Leave a Reply

