Barclay James Harvest – Once Again

18 Dec

Barclay James Harvest - Once Again DS201p r1 booklet

The only reason i have reissued this because i created a new disc with the addition of the one live track from the BBC ‘In Concert’ broadcast i have. Otherwise it’s exactly the same as the previous version.

Reissue: Bonus track added

Release: DS201p r1

Source: SQ 24/96 & CD

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

11 Responses to “Barclay James Harvest – Once Again”

  1. rockysquirrel January 25, 2016 at 14:46 #

    What an interesting mix! On the first song, I am hearing the lead vocal on the left rear channel (if that is correct). That was thinking outside the box (a different paradigm).

    • oxforddickie January 25, 2016 at 15:05 #

      Yes, it’s correct. Great way to start a quad album.

    • Owen Smith January 25, 2016 at 15:12 #

      Before Phoenix that vocal would have been mid left as that was the best the previous decodes could do, being unable to remove the rear information from the fronts.

  2. kilg0retr0ut December 19, 2015 at 16:30 #

    As a prog rock aficionado I have to confess that I have never listened to a BJH album before. I was born in the middle of the 70’s so I have little recollection of the culture of that era, but just like classical music and jazz, that sort of music really makes me tick, and throughout my life I’v always had a sort of ‘been born too late’ feeling. I was aware of that band though. Many years ago a friend who was older that me, born in the wake of the 60’s I guess, advised me to listen to them. For whatever reason (procrastination for sure) I never had (or took) the opportunity to follow his advice, but it always remained stuck in some hazy corner of my mind. Today, reading your post it popped again in front of my mind, and I suddenly thought: “Vassia (that’s my name) remember that advice some twenty years ago? This post is a sign, if you don’t do it now you might end up you life having never done it at all, ending your days as an ignorant fool. So what are you waiting for? Grab it while you can and give it a good listen!” Which I did this afternoon.

    The verdict? I really liked what I heard. And as for the decode, it’s absolutely gorgeous. I have nothing to compare it to, but there’s no need, everything sounded exactly where it should be, thanks certainly to a very good mix, but also to Phoenix’s magic (and also a bit to my late experiments in cheaply tweaking the acoustics of my living room). Thank you OD for reminding me to do things while I can, and even if late, it’s never too late… And to Guy, if by any chance you’re reading this, twenty years later, thanks for the tip!

  3. atq December 19, 2015 at 11:38 #

    I’ve got the CD/DVD official quad version of this, so my first thoughts are, is there much point in this decode? I’m guessing that the answer is: the quad on the DVD, though fully discrete, is lossy DTS, compressed (in a dynamic range sense), whereas there is also a lossless, uncompressed 96/24 stream on the DVD, so OD’s decode can use that. Has anybody compared the two? I imagine there is little difference (which is a tribute to the quality of the decode, of course, and so interesting on a technical level).

    I haven’t downloaded this because I’m not sure I could spot minor differences in compression – but I’d love to hear about any comparisons in terms of sound quality and discrete-ness. (I know OD doesn’t like to mention the d-word too much for fear of seeming hubristic, but I’m happy to say, as I know many others are, that his decodes are brilliant.)

    I know this is a re-release, so I looked for the original post. The problem with deleting old posts is that we lose the comments, which I often find very useful/ interesting – maybe just update old posts to say they are superseded, but leave the comments in place? Or move the comments to the new post?

    • oxforddickie December 19, 2015 at 14:36 #

      I originally did this for myself after putting together the ELO reissue with the SQ encoded tracks from the second album. It is coming more obvious that the possibility of getting the complete BJH concert (SQ encoded) is very slim as when a copy of the transcription album does surface it goes well beyond what i can afford.

      As i’ve said previously, for some odd reason the stereo UK broadcast version of the ‘In Concert’ show is still in the vaults, but missing the track ‘She Said’, which instead of using the complete SQ version of the show, they edited it out and spliced it into the stereo version. What a waste of time and a lost oppertunity.

      I am obviously aware of the officail DTS release, i have it, hence the use of the 24/96 version of the SQ mix that it also contains. In no way is this decode meant, or to be seen as, a replacement fpr the official release, more an oppertunity to explore any differences/inferfections between a ‘Phoenix’ decode and a copy of the original four channel master.

      The issue of the missing previous comments when i re-issue a title has been covered before, and is, i’m afraid, totally out of my control. The WordPress blog is actually not a perfect home as it is not possible to alter the posting date of a previous posting, so just modifying it would not alert people that it has changed, and there is no mechanism to move comments from one post to another.

      Oh, and i’m not sitting here trying to do it by hand.

      • atq December 19, 2015 at 15:17 #

        Thanks OD. When I suggested modifying the original post, I meant remove the link to the file and add in a note/ link to the new post. That would mean you had the new post highlighted, but kept the old comments elsewhere. Hopefully that’s easy enough to do, (though I find a lot of software these days tries to makes things easy by not giving you many options, which ends up making things more difficult at times). Anyway, it was just a suggestion, I don’t want to take any time away from your valuable decoding time 🙂

        • oxforddickie December 19, 2015 at 15:39 #

          The issue would still be how would anyone know? As i said, WordPress reaally isn’t up to what is needed for this blog, just have to tolerate its limitations

  4. Owen Smith December 19, 2015 at 01:20 #

    I take it the extra track is She Said? You put that out once as a track on it’s own.

Leave a Reply

