A Song For Christmas

15 Dec

A Song For Christmas DS540p front

Freebie

This album is, for me, nearer to what i want from a Christmas related album than almost any other i’ve heard.

Release: DS540p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

7 Responses to “A Song For Christmas”

  1. mactwit January 25, 2016 at 19:26 #

    As no one has remarked upon the content of this album, I thought I would say something. It does indeed have the feel of a live concert, although apparently it was specially recorded. With a live recording one is generally more forgiving, but in any case, I can’t say I enjoyed this one very much. For one thing, tenor Robert Tear dominates it, even though his name isn’t on the cover. He’s quite famous, especially for his work with Britten, but I don’t think he’s all that good here. And he would have to be very good indeed before I thought it was a good idea to have him dominate a Christmas concert.

    Both orchestra and chorus seem well rehearsed, but the children’s choir does not impress, and appears to be there mainly for “sweetness”. I suppose you could say I would have liked the recording better if there were less of Mr Tear – much less – and the children had been better (some polyphony would have been nice). The Philharmonic Choir sounds large and disciplined, but the voices themselves seem only average. The Philharmonic Orchestra is wonderful, though; particularly the strings are beautiful, making you want to hear more of them. The songs performed are mostly unfamiliar to me, but all arrangements are very good. There are a couple of jazz and latin numbers thrown in, but as is frequently the case in Europe, the singers and musicians don’t have the feel for them, and they fall flat.

    The sonics were very good, I thought, especially of the orchestra, with clear and pleasant sound, although in a traditional mix. I didn’t like this album nearly as much as I had hoped, but I was at least thoroughly impressed by the Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. I almost wanted everyone else to clear out, so I could hear them without distraction!

  2. gleeksmirt7 December 16, 2015 at 10:19 #

    The file can be found in the “freebie” folder. I’m downloading it now.

    • oxforddickie December 16, 2015 at 10:33 #

      He meant there was no link on the posting. I’ve had a few emails along the same lines.

    • bigtoad73 December 16, 2015 at 14:03 #

      I got it!

      Thanks

  3. bigtoad73 December 16, 2015 at 01:47 #

    Looks great but I did not see the link.

    Thanks

    Paul Carter

    >

  4. Owen Smith December 15, 2015 at 22:47 #

    Most of the other quad Christmas albums are American, and what the US wants from Christmas music seems to be very different from the UK.

Leave a Reply

