Christmas With Ronnie Aldrich

10 Dec

CWRA front

Freebie Link

Here we have a collection of seasonal standards from Ronnie Aldrich with his two pianos and The London Festival Orchestra. A Phase 4 release on the London label only available in quad on Q4 and Q8 format. This request from Q! was sourced from a Q8. Again I hope this music brings some holiday cheer to your ears during this Christmas season. If only hate could be removed from the hearts and minds of all people on this place we call earth. What a wonderful world that would be. Peace on earth and good will towards mankind. Enjoy CB

Release: CB060

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

 

20 Responses to “Christmas With Ronnie Aldrich”

  1. Ade Gregg December 8, 2016 at 09:53 #

    Ahhh, no more trackers. What a shame.

    • oxforddickie December 8, 2016 at 11:52 #

      Hmmm, for some reason i’m unable to seed this at the moment, will have to look into where the album has gone.

    • Owen Smith December 8, 2016 at 14:37 #

      I am seeding this. But you will need DHT enabled to find me, the public trackers were all bust at one point so I took them out and rely on DHT for these older titles.

      • oxforddickie December 8, 2016 at 17:42 #

        Yes, the trackers are still dead so, as Owen correctly points out, DHT must be enabled for these earlier releases.

    • zaphod2359 December 8, 2016 at 18:14 #

      I’m seeding as of now

  2. Ade Gregg December 8, 2016 at 09:48 #

    Love Mr A, have many of his LP’s Sadly nothing in Quad, so super keen to hear this, Thanks you are a scholar and a gentleman

  3. mactwit January 20, 2016 at 11:53 #

    Interesting to read the reviews here, I seem to be the only one who’s not happy – sorry about that! Actually I like the orchestra a lot, it’s very good indeed, and the arrangements are quite well done, if perhaps a bit “overdone” in places. Very “American” in style, I thought, which is fitting. But the piano soloist… Argh. I presume that is Mr Aldrich himself on both pianos? Whoever it is, he’s The Elephant Fingers. Really poor playing to my ears. I get visions of a boy whose mother insists he practice his scales, when what he really wants is to be a percussionist…

    Sounds like the pianos were added to the mix later; how disappointed the orchestra musicians must have been to have their efforts ruined that way. (Although I suppose the piano may sound less intrusive on the stereo mix?) I completely respect those who enjoyed this record, and of course am tremendously thankful for the efforts of CB. The four-channel mix sounded fine to me, really discrete. But the piano player was anything but discreet… (he he)

    • oxforddickie January 20, 2016 at 12:10 #

      I don’t think you need to apologise for not liking it, everybody has a view, and it does sound as though you have a very sound reason. And wouldn’t it be boring if we all liked the same thing?

      • mactwit January 20, 2016 at 14:57 #

        Thank you, sir. “Sound reason” – I like the way you phrased that!

  4. Q! December 23, 2015 at 16:48 #

    Many thanks for the Christmas LP-s, especially for the new ones: Admiral Present Christmas In Four Channel Sound, Christmas With Ronnie Aldrich, A Song For Christmas.
    Although each is Christmas LP, all three have completely different atmosphere. Admiral is a selection, Ronnie – wonderful piano music accompanied by orchestra and A Song… is mostly (but not only) choir and this one uses the rears “only” for ambience sounds.
    With these this Christmas is even more beautiful – I hope not only for me.
    And there are still three more request: Christmas With The Children Of France (Q8?), Fröchliche Wihnachten wünscht (Anneliese Rothenberger) EMI Electrola SQ and Mantovani Christmas Greetings. London H-1338. Maybe next year? I hope so. And thanks again.

    • oxforddickie December 23, 2015 at 18:04 #

      I don’t know about the Captain but i’m well and truly Christmased out, there will be no more festive releases this year. Glad you enjoyed them.

    • captainbeyond55 December 23, 2015 at 18:57 #

      So glad Q! that you enjoyed these festive offerings. As you mentioned I hope others found delight as well. These two from the Captain were the only holiday tapes I was lucky enough to acquire this past year. Always on the lookout and hopefully I will have some new ones for next year. Merry Christmas to all and I hope the new year brings us all many blessings.

  5. atq December 16, 2015 at 11:11 #

    This has got the usual failing of a Q8, but nothing too bad – it does sound a little muffled. I very rarely fiddle with my tone control (I only have bass and treble, so calling it EQ sounds a bit over the top), but I found that if I turned up the treble (and down the bass) that I could hear a hi hat/ brushes and acoustic guitar (?) which previously I had hardly noticed. The strings sounded sweeter, too, although I do tend to prefer a more trebly sound.

    I noticed that it was originally recorded in 1964, so this is a very early recording to be remixed into quad (obviously at a later date). It wouldn’t surprise me if they only had 4 tracks to play with. It seems like we get the orchestra in stereo at the front with reverb/delay at the back, and then the two pianos hard left and hard right at the rear. It’s not perfect, but is certainly quite fun.

    A couple of times things like horns appear in the rears (when there are no strings, so they didn’t need to be on a separate track), so they’ve tried commendably hard to squeeze as much quad out of this as they can. As an aside, I the CD has an ADD marking, so it must have been remixed again for the CD issue.

    There can’t be many quad mixes of material pre-1968 can there? So that alone makes this quite special.

    Musically, I do find the pianos a bit plinky plonky, i.e. there’s not the (relative) subtlety of the orchestra, but considering its vintage and target audience that’s no surprise. As ever, none of my comments are intended as criticism – it’s great to hear this is quad.

    • atq December 17, 2015 at 09:58 #

      Correction, I meant to say, “great to hear this in quad”, not “is”!

  6. zaphod2359 December 13, 2015 at 03:10 #

    If anyone is interested there is a Q4 on eBay,current bid $4.99 with free shipping,one day to go. Not sure if it would be better though.

  7. SteveTuznik December 12, 2015 at 01:45 #

    I couldn’t play this title until tonight finally when my order of blank DVD-R’s finally arrived! Early Christmas present from my son. This is my second time ordering these and the first batch were perfect. These discs are highly rated and very economical. 100 DVD-R’s for only $32.50, can’t beat it. here’s the link if interested: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000F34IA0?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

    It’s great to have Christmas music that I like listening to again. I can only discuss the two CB releases until I can donate for DS titles, and also until there is a new method that we can actually send donations again as well.

    I don’t know about you, but I’m weary of hearing the old standard pop holiday songs blaring in the stores, the hospital, and the radio. But listening to this classical format makes it enjoyable once again. Very sweet to hear the London Festival Orchestra again who helped make the Moody Blues “Days of Future Passed” legendary. the orchestra in full front, with “dueling pianos” in the rears made this a unique and entertaining listening experience. Some might say this is elevator music but I feel it’s much more. Can you imagine how great music coming from four corners of an elevator would be?

    Track #4 “Winter Wonderland” was one of the Ronnie Aldrich double piano standouts. This album gets the perfect 5 stars rating from all seven reviewers on Amazon BTW, always a good place to gauge overall interest. If you don’t go there and would like to hear of what a couple of reviewers said, I’ll copy them here.
    Thanks for your ending sentiments of your review Captain, and another thank you to OD, DS, and Q for making all this happen. And Merry Christmas to all the fine people on this blog!

    it still holds up as one of the finest productions to this day
    By Floyd D. on December 10, 2014
    Format: Audio CD
    This recording is the first Christmas cd and usually the last to exit my stereo every holiday. I was raised with it and cherish every single note and chord within it’s magical program. It is quite simply the most gorgeous, most elegant piece of instrumental music I have ever heard. If you truly appreciate romance and genuine sentiment, then this is the premier holiday recording for you. Originally recorded in 1964,’Christmas with Ronnie Aldrich’ is a audiophiles treasure, assembled at the pinnacle of “hi-fi” and “stereophonic’ excellence, it still holds up as one of the finest productions to this day. In such a tasteless time, this album brims with all the qualities we used to uphold – kindness, grace ,gentility and yes class. It definitely has the finest version of “Sleigh Ride” that I’ve ever heard. If you want something both romantic and sensual check out “By the Fireside”, if you’re not in love, you’ll want run and find a love just so you can gaze into their eyes while the track is playing, seriously! all fans of both “Christmas” and the beautiful will appreciate this gem, don’t miss it! “HAPPY HOLIDAYS”!!

    outstanding
    By Gary S. on October 3, 2012
    Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
    I am a professional musician and I must say this cd is as good as it gets. I have a very large Christmas music recording collection and this one is going right to the top of my list. The arrangements are wonderful and well thought out. Just a treat to listen to. Really gets you into the Christmas spirit. It was a little pricey but I think it was worth the money. This cd will make our Christmas all the better. Talent is here for all to here. Ronnie Aldrich is talent at its best.
    G.S.

    • birdycat19 December 12, 2015 at 23:09 #

      Yup–the Taiyo Yuden blanks are the way to go.

  8. avpig December 10, 2015 at 14:47 #

    Nice

  9. zaphod2359 December 10, 2015 at 02:52 #

    Thank you for this CB and OD! And many thanks to OB for the other Christmas releases!

  10. tarkus2013 December 10, 2015 at 00:58 #

    Amen to that my brother.

Leave a Reply

