Kalil Gibran – The Prophet

12 Nov

Kahlil Gibran - The Prophet CB056 front

Link

Requested by ‘Beechwoods’ and graciously purchased and provided by ‘rockysquirrel’ we have a most unique CD-4 release. Richard Harris doing a spoken word ‘dramatic interpretation’ of The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran. I feel the musical score and Harris’s reading bring Gibran’s incredible metaphors to life. Your own enlightenment may vary. Enjoy CB

Release: CB056

Source: CD-4 LP

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

5 Responses to “Kalil Gibran – The Prophet”

  1. Owen Smith June 26, 2016 at 17:17 #

    I enjoyed this more than I expected, I’ve been putting off listening to it. I didn’t listen to the actual words Richard Harris speaks, I just let them roll over me as he intones them magnificently. If he’d broken into “once more unto the breach” from Henry V it would have fitted in perfectly. The music is rather good, it doesn’t drown the spoken voice but there is enough music to be interesting and there’s enough quad mix to keep things interesting.

    I agree that this is a nice clean CD-4 rip, there was only one place where anything sounded odd which is where Harris’ voice has a lot of reverb and it cuts in and out of the rears a bit abruptly. But otherwise this is an excellent job.

  2. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 12, 2015 at 07:31 #

    What a great way to start the day! Thank you Captain, and Rocky Squirrel for so quickly making my request happen.

    I like your description of this, as it very much marries with my own view. It’s a mesmerising listen. Harris’ voice is incredible and the rather subtle orchestration / underlying score really complements it. This album is one of my all-time favourite Quad releases, and I can’t wait to hear your version.

  3. rockysquirrel November 12, 2015 at 02:08 #

    The Captain did a great job on this. It sounds exceptionally clean and clear.

  4. sacdtodvda November 12, 2015 at 01:36 #

    Another release with Richard Harris! Woohoo!

    (He’s also on the orchestral Tommy.)

  5. Owen Smith November 12, 2015 at 00:37 #

    Another CD-4 release! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

