Synergy – Electronic Realizations For Rock Orchestra

11 Nov

Synergy - Electronic Realizations for Rock Orchestra DS19ch front

Decoded using the remastered 24/96 version of the original USA release mastered by Larry Fast available from HD Tracks. This does not contain the stereo track ‘Classical Gas’ as it was only added to the original UK release in 1976, some months after it’s USA release.

Allmusic

Reissue: New Decode

Release: DS19ch

Source: QS 24/96 master

Process: ‘Chimera’

Format: DVD-A/VĀ  MLP / DTS / DD

13 Responses to “Synergy – Electronic Realizations For Rock Orchestra”

  1. Owen Smith December 6, 2015 at 15:18 #

    I’ve finally had time to listen to this and compare it to the Sphinx decode. I only compared the opening track, and as with the previous comparison I did the difference is subtle but welcome. Chimera opens things out more, with Sphinx there’s a bit of stuff in the middle of the room that my ears just can’t sort out. Chimera removes most of that and pushes things further towards the individual speakes which is where they were mixed I believe. Also this is a very complex track and I’m finding it easier to hear the fine detail with Chimera, especially things like delay/echo effects and quiet bass/mid tones which in places I hadn’t really noticed were there with Sphinx.

    The difference between Sphinx and Chimera doesn’t jump out and grab you by the throat, it’s a subtle and delicate improvement that gradually grows on you and I appreciate better the more of Chimera decodes I hear. It’s a more subtle change than between SQ/III and Phoenix for example.

    As to the entire album under Chimera, this remains one of my favourites on the blog. This is some of the best music I know, and I’m even starting to like track 2 with Chimera which never really worked for me previously. The first and last tracks are the stars for me, the last track could have been written by Bach if he were writing today. The complex fugue and descending chords of the last track always make the hairs on my neck stand up it’s so good.

  2. bigheadrascal November 26, 2015 at 00:01 #

    This one’s playing now. Perhaps it’s a combination of Chimera and the quality of the source this decode was derived from, but I’m finally enjoying this album.
    I’ve also begun labeling my discs as to which decode process was used. šŸ˜‰

    • Owen Smith November 26, 2015 at 00:13 #

      I’ve been labelling my discs with the process used since I first joined the blog. I’ve enjoyed every release of Synergy because the music is so good, and the decodes have got better every time. I’ve not had time to listen to the Chimera decode yet, and I have no time this coming weekend alas.

      • bigheadrascal November 26, 2015 at 00:56 #

        When you do find the time, you won’t be disappointed in the least.
        Not initially savvy to OD’s ever evolving wizardry, it never occurred to me to label. Ah, but I know better now. One must be on his toes here. Notice how he sneaked in “Centaur II” without uttering a word?
        In the meantime with it being a holiday weekend here in the colonies, I’m finally finding that elusive “me” time I thought I had a couple weeks past.

  3. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 11, 2015 at 18:52 #

    Thanks for this OD! I can’t believe there haven’t been more comments about Chimera…

    • oxforddickie November 11, 2015 at 19:08 #

      No, rather disappointing to be honest with you.

      • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 11, 2015 at 20:17 #

        Don’t be disheartened. I reckon it’s a great and clear improvement. I’m looking forward to listening to this one, and doing a comparison with the Sphinx version… Given the source this should be a great example of how the two decode approaches differ.

        • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 11, 2015 at 21:45 #

          I thought this one would be an interesting comparison due to the electronic nature of the material. My previous comments on Chimera noted some of the analogue aspects I felt came through. Here the difference is more subtle. One key thing I noticed was the sound of the ‘bells’ at the start of ‘Warriors’ – they sound more bell-like on Chimera – the attack is clearer.

          The front / rear separation is also much more distinct. This may not be apparent on an isolated listen, but it’s clear when you A/B the two sources.

    • Owen Smith November 12, 2015 at 00:31 #

      I am quite disappointed that I haven’t had time to listen to one yet. However I have prior engagements every evening this week, and I’m busy all this weekend and the first half of next week. It could be next weekend before I get time to listen to one, almost two weeks after the first Chimera release. A week earlier and I would have been straight on it. Sorry, but it’s a very busy time this week and next.

      • oxforddickie November 12, 2015 at 01:15 #

        That’s the problem with life, it keeps getting in the way lol

      • bigheadrascal November 12, 2015 at 22:21 #

        I can more or less echo Owen’s lack of time this week. My surround machine, by whatever magic, lives on. Thus far I don’t have an earlier decode of the Chimera releases with the exception of this one and Treasure Island. I’m on “me” time until Monday morning and will soon make a comparison. If there were any decodes of DS19 that precede Sphinx, it could be one of those.

      • Owen Smith November 13, 2015 at 00:51 #

        There are several DS19 decodes prior to Sphinx. I think I have QS/II at CD/LP quality, QS/II from the 24/96, and then Sphinx from 24/96. And I assume there was something prior to those or it wouldn’t be DS number 19.

        • oxforddickie November 13, 2015 at 01:06 #

          True, out of all of the releases there are probably more versions of this than of any other.

Leave a Reply

