BBC Binaural Broadcasts

29 Oct

On the evening of the 31st of October the BBC will be broadcasting two ‘scary’ plays on Radio 4. The UK FM service will be broadcasting the standard stereo versions, but the Binaural versions will be available via the web.

The plays are “The Ring” and “The Stone Tape“.

Should be interesting listening.

8 Responses to “BBC Binaural Broadcasts”

  1. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 1, 2015 at 21:45 #

    I’ve just had a chance to listen to ‘The Stone Tape’ – genuinely freaky at times with great sound design, but only a few moments where the impression of surround was realistic (occasional footsteps). I felt the majority of the dialogue seemed to be happening at the back of my head, with little up-front. Perhaps I needed high-end headphones, though I’ve not had reason to doubt these before; and they were running through a decent DAC.

    It’s a shame they didn’t mix this in multi-channel discrete MPEG DASH.

  2. Owen Smith October 29, 2015 at 21:33 #

    Did you ever listen to those two Binaural recordings I gave you on the 1TB laptop drive you bought from me about a year ago? I think it was just before you went to Amsterdam.

    • oxforddickie October 29, 2015 at 21:38 #

      A Year ago, was it that long ago? I can’t remember, i’m sure i did. Sorry, the memory is shockingly bad nowadays.

  3. atq October 29, 2015 at 19:13 #

    Thanks for pointing this out. I’d already noticed the plays looked good, but I didn’t know about the binaural versions so I will give them a try. The few binaural things I’ve heard haven’t impressed me that much, so it will be nice to try again.

  4. Gul Dukat October 29, 2015 at 18:03 #

    Binaural, dummyhead stereo or Kunstkopf stereo
    Thats great

    • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) October 31, 2015 at 00:06 #

      Content-wise The Stone Tape looks like it’s going to be great – what a line-up: Music from James Cargill (of the band Broadcast) sound design from Andrew Liles (Current 93, Nurse With Wound), and cast including Julian Barratt (The Mighty Boosh) and Jane Asher… Fantastic!

      • Paul Haze Harrison November 1, 2015 at 15:07 #

        Wasn’t Jane Asher in the TV version back in the 70’s?

        • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) November 1, 2015 at 20:14 #

          Yes she was! It seems this is a bit of a cameo for her…

          I’ve always had a soft-spot for Jane Asher… nice to find that she’s not just baking cakes these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

