Omega – 200 Years After The Last War

30 Sep

omega-200yearsafterthelastwarsm

This is the classic album from Hungarian band “Omega” released in English by German label Bellaphon, after it was banned in their home country due to it’s heavy political nature.

Reissue: (D) New decode

Release: DS2p

Source: SQ CD

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/VĀ  MLP/DTS/DD

11 Responses to “Omega – 200 Years After The Last War”

  1. sacdtodvda October 18, 2015 at 11:26 #

    I had one of my rare opportunities to do a comparison listening. The opportunity was brief and I only had the chance to compare the title track and You Don’t Know. The comparison was with what have been the earliest decode – not sure if there were ever any interim versions of this one.

    The earlier decode had a more “whole room” feel. While there was some discrete placement in the rears it wasn’t really pronounced. The percussion seemed the most prominent sound in the rears with the rest less distinct or pronounced.

    The Phoenix decode definitely opens up the sound stage. The distinction between front and rears (I hesitate to use the dreaded “s” word) is much clearer. The slide guitar in the title track is more solidly in the left rear without the bleed through to the front. The lead vocal is more centered and the bass guitar is much more distinct. The phased “oooh-ah” outro vocals are clearer without losing the intended phasing and you can better hear the little guitar fills that come in after them.

    The heavier Deep Purplish You Don’t Know is not the most discrete track to start with but is generally less muddy (or at least the old decode sounds muddy after listening to Phoenix) with increased clarity between front and rear. The Phoenix sound placements stay steady as I rotate my head to try and determine rear speaker placements.

    • oxforddickie October 18, 2015 at 12:05 #

      Many thanks for the comparison. There never was another decoded version of it, i meant to do it, just never happened, but i’m glad i left it until now.

      And thanks for mentioning the image stability šŸ™‚

    • Owen Smith October 18, 2015 at 14:21 #

      This must be at least the third release of this surely? My old copy was decoded with SQ*Final, but that process didn’t exist until about DS130 time (Buddy Rich). When I joined the blog you were busy doing SQ*Final re-releases of things like Mike Oldfield in the DS50ish range. So given this is DS2 there must have been at least one earlier release using something like SQ360 or SQ-Fv3 or similar (I never heard any of these pre “Final” processes). Not that it really matters, just trying to be logical.

      • oxforddickie October 18, 2015 at 16:58 #

        You could be right, my memory of what went on then is shaky so there might well of been a previous release, afraid such information is lost in the mists of time, or fallen down one of the massive holes in my memory.

      • sacdtodvda October 19, 2015 at 08:23 #

        My comparison copy was SQ360.

        • oxforddickie October 19, 2015 at 08:35 #

          Oh, you know i forgot dear old SQ360, that was my first venture into areas that hardware decoders couldn’t touch. Thanks for the update, which backs up Owen’s theory that this is the 3rd release.

          Afraid the old memory’s is particularly bad concerning things around that time. Thanks.

        • Owen Smith October 19, 2015 at 09:25 #

          My old copy was definitely SQ*Final, though I have now chucked it away.

          • oxforddickie October 19, 2015 at 09:34 #

            I do the same, destroy every copy of previous releases. I have nothing to show for any of the past releases as i feel they become invalid once a new (and in the case of the mythical releases – final) version is available.

            I can’t remember ever playing my releases so much since these reissues, my ears aren’t screaming at me any more. Listening to Johnny Mathis while getting ready to do my bit for charity šŸ™‚

          • Owen Smith October 19, 2015 at 19:55 #

            I’ve kept a handul of older process discs for comparison purposes, but I have enough now. And I’m running out of space in my shoeboxes of discs, so I don’t keep all the old ones.

  2. Owen Smith October 17, 2015 at 15:52 #

    I can’t remember what I thought of this on previous issue (and don’t have time to listen) but I enjoyed this Phoenix decode. Not always the best playing, one or two places are a bit shaky, but musically it’s good and sort of rock and sort of a bit progressive but not in quite the ways we are used to. A good quad mix well integrated into the music, no flashy gimmicks but some use of voices and instruments spread around and in particular speakers.

    Is this leaning a bit towards Cosmic Krautrock I wonder? It feels a bit like it.

    • oxforddickie October 17, 2015 at 15:59 #

      Well if you enjoyed this then you’ll love the new decode of ‘III’, with some thoughtful use of the quad stage.

Leave a Reply

