Carly Simon – No Secrets

12 Sep

scan0004Link

Here sourced from Q4 is Carly Simon’s third album ‘No Secrets’ which is considered to be her commercial breakthrough. Released in 1972 and produced at Trident studios by Richard Perry. A lot of speculation has occurred over the song ‘You’re So Vain’. I don’t know of any other song to rhythm the words yacht, apricot, and gavotte. The photograph for the cover was shot in front of the Porobello Hotel, on Stanley Gardens in London’s Notting Hill. Must have been a chilly day. Enjoy CB

Allmusic

Release: CB054

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

21 Responses to “Carly Simon – No Secrets”

  1. John February 19, 2016 at 23:39 #

    One of those that isn’t quite as good a mix as hoped for. True for the DVD-A 5.1. too. You never quite forget that you are listening in quad – the music never quite takes over. The main vocal also feels a bit lost in the mix too. And noticed quite a bit of hiss on the rear left. Still a lot of fun though. Enjoyed the big hit – and the guitar solo swirling around too.

  2. jaypfunk September 25, 2015 at 02:30 #

    Yes Mick is clearly heard in the rear right speaker. Don’t you, don’t you, don’t you?

  3. Owen Smith September 20, 2015 at 16:12 #

    Musically this is OK but nothing special for my tastes. Yes there’s a couple of well known numbers, but that’s all. Sonically this is a good transfer though the Q4 isn’t the world’s best, there is a little bit of tape hiss in a couple of places and maybe a bit of wobble (but that might be an artistic thing, I can’t decide). Overall a good addition to the growing CB collection.

  4. birdycat19 September 15, 2015 at 19:01 #

    Curious…on my burn the front channels cut out entirely during the last minute or so of “When You Close Your Eyes” (last track). Rears play through fine. Anyone else have this problem or is this the intention?

    • birdycat19 September 18, 2015 at 01:24 #

      Nobody? Really? I’ll burn again but in all the years I’ve been doing this it’s the first time I ever recall such a thing happening.

      • SteveTuznik September 18, 2015 at 03:30 #

        Just saw your message via e-mail, so I played my copy immediately.
        Carly finishes singing with 50 seconds left, then it appears at about 48 secs left that the music starts its natural fade-out with the instrumentals moving entirely to the back–yes. It’s not very noticeable really since the album is ending and fading, and it feels that this was the way the mix was intended. Very nice song by the way, as well as the entire album.

        • birdycat19 September 18, 2015 at 05:01 #

          Thanks Steve! Interesting, I recall the fronts just cold-cutting out but I’ll put it on again tonight and see if you’re right that it fades to the rears (I trust you are btw). Agreed it’s a wonderful album and imo a fun companion to the more sophisticated 5.1 mix on the DVD-A.

    • captainbeyond55 September 18, 2015 at 13:58 #

      Excuse my tardy reply. Just found time last evening to check this out. I spooled the Q4 and played the last song several times. Yes the front channels fade quickly to rear as the song fades out entirely. What you hear on your disc is exactly what I hear on the tape. Checked this against the CD-4 and it is a little different than the Q4. All four channels seem to fade in unison on The CD-4. Have yet to check this against the Q8 but I plan to. This sheds some light on the possibility there was no quad master used for reproduction across all quad formats. Each quad format may have been mixed independently as needed. Hard to say some forty years past. I would not consider this a problem but rather a quirky quad fade that may have been intentional.

      • birdycat19 September 19, 2015 at 00:58 #

        Fascinating if true! Thanks Cap’n.

  5. Mats Lindgren September 13, 2015 at 12:21 #

    Yet another gem from this blog. Thanks again

  6. jamoke September 12, 2015 at 22:28 #

    Thanks, love the quad mix on Simon’s albums. Pure joy.

  7. TheTarkus10 September 12, 2015 at 22:00 #

    Have to say that whenever I a see that picture I think that there was a little nipple in the air. Thanks, Cap!

  8. SteveTuznik September 12, 2015 at 07:34 #

    Great to have this one again!! I used to play this Q4 quite a bit back in the day when I had the equipment. This was one of the reels when it was fun listening to two channels at a time 1+3, and 2+4 on headphones, and hear subtleties and sounds never heard before. Similar memories of “The Best of the Doors”. Also the Moody Blues “To Our Children’s Children’s Children where “Floating” is hysterical.

    No Secrets was the album that put Carly on the map for sure, but many of her other releases also are terrific. Especially after her divorce from James Taylor when she carried a torch for years and wrote many songs about James and their lost love.

    The memorable album cover I’m sure helped album sales a bit back then when as the Captain says either the weather was bit nippy, or she was just stimulated about the completion of a pretty good album!

    • prefabfan September 13, 2015 at 17:11 #

      Imagine meeting that woman and finding out she’s worth 100 milliom American dollars. Without a music career. Interesting trivia? Why is there NEVER a Carly Simon concert? Hint, same reason there was never a Nillson concert, hardly.

      • SteveTuznik September 13, 2015 at 18:50 #

        Carly Simon was one of pop music’s most notoriously stage-shy performers. From the NY Times:

        “In 1981, shortly after her million-selling single, ”Jesse,” she made one last determined effort to conquer her stage fright and embarked on a tour of large concert halls. Midway in the tour, during the first of two shows in Pittsburgh, panic struck. Supportive Audience

        ”I had two choices,” Ms. Simon recalled. ”I could either leave the stage and say I was sick or tell the audience the truth. I decided to tell them I was having an anxiety attack, and they were incredibly supportive. They said, ‘Go with it – we’ll be with you.’

        ”But after two songs, I was still having palpitations. I suggested that I might feel better if someone came on the stage. About 50 people came up, and it was like an encounter group. They rubbed my arms and legs and said, ‘We love you,’ and I was able to finish the first show. But I collapsed before the second show with 10,000 people waiting. In retrospect, the very idea of the tour was foolish. My marriage to James Taylor was breaking up, and my son, Ben, had been sick and had had a kidney removed, and I’d lost 25 pounds. I was in terrible shape, physically and emotionally.”

        Same goes for Harry Nillson. He never performed in front of a live audience. On dangerousminds.net, it mentions that he did play live, sort of, just like you said prefabfan:

        “But what is undoubtedly the very best example of Harry Nilsson “live” is the BBC In Concert show that was taped in 1971 at the BBC Television Theatre (now the Shepherd’s Bush Empire) and first broadcast on New Year’s Day, 1972.

        Here’s the thing: although Nilsson is playing live, there’s no audience present save for the technicians. The audience (very briefly) seen here was edited in from another show of the In Concert series! The (intermittent) applause? Canned.”

  9. lenikus September 12, 2015 at 03:34 #

    No secrets nor bra. Thank you for this release Captain and OD.

  10. sacdtodvda September 12, 2015 at 02:44 #

    Fantastic – thanks, Cap! Why, I’m almost as excited as Carly appears to be here.

  11. lupineassassin September 12, 2015 at 00:16 #

    Thanks! 😀

  12. birdycat19 September 12, 2015 at 00:12 #

    Nice! I love the 5.1 DVD-A (you can hear Jagger very clearly) but it’s surprising how many vintage quad releases I end up preferring to a modern 5.1 mix. Really look forward to this–thanks again!

    • bigheadrascal September 12, 2015 at 21:11 #

      I have the 5.1 mix as well. I’m with you that original quad mixes overwhelmingly can’t be beat. For me, not this time. While both mixes have their merits, This mix seems gimmicky and uneven while the 5.1 seems more natural. I can hear Mick more clearly on it too. I’m giving the 5.1 version two nips up.

  13. jaypfunk September 12, 2015 at 00:09 #

    Thanks CB and OD!! I love this damn place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

