Maria Muldaur – Waitress In The Donut Shop

8 Sep

Maria Muldaur - Waitress In The Donut Shop CB053 frontLink

The 2nd solo album by Maria Muldaur is offered here sourced from a Q8 provided by member joeerand. Thank you Joe. It has amazed me how the members here on the DS Quad Archive have made wonderful donations of their relic tapes and LP’s in support on this blog. Equipment too! The best part is I have made new friends from across this planet right here on this archive. Their desire to share is the fuel that feeds the engine of what I can offer here for the enjoyment of all members. I wish to take a moment to thank all members who support the preservation of quadraphonic music. Also if you don’t mind I will call out a few friends that have sent the Captain material to transfer. I wish to thank them publicly. In no particular order oxforddickie, lupineassin, rockysquirrrel, SteveTuznik and joeerand thank you very much for your caring and sharing. You have material you have sent the Captain that has not yet been released. Stay the course and with time permitting I plan for all to find anchor here in this wonderful archive.

Oh the release. That’s what we are here for. Hope you folks enjoy Maria. I sure did because it is a real toe tapper. The who’s who on this album is out of this world. Paul Butterfield’s Harmonica on ‘I’m A Woman’ takes me out of this world too. As always enjoy. CB


Release: CB053

Source: Q8



16 Responses to “Maria Muldaur – Waitress In The Donut Shop”

  1. mjkerpan May 18, 2016 at 17:51 #

    I just gave this a listen after sitting on a burn of it for a while. It sounds amazing. Top notch music, great mix, and impeccable sound quality. Still, if the Q8 sounds this good, I can’t help but wonder what the reel-to-reel sounds like…

  2. Owen Smith April 10, 2016 at 17:59 #

    I enjoyed this. Very active quad mix, good songs for the most part, and an excellent Q8 transfer from a good tape as I hear no obvious Q8 nasties.

  3. kilg0retr0ut September 14, 2015 at 12:05 #

    I didn’t know her, great discovery. She has a great voice and the music is more eclectic than I was expecting. The sound quality is good given the source. Another album to put in my ‘return-to’ list. Many thanks for this!

  4. SteveTuznik September 12, 2015 at 02:27 #

    The only way I know who Maria Muldaur is the memory of hearing the sultry “Midnight at the Oasis” many many times way back when. I didn’t get it back then, but still liked it nonetheless.

    Now this is my first exposure this singer, and after playing this entire album a couple of times, it’s a pleasant introduction to her style and she is certainly most gifted. Once again this blog is opening my eyes and ears to some new (old) music!

    The cut “Brickyard Blues” reminds me of a favorite, Bonnie Raitt.
    Fell in love with “Travelin’ Shoes” right away. The harmonies with no instruments just kept spinning around the room with rich clarity and loved the bass part especially.

    Finally couldn’t help but snicker a bit at the song title “It Ain’t The Meat It’s The Motion” thinking finally–a woman that’s got my back!! 🙂 But as a perv I had to check out the lyrics, and found that the song is about women, not men.

    Fun album! Thanks Captain and Joeerand.

  5. birdycat19 September 11, 2015 at 05:51 #

    Just wonderful…many thanks.

  6. Tom September 9, 2015 at 23:44 #

    What a treat! This rendering sounds much better than it did on the 8-track players of the day. Back in the 70’s I had an RCA Mark 8 8-Track player, and between the thunking and banging of the solenoids and the tape hiss I didn’t get much aesthetic pleasure from my (small) quadraphonic tape collection. I did, however, greatly enjoy the possibilities of discrete quadraphonic sound.

    Thanks very much for your work restoring and hosting this album in particular. The songs here are brimming with the best-of-class musicians and I can focus my attention each of them individually, as desired due to with the quadraphonic mix. Thanks again!

  7. Alfie September 9, 2015 at 12:40 #

    Thanks – looking forward to checking this out. I think this may have come out in CD-4 and quad reel too. Great to have this brought back to life.

  8. Lonky 1 September 8, 2015 at 22:35 #

    Thanks to everyone who makes this the most wonderful blog that it is. Being given this ability, to hear music that would otherwise be lost ,is a real treat.

  9. joeerand September 8, 2015 at 19:41 #

    Captain, thanks so much for releasing this, and thanks to O.D. for hosting. I couldn’t stop grinning as I listened to it! Maria came out of jug band/folk music, and had a hit with “Midnight At the Oasis”, so the record company obviously let her have a bit more money on this next one. The performances are exuberant, the arrangements are imaginative, the songs are sassy and varied, and the quad mix lets you really enjoy what everybody in the studio was doing. My favorite track is “Sweetheart”, arranged and conducted by the great jazz saxophonist Benny Carter, and the rhythm section is clearly having a ball. (Was there ever a time when donut shops had waitresses? It’s a funny conceit.) In the ’80’s, pop stars like Linda Ronstadt would gravitate to classic songbook rerecordings, but they usually made the mistake of adding lush string sections. Here the jazz pieces are small ensembles, which are lighter on their feet and more fun.
    But the variety of all the other songs are a great addition. Other amazing musicians on this album: Lowell George of Little Feat on guitar on trk 2 (along with Ronstadt singing), Dr John AND James Booker play piano on Brickyard Blues, Ray Brown is the bass player on the jazz tunes, and the aforementioned Paul Butterfield.
    The secret of a great producer is capturing the spirit in the studio, and they nailed it on this one!

    • captainbeyond55 September 10, 2015 at 02:50 #

      Glad to hear you couldn’t stop grinning. That’s great and one of the best side effects of music. We haven’t even mentioned Elvin Bishop, Doc Watson, Merle Watson or from the wrecking crew Tommy Tedesco. You’re right they nailed it.

  10. Mats Lindgren September 8, 2015 at 18:31 #

    A lovely surprise. Had almost forgot Maria. I remember her single “Midnight at the oasis” from 1974. Looking forward to listen to the entire album. Thanx.

  11. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) September 8, 2015 at 05:40 #

    Thank you – I love Maria Muldaur! Was her first album released in Quad as well?

    • oxforddickie September 8, 2015 at 05:52 #

      I’m afraid not, this was the only one of hers released in quad

  12. lenikus September 8, 2015 at 03:01 #

    Another rarity. Thank you very much Captain, Joe and OD.

  13. zaphod2359 September 8, 2015 at 02:15 #

    Listening to this now via apple music while the quad downloads. This is a bit of a gem,thanks to all involved!

  14. lupineassassin September 8, 2015 at 00:11 #

    Thanks so much for this! 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: