Blue Oyster Cult – Tyranny & Mutation

28 Jul

Blue Oyster Cult - Tyranny & Mutation DS46p front

Allmusic

Release: DS46p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Process: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

12 Responses to “Blue Oyster Cult – Tyranny & Mutation”

  1. Keith Bruce August 1, 2015 at 16:35 #

    Listened the other night sounds great, I sit in an odd place for some one listening to quad. Outside the left rear, but still can hear the four points of sound. From there it’s kinda like an out of body experience listening down on a room of sound. I’ll say Secret Treaties is already stellar. I don’t know how that one can be improved, so I can’t wait [yes I can] for Phoenix.

    • oxforddickie August 1, 2015 at 16:49 #

      Interesting you mention your sitting position, in my living room i can now sit between thw Right Front & Rear speakers, which i’ve found can give me an interesting view on the Front/Rear separation of all four speakers

  2. Owen Smith July 30, 2015 at 23:24 #

    Some of the tracks have a visceral intensity that I really like. The last track is particularly good, the descending minor scales going right through me. The quad mix works well, sometimes active and sometimes less so but I feel it serves the music well. Phoenix has well seperated it as usually and it is clear where everything is coming from. A great addition to the blog, do you have any more gems like this hidden away in the back catalogue?

    • oxforddickie July 31, 2015 at 01:00 #

      Well there’s the bands ‘Secret Treaties’.

    • Owen Smith July 31, 2015 at 08:42 #

      Secret Treaties is actually on the blog, albeit in SQ*Final. So not a “hidden” gem.

      • oxforddickie July 31, 2015 at 08:45 #

        Sorry, thought i’d removed it, will do now

      • Owen Smith July 31, 2015 at 08:51 #

        Why would you remove it?

  3. Keith Bruce July 29, 2015 at 01:20 #

    Thanks for this one I had to search out the original as it had dropped from the blog can’t guarantee the one I have is your original menu looks to be yours but the artwork wasn’t. I think I got it from a Russian site I used to go to….. I digress I have the original now and Phoenix to boot.

    • oxforddickie July 29, 2015 at 05:48 #

      as that site the fake Mojave site, where he took other peoples releases and passed them off as is own?

  4. jaypfunk July 28, 2015 at 22:36 #

    This is a reissue right?

    • oxforddickie July 28, 2015 at 22:48 #

      From the very early days and before the SQ-Final series

Leave a Reply

