The Best of Tommy James & The Shondells

30 Jun

TBOTJATS front 3Link

Here is a fun listen that fits the season too. Ah the summer of ‘69 for me was still a time of innocence even while it was taking it’s dying breath. Enjoyed bubblegum pop music especially if it had the psychedelic tint of crystal blue persuasion. The cars, the girl’s, the bars, the war, sex, drugs, rock n roll and a whole lifetime of experiences lay just around the next corner. Not sure what Tommy and the Shondells were smoking to produce ‘Crimson and Clover’ but pretty sure it wasn’t banana peels. Perhaps it was just crimson and clover. Enjoy CB

Release: CB047

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

24 Responses to “The Best of Tommy James & The Shondells”

  1. Owen Smith July 5, 2015 at 18:33 #

    I know some of these songs but not most of them. Some are better than others, but there is plenty to smile about here. The quad mix reminds me of early stereo, everything is hard into one of the speakers including often the vocals, there’s no attempt at a realistic soundfield at all.

    The sound quality is pretty decent for a Q8 conversion, all the usual Q8 nasties are pretty well under control here. It sounds slightly high frequency limited but that’s about all I can pick up.

  2. SteveTuznik July 2, 2015 at 22:16 #

    I’ve never owned a Tommy James record, but am quite familiar with half of these songs. Crimson and Clover is my favorite, and it seems by most others as well, “The single has sold 5 million copies, making it Tommy James and the Shondells’ best-selling song”. The others are fun as well and the quad field is excellent. Thank you!

    I would love to hear a test CD-4 conversion Captain, and I’m sure would the others. Even if it wasn’t up to the high standards that you and OD always aim for, not hearing them at all I think would be far less desirable. We grew up listening to 8-tracks and cassettes in cars so we can’t all be too over-the-top yet. Another reason is that there are quite a few CD-4 titles available that haven’t been tapped yet on this brilliant blog site.

    • sacdtodvda July 8, 2015 at 05:50 #

      There’s no CD-4 of this title, it’s a Q8 only special and that’s not really surprising as many of the tracks had to be created from stereo or even mono masters. The first track was created from a needle-drop of the mono 45 rpm single as the master was destroyed.

      • SteveTuznik July 8, 2015 at 20:05 #

        Sacdtodvda, I wasn’t implying that there was a CD-4 of this particular title. In my second paragraph I was only responding to the Captain on his questions down below (July 1st) about other potential CD-4 titles for testing and possible releases. Sorry about the confusion.

        • sacdtodvda July 13, 2015 at 10:58 #

          Apologies if I’ve caused confusion – I was just using your comment as a lead in to the convoluted evolution of this release.

    • Owen Smith July 8, 2015 at 09:33 #

      I didn’t realise using needle-drops for quad had such a long history. I’m comparing this to the recent Rick Wakeman special editions and complaints from some quarters about them being needle-drops.

  3. Oldsiamsir July 1, 2015 at 17:09 #

    Thank you for this one CB!

  4. captainbeyond55 July 1, 2015 at 15:44 #

    So very happy that this title is creating a lot of joy and fond memories for you folks and spouses too. Your comments and gratitude as always makes the endeavor worthwhile. Help with seeding is always appreciated as well. Thank you all.

  5. gleeksmirt7 June 30, 2015 at 23:37 #

    That was a fun listen. Love the discreet separation!! Brings back loads of memories for me. Thanks a lot!

  6. prefabfan June 30, 2015 at 19:01 #

    Never knew this was in quad and Ii was somewhat of a quad collector at the time! Thanks. Poco, besides Deliverin?

    • captainbeyond55 July 1, 2015 at 15:40 #

      Have both ‘Crazy Eyes’ & ‘Poco Seven’ on CD-4 LP. Have not yet been satisfied with my results creating an DVD-A from a CD-4 source. That format has excessive noise issues and the separation is less that of most magnetic sources. Perhaps I should consider offering an example here on the blog, with OD’s approval, to see how you folks perceive the result. Is their any interest in a CD-4 conversion I wonder? And will the results be acceptable to this group?

      • oxforddickie July 1, 2015 at 17:26 #

        By all means give it a try, CD-4 is so touchy it could never have been a winner.

        In the last week the old brain box has been spewing out ideas for an upgraded demodulation process but at the moment that’s as far as it’s gone……..

        • birdycat19 July 1, 2015 at 17:38 #

          I played this through two times in a row–something I never do. On the first pass listening to “Crimson and Clover” I thought it must have been a stereo-only track as the rears were silent for so long. When those “la-la-la-la-la-la”‘s finally came in I thought I was having an acid flashback–and I’ve never taken acid 😉 Was this the only quad release on the Roulette label? It appears to be…

          • captainbeyond55 July 1, 2015 at 18:14 #

            Wild mix for sure and I love it. I asked myself the same question concerning quad releases on the Roulette label. I don’t have a definitive answer however I agree with you that this may be the only one. The tape itself was manufactured by GRT. Does anyone know of another quad Roulette release on any format?

      • captainbeyond55 July 4, 2015 at 19:34 #

        I feel like an incomplete idiot and surprised nobody pointed out my error. ‘Crazy Eyes’ and Poco Seven’ mentioned above were never released on the CD-4 format but instead are SQ format disc. Please pardon any confusion this misinformation may have caused.

        • oxforddickie July 4, 2015 at 20:16 #

          I thought you’d gotten hold of some rare Japanese releases.

  7. birdycat19 June 30, 2015 at 18:35 #

    Wish we had a “million likes” button here! Thanks for this…a very fun listen.

    • birdycat19 July 1, 2015 at 00:40 #

      I’ll keep seeding for few days if that helps.

  8. rockysquirrel June 30, 2015 at 15:11 #

    Didn’t know this was released in quad. It brings back memories for me, too. We used to ride around in my friend’s Chevy Malibu convertible cruzin’ for chicks and trying to score a quart of beer.. This was one of his 8-tracks. My life was pretty much like that movie, American Graffiti.

  9. tarkus2013 June 30, 2015 at 10:27 #

    Saw them live in the 60s. We was dancing in the aisles to Mony Mony. Great times for sure. Thank you!

  10. oxforddickie June 30, 2015 at 09:07 #

    I’m only on track three as i type this but this is true ‘four-to-the-wall’ mixing. Mony Mony sounds so different, i think this wil be played quite a bit today, thanks Captain.

    Oh, anybody notice he’s getting close to 50 releases? I remember when he started and ………..

    • captainbeyond55 July 1, 2015 at 16:15 #

      Yes what a exotic quad mix this title is and happy it will get some play too. I see you noticed Captain’s 50th is up around the bend. That mark seems small when compared to your output. Surprise but you are fast approaching your 500th. That is an unbelievable number. When I first started I never imagined the Captain would reach 50 releases. I could never have got this far without your unending help and support OD. I thank you for all you have given. There are three holes (CB018, CB024 & CB032) in the CB catalog due to technical problems with the source tape. I should really go back and fill those spots with a release of some type. I have another ‘summer’ release planed and a small special release for CB050. Looking forward to your 500th. Hope we both have many more releases to look forward to in the future. Thanks for having the old Captain aboard. Still looking for my Birdseye frozen peas.

  11. lupineassassin June 30, 2015 at 05:24 #

    Thank you! 😀

  12. joeerand June 30, 2015 at 05:12 #

    What fun! Thanks, CB. My wife and I are going to love this!

Leave a Reply

