Chase – Chase

12 Jun

Chase - Chase DS52p front

Allmusic

Reissue: New decode

Release: DS52p

Source: SQ CD

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

16 Responses to “Chase – Chase”

  1. sacdtodvda April 30, 2016 at 03:44 #

    I’ve had another rare opportunity to do some A-B comparing and when i reviewed Azteca recently I realised that I hadn’t taken the opportunity to give the Phoenix decode of this album a really close listen. I didn’t really need to hear the whole album to hear the significant differences between the decodes and really compared what would have been Side 1.

    As others have noted the opening track is a showcase for the effectiveness of Phoenix. Comments about the different decodes as they have evolved have often been concerned with front to back separation, but a real standout for me about this decode was the increased clarity between front left and front right – and the opening track’s outstanding use of the phantom centre. Yes, there was a centre with the old decode but with Phoenix – even though my receiver told me there were only 4 channels present – it was all I could do to stop myself pressing my ear against my centre speaker, the sound image was so clear and precise. As OD has mentioned below Phoenix really highlights the rotating instrument effect when it is used.

    Where Chase differs from other “horn” bands of course is that the brass is all trumpet (on this album anyway, some flugelhorn appears on the other two) so you don’t get the tonal differences between instruments, but at least Phoenix makes the peaks and crescendos less harsh – for example the short fanfares in the third track before the guitar solo and at the close of the song.

    The instrument that does have improved timbre from Phoenix for me is the keyboards – the tonal quality at times makes it sound like that organ is right there in the room.

    To give the previous decode the best fighting chance I even played the opening track with old decode listening to the old decode lossless and the Phoenix decode in DTS – and Phoenix was still far superior in clarity.

    It would be great to have a new decode of Pure music as well.

    • oxforddickie April 30, 2016 at 08:04 #

      Many thnks for that review and for taking the time for the comparison. It’s nice to know i wasn’t just imaganing the differences myself 🙂

    • RTM July 6, 2017 at 13:01 #

      I’m looking for a physical copy of this in Quad. I have SQ decoding equipment, and an 8 track of this title, but the 8 track is damaged and I don’t think my decoder is the best representative its type. (Pioneer QD-210.) If somebody could let me know how to acquire this, I’d be very grateful. Thank you.

      • RTM July 6, 2017 at 13:03 #

        Let me clarify: I have a Quad LP and a discrete but damaged Quad 8 track of this title. My deck is a Technics RS-858DUS (self-restored) and it works well, but the 8 track led a pretty violent life before I acquired it and I believe it’s not “long for this world”. Again, TIA for any assistance.

  2. Owen Smith June 21, 2015 at 14:10 #

    This is great, a superb quad mix and very well played. The rotating opening (I’m pretty sure they’re trumpets not any sort of horns) is excellent and sets the mood well for the rest of this fast paced brass led album. Vocals, bass and guitars also contribute well in some tracks, and all except vocals get their turn to move around the quad mix. This is a great showcase for Phoenix and it does a great job separating front and back and putting all instruments where they are meant to be.

  3. bayards June 13, 2015 at 15:12 #

    Oh, and the comparison between the 2 decodes. Well obviously the discrete seperation is vastly improved, and placement of instruments is more “fixed” on the Phoenix. The vocals are also rock solid in the centre. The only slight adjustment I had to do was put some extra bass into the 5th channel on my 5.1 layout. The beefed up sound is much better than the original flat transfer. I remember when I had the LP I always thought the bass soundscape was a bit flat and shrill. Balanced to my ears now.

    • oxforddickie June 13, 2015 at 15:20 #

      Yea, always thought the album was bass light, but i treat these albums as mixes of their time. Thanks for the feedback, it is certainly a ‘solid’ decode.

  4. bayards June 12, 2015 at 21:58 #

    Was just listening to this last night (SQ Final version?). Looking forward to hearing Phoenix version now.

    • oxforddickie June 12, 2015 at 22:12 #

      It would certainly be interesting to hear your views on the two versions, i’m guessing you know the original version well.

      • bayards June 13, 2015 at 12:35 #

        Yes siree! Had the SQ LP back in the day and used it as a demo set. Those rotating horns at the beginning are superb. Can’t wait to hear the Phoenix version. Now if one day you could re-do Argent from your imposing stack of platters in Phoenix 🙂 …

        • oxforddickie June 13, 2015 at 14:59 #

          It’s odd that nobody ever mentions the rotating organ on track 2, not as obvious perhaps? and talking about rotating instruments…. (moved to the relevant release)

          • bayards June 13, 2015 at 15:07 #

            Couldn’t wait to get it on the drive… absolutely 100% demo material now! The rotating bongos on track 3 lol! This should be on every one’s purchase list now! Many, many thanks OD.

            • oxforddickie June 13, 2015 at 15:15 #

              Ah, forgot the bongo’s. I think it’s a superb demonstration of how ‘Phoenix’ has pushed SQ decoding beyond what was ever thought possible, should have redone this ages ago.

              (Sorry for the chest beating but i’m just a little bit proud of ‘Phoenix’)

        • oxforddickie June 13, 2015 at 15:16 #

          I’ll keep the Argent’ album in mind

          • bayards June 13, 2015 at 16:02 #

            Thanks OD. Just had a second listen. If the tech you’ve conjured up (Phoenix) had been around when I had long hair (any hair lol) then quad would not have died and we’d be awash with Beatles in quad etc. Still better late than never – it is like an archeological dig into sound. Well done!

            Digging back through my stuff I sent you a few cassette tapes in Dec 13 (BBC HJ with a play Richard III, Genesis and stuff). Have you managed to transcribe them to your gadetry yet. If not I am able to put onto DVD disc as still have the original tape deck they were recorded on – which might help with bias.

            I also have some bootleg vinyl LPs which purport to be quad (Roxy Music, The Who) which I can plonk onto DVD to give it a go. Getting house straight so won’t be immediately…

            Cheers again.

            • oxforddickie June 13, 2015 at 17:47 #

              The problem with ‘Phoenix’ is that i’m not sure the technology is available (at an affordable price) to enable a real-time hardware decoder to be produced, back then it would have been science fiction. It goes into areas that were never discussed, because they were basically SQ’s Achilles Heal and back then it was probably thought it was best not to discuss something they could do nothing about.

              The tapes are still in the box. I had done some work on decoding ‘H’ from cassettes, the results were always ‘not good’. This is because a) cassettes are dreadfully unstable mechanically and b) both H & HJ are a phase nightmare, the slightest error makes it almost un-decodable.

              I’ve had an idea that might enable these recording to be rescued, in fact it was some 6 months ago it came to me, but like the new ‘mystical’ replacement for H/II, it’s waiting in the wings for the day i decide to return to the head-work. I believe there’s been some promise of some HJ encoded material ‘possibly’ on offer in the future so i will need to get ‘H’ done before i could start on it’s brother.

Leave a Reply

