The Firesign Theatre – Everything You Know Is Wrong

9 May

The Firesign Theatre - Everything You Know Is Wrong CB046 frontLink

Welcome Seekers…… everything you know is wrong! What can I say to entice you to give this a spin? How about real gas music from Jupiter. Or characters such as daredemon Reebus Cannibis, Gary the Seeker, “Happy” Harry Cox or Nino Savatte the Mindboggler. At last the hole truth! Interestingly the LP cover crops the flying saucer on the right while the Q8 label is uncropped. The saucer appears to be escaping its two dimensional domain. You may too. Beware repeated playing may cause unpredictable long term side effects. I would like to leave you with this closing thought. “You know a cave just really is a hole on its side Ray.” Enjoy CB.

Allmusic

Release: CB046

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

18 Responses to “The Firesign Theatre – Everything You Know Is Wrong”

  1. atq December 3, 2016 at 11:40 #

    …and I’ve just realised that they spell their name “Theatre” even though they are American. I wonder if that’s on purpose because it looks strange if you’re used to seeing “Theater”? (A bit like the band US band Pavement – an exotic word in the US but mundane over here.)

  2. atq December 2, 2016 at 15:58 #

    Is it just me, or is the front left fairly quiet in this? I felt like I was listening to “tri-phonic” most of the time!

    I like my comedy, but this didn’t make me laugh much, and like Owen, it was physically difficult listening to lots of bits at the same time. Thanks Richard Metzger for the tip that Bozos is much better. I agree that it’s much more Goons than Python – and I much prefer Python to The Goons. It did remind me of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (being a comedy audio drama) – esp. as there is a surround available for some of H2G2 – but again, this came off worst in the comparison.

    As usual, still grateful to OD and CB for the chance to try this.

  3. Owen Smith July 2, 2015 at 00:44 #

    This is the first release on the blog to have made me feel sick. The very active bouncing around of the voices complete with double tracking with minor delay towards the end of track two was just too much for me, and it was a relief when the disc stopped playing. I’m sorry, I’m sure the captain has worked hard on this transfer and it’s clearly all there in very active quad. But I don’t find this kind of radio theatre at all interesting to start with and then the nausea started. I think I’ll go and lie down now.

    • captainbeyond55 July 2, 2015 at 23:52 #

      Owen the news of your condition is most regrettable but I must remind you that this release did come with a warning… “playing may cause unpredictable long term side effects”. To tell the truth I must really be in the mood, I mean really want to listen to FT when I do. I have aborted attempts and also felt the relief you mention when the disc ends. The difference is like you said… interest. After several recent plays of OD’s release DS25f-2 and the workout preparing this title it will most likely be a few years before I try FT again. I sincerely wish you a Speedy recovery without any relapse or flashbacks. Plop, plop, fizz, fizz… 😉

    • Owen Smith July 3, 2015 at 12:16 #

      I have made a full recovery thanks. Nothing a good night’s sleep couldn’t fix.

  4. farfig May 13, 2015 at 16:30 #

    Thanks very much…!!!…Haven’t heard this in years – and now to be in glorious quad………

  5. bigheadrascal May 10, 2015 at 06:56 #

    I’ll stick with Monty Python for my retro chuckles. Very nice conversion, just the same. Keep ’em coming!

    • oxforddickie May 10, 2015 at 07:03 #

      Unfortunately only the two albums were released in quad

    • captainbeyond55 May 10, 2015 at 20:20 #

      Was wondering when someone would make a comparison with Monty Python. Please understand I enjoy them both equally and consider them similar but different. Firesign and Monty both use wordplay, satire, parody and pun to very humorous effect. Monty Python however adds the dimension of video to their craft whereas Firesign Theatre depends on audio for their method of delivery. It was very recently brought to my attention that Firesign Theatre did make some videos. One even exists for this title. With that said I still consider FT an audio experience mixed with imagination to fill in the visual. Theater of the mind if you will. What tickles me some 40 odd years later is that I am still catching on to lines that I missed the 1st 50 times.

      • bigheadrascal May 10, 2015 at 23:38 #

        FT does require a level of concentration I wasn’t prepared for. I haven’t dismissed them, rather I’ve put them aside for a less stressful day.

        • Owen Smith May 11, 2015 at 13:07 #

          I found that listening to OD’s decode of “I Think We’re All Bozos On This Bus”.

        • Richard Metzger May 16, 2015 at 00:30 #

          People always compare FT to Python, but they’re more of a druggy, Ivy League Yankee version of the Goon Show. All of them were huge Goon Show fans and it shows. (Phil Proctor is a big Bob and Ray fan, and you hear that influence in his contributions as well)

          Start with OD’s quad ‘Bozos’ which is considered one of their four “classics,” whereas EYKIW is more of a “pretty good” but still past their prime piece. ‘Bozos’ might hook you for life, EYKIW is probably more for someone who’s already heard their better records. One is merely good, the other is a comedy masterpiece.

          BTW, OD, they have heard your work. I personally played it for the late Peter Bergman. He hadn’t heard it in years and was thrilled.

      • tarkus2013 May 11, 2015 at 01:28 #

        I have to go with Python with the exception of…FT has the best album title of all time with “Don;t Crush That Dwarf, Hand Me The Pliers.”

  6. tarkus2013 May 9, 2015 at 13:46 #

    I probably shouldn’t listen to this and I will most certainly do so.

  7. bayards May 9, 2015 at 13:13 #

    Brings back 70’s memories. I think we’re all Bozos on this bus – one of theirs too. Fab!

  8. zaphod2359 May 9, 2015 at 02:32 #

    Now I KNOW this will be a good weekend! I may just turn into a large sliver crow and follow the Snake until I meet the white buffalo.

    thankyouthankyouthankyou!

  9. birdycat19 May 9, 2015 at 01:13 #

    Gimme! Another one of my Holy Grails I scratch off the list…thanks so much Cap’n!

    “Honey, they’re in everybody’s eggs!”

  10. lenikus May 9, 2015 at 00:14 #

    I will enjoy this, no matter the side effects. Thank you a lot!

Leave a Reply

