Johnny Nash – My Merry-Go-Round

8 May

Johnny Nash - My Merry-Go-Round DS481p front

Allmusic

Release: DS481p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

4 Responses to “Johnny Nash – My Merry-Go-Round”

  1. joeerand May 11, 2015 at 01:03 #

    I never heard this title before, but it’s absolutely charming, and the quad mix, beautifully presented by Phoenix, is a joy. It doesn’t feel like a front stereo mix + a back stereo mix, it really wraps around convincingly. And they clearly paid a lot of attention to the quad mix…the opening track has sounds spinning slowly around the room (in accord with the Merry Go Round theme), but they move very smoothly. The songs are good, and Johnny Nash’s voice is terrific. I can’t believe I never heard this in the day. Thanks for introducing me to another great record, OD!

    • Owen Smith May 16, 2015 at 16:43 #

      I agree with joeerand, a great album and a great quad mix. I really enjoyed this. In the first track it took me a while to realise it was Johnny Nash singing, I thought it was a woman’s voice initially. Definitely up there in the Freddie Mercury register.

  2. lupineassassin May 9, 2015 at 17:55 #

    Looking forward to hearing this one. Thanks again.

  3. bigheadrascal May 9, 2015 at 13:21 #

    Stunning quad mix. Nice selection of songs, as well. This one’s up there with the recent Jose Feliciano offering.

Leave a Reply

