Jose Feliciano – Compartments

2 May

Jose Feliciano - Compartments CB045 frontLink

From 1973 ‘Compartments’ was Jose Feliciano’s 16th album. Available in three quadraphonic flavors Quad Reel, Quad 8-Track cartridge or Quadradisc CD-4 LP. This conversion is from a Q4 source. Interesting group of guest artist with Leon bringing a lot to enjoy on this album. ‘Me and Baby Jane’ works well for my ear. ‘Sea Cruise’ is fun. The title track is also very enjoyable. Hard to pick a favorite as there are several. If pressed for my top choice I would have to say the next to last track ‘I’m Leavin’’. Played that one over and over again. Hope you folks enjoy it as much as I did. CB

Allmusic

Release: CB045

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

12 Responses to “Jose Feliciano – Compartments”

  1. SteveTuznik May 10, 2015 at 00:22 #

    This is my first exposure to Jose Feliciano. Played it twice already and am enjoying it very much. Thank you Mr. Captain To Infinity and Beyond!

  2. Owen Smith May 9, 2015 at 14:47 #

    This just goes to show how tastes in music differ. Most commentors are raving about this, and it’s being mentioned as great music in one or two posts elsewhere the blog. Whereas I don’t get it. I mean it’s OK don’t get me wrong, but it’s nothing special for my muscial tastes. It does improve through the album, the early tracks were quite a turn off as I started to brace myself for an entire album of country music. Fortunately it moved away from that, and by the last two or three tracks it was quite enjoyable. But I doubt I’ll be listening to it again.

    Technically this is good being a Q4 transfer. I did feel that compared to some other Q4s it’s slightly lacking, the high end seemed a bit restricted, but that’s almost certainly the Q4 tape or even the master. Still very good audio quality though. The quad mix is quite active and interesting, which is one of the things that helped salvage my interest especially in the early tracks.

    • birdycat19 May 9, 2015 at 18:41 #

      Owen, do you preview tracks from AllMusic or Spotify before gojng to the trouble and expense of burning a disc? That might have saved you the horrors of sitting through an entire album from one of the best interpreters of the singer-songwriter movement of the 70’s lol. Also, your definition of “country music” is quite different from mine 😉

    • Owen Smith May 10, 2015 at 13:53 #

      I just download everything. The time taken to preview stuff doesn’t seem worth it to me. Plus I’d have to sample every track, because some albums have a couple of stand out tracks that make an otherwise so-so album really worth while. I’ve been very pleasantly surprised by some albums I wasn’t expecting to like, and even when I don’t like something I’m widening my musical knowledge of what is out there.

      Also I like to support the blog and OD. I want to be able to comment on all the releases, and I know that OD needs the money but wants to earn it. So it works out in everone’s benefit.

    • Owen Smith May 10, 2015 at 13:54 #

      There was only one or two tracks that sounded a bit country to me.

  3. birdycat19 May 6, 2015 at 04:09 #

    Wow! What a great record! I only know Feliciano from “Light My Fire” and that Christmas song but this is wonderful stuff. If I didn’t know better (and I don’t) I’d say Kenny Loggins copped his singing style from JF. Even without “Peace of Mind” this is the best album Loggins & Messina never released 😉

  4. admsh May 5, 2015 at 12:24 #

    Great little gem, I didn’t know this album before. Jose Feliciano had a lot of friends join for this one… The standouts for me are Seals and Crofts, Leon Russell but most of all the collaboration with Bill Withers. The mix is great and transfer perfect, thank you so much for this!

  5. joeerand May 3, 2015 at 08:09 #

    I have a DTS conversion that was transferred from CD-4 source and shared on the web. I’m looking forward to hearing yours, which I’m sure will be better. Thanks!

  6. bigheadrascal May 2, 2015 at 10:57 #

    Oh, so sweet! They’re all so tasty that I can’t pick a favorite track. Superb transfer. Thanks CB and OD for sharing!

  7. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) May 2, 2015 at 06:28 #

    Thank you – one of my favourite albums and one I only had as a CD4 LP transfer previously. I agree that ‘Me And Baby Jane’ is a highlight – an amazing song and better than Leon Russell’s original, IMO. Simple Song is a tour de force. How such a ‘simple song’ can be so beguiling is beyond me – there is definitely a master at work on this album. A new Q4 source is much appreciated!

  8. Owen Smith May 2, 2015 at 01:21 #

    The Captain is on a roll at the moment, lots of conversions. Thanks!

  9. lupineassassin May 2, 2015 at 00:15 #

    Thanks for this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

