Steve Miller Band – The Joker

21 Apr

Steve Miller Band - The Joker CB0043 front LINK

This LP has been a favorite of mine since its original release. Positive I wore the hide off several copies. Of course this is another one of those Q8 only quad titles. This tape was provided by rockysquirrrel and I greatly appreciate the opportunity to convert this particular title. Enjoy CB

Allmusic

Release: CB042

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

20 Responses to “Steve Miller Band – The Joker”

  1. Owen Smith May 3, 2015 at 14:10 #

    This is great, I love the music, I love the very active quad mix, and the transfer is excellent too. A bit of Q8 tape hiss but no other Q8 nasties on show. Great job Captain, and some well known tunes in there too. Musically it hasn’t aged as much as a lot of 1970s stuff, you could play these tracks live now and people wouldn’t think it was a 70s revival night.

  2. smokey901 May 3, 2015 at 07:03 #

    I’m very pleased to get this one. It has a much better quad mix than “Fly Like An Eagle”
    Thanks to all.

  3. jaypfunk April 25, 2015 at 18:58 #

    Although lacking some bass (I just cranked up my sub a bit) this is one of the best QUAD mixes I’ve ever heard. And I’ve heard a-fucking-lot thanks to OD, rtrax, UMW and AOQ.

  4. deepsky4565 April 24, 2015 at 23:23 #

    Very nice. I hadn’t heard the quad of this before, and the Q8 isn’t bad. Thanks to all involved!!!

  5. bigheadrascal April 24, 2015 at 09:57 #

    Much appreciated. This album was wildly popular in the US back in the day as were “Fly Like an Eagle” and “Book of Dreams”. “Eagle” made the quad cut on Q8, though in an altered fashion to fit the format. Not sure about “Dreams”..

  6. farfig April 23, 2015 at 22:23 #

    Many, many listens in my youth…but never in Quad!….A hearty thanks to all involved!!!!

  7. SteveTuznik April 21, 2015 at 22:13 #

    Thank you RockySquirrel, Bullwinkle, and Captain Beyond,
    cause’ I’m a picker, I’m a grinner,
    I’m a lover, and I’m a sinner.
    Playin’ my music in the sun.

    • SteveTuznik April 22, 2015 at 22:14 #

      Years ago I had “Fly Like an Eagle” and “Book of Dreams”, but never heard “The Joker” album except for the title hit song…..until today.

      Quite a pleasant all-around pop-rock album! I was surprised how listenable it was after being released 42 years ago. The overall sound from the well-preserved Q8 is really good, and separation quite discrete and delicious. Even though I’d heard the title hit so many times on the radio and wherever, I always love when I get surprised hearing what I’d never heard before.

      Even though the best sweet spot on a surround system is right in the middle of it all, I almost always sit on our loveseat recliner which is closest to the left rears. The guitars, both the strumming of the chords, and picking really come alive and made me smile as to why I love surround sound in the first place!

      My only objection after one listen might be the two live songs in the middle of the album which breaks up the continuity and mood. But those could very well grow on me with time. This will definitely be worthy of many repeated listens, and thanks again Captain and Rocky.

  8. quadro2013 April 21, 2015 at 21:14 #

    A 1.000 Thank You’s to all, who made this possible!

  9. jrdaniels April 21, 2015 at 19:38 #

    Great stuff. Many thanks

  10. Simmdale April 21, 2015 at 19:07 #

    The Best Of Bread was numbered CB039, I don’t know how it got confused exactly as being CB042, The “CB” numbering here on the site listing for the The Doors – The Best of The Doors has it listed as CB042, but that should be changed to CB043 as the menu page for The Doors during playback and all the artwork for it has CB043 for its number. The main folder for The Doors – The Best of The Doors also came as CB042 for its number, that should be changes to CB043… and then it will be fine for all of them. In summary, the CB042 number on the page for The Doors here at the site should be changed to CB043, and the downloaded main folder for The Doors – The Best of The Doors should also be changed to CB043 after you downloaded it.

    • Owen Smith April 22, 2015 at 13:08 #

      My fault, I confused Best of Bread/Doors. I meant one and wrote the other when I first highlighted the issue below.

  11. admsh April 21, 2015 at 13:48 #

    So awesome! Quality of this Q8 is great. Very aggressive quad mix, so much going on in the back and such a fun album! Thank you all so much for this.

  12. Owen Smith April 21, 2015 at 10:50 #

    Bit of a numbering mistake I think, we’ve already had CB042 as Best of Bread. No big deal, it doesn’t affect the music.

    • captainbeyond55 April 21, 2015 at 14:34 #

      You noticed. Yes a bit of a numbering error but like you said, doesn’t effect the music.Consider Bread as CB043 and Joker as CB042.

  13. tarkus2013 April 21, 2015 at 10:39 #

    Do like Steve Miller. Thanks to all !!!

  14. birdycat19 April 21, 2015 at 06:36 #

    Never heard this one in quad (or stereo)! Can’t wait! Thanks so much.

  15. joeerand April 21, 2015 at 06:22 #

    Terrific! Thank you rockysquirrel, CB, and OD!

  16. lupineassassin April 21, 2015 at 06:09 #

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

