The Doors – The Best Of

25 Mar

The Doors - The Best of The Doors CB043 frontWithdrawn due to official reissue

When originally released in 1973 this LP was a CD-4 exclusive and not re-released in stereo until 1980. A rather common quad record with the Q4 being somewhat harder to find. This tape was provided by member Steve Tuznik. Enjoy CB

Release: CB043

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

20 Responses to “The Doors – The Best Of”

  1. katstep April 14, 2015 at 04:57 #

    Audio Fidelity just announced that they are releasing this as a SACD hybrid in June. It’ll have the original Quad mix, plus hi-res stereo.

    • oxforddickie April 14, 2015 at 07:43 #

      Thanks for that, looks as though we may have a quad revival happening, lets hope it continues

      • sacdtodvda April 14, 2015 at 12:21 #

        Sadly it’s on SACD.

        • oxforddickie April 14, 2015 at 14:02 #

          Yes, a real shame as it locks out a much wider audience who would buy it, i’m sure

  2. Lonky 1 April 11, 2015 at 13:36 #

    I have owned this quad lp forever but until now have never heard it as intended.I get that it’s a Q4 but for me it’s the only album in my collection that I hadn’t heard. As always, thanks for all the work that you and OD provide for this forum

  3. Owen Smith March 29, 2015 at 15:11 #

    As others have said, Riders is fantasic here with Jim whispering spookily in my lugholes from the rear speakers while singing in the fronts. Good quad mix for this track generally, definitely the standout track on the album. The last track is also good, but I can’t drag it’s name out of my tired brain at the moment (clocks went forwards in the UK last night and I didn’t sleep well anyway).

    Apart from those two tracks the rest of the album is a bit of a mixed bag. Starting with one live track is a bit odd too. I kind of liked some of the other tracks, but without the two standout tracks for a contrast this wouldn’t have been as good.

    Sound quality is superb, as is the case with good Q4s. But not all Q4s are equal, there are some with as much tape hiss as some Q8s but thankfully not this one. A great transfer Captain.

  4. par4ken March 27, 2015 at 22:45 #

    I’m a bit confused, released as CB039 then withdrawn as a commercial SACD is available, now released again with a different number? Great album I have the reel tape the CD-4 already!

    • SteveTuznik March 27, 2015 at 23:32 #

      Par4kem maybe you’re confused, or maybe I am, but Doors ≠ Bread.

  5. Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) March 26, 2015 at 21:03 #

    Riders On The Storm is indeed an amazing mix. ‘L.A. Woman’ was The Doors’ finest album in my opinion. Thank you for a new transfer of the Q4. I’m looking forward to listening to this tomorrow…

  6. joeerand March 26, 2015 at 18:05 #

    Thank you very much!

  7. lenikus March 25, 2015 at 23:15 #

    Thank you very much Captain, Steve Tuznik and OD for this great release!

  8. SteveTuznik March 25, 2015 at 19:56 #

    Captain Beyond, my appreciation once again for preserving these relevant, treasured recordings from my past. Together, you and Oxford Dickie are bringing back to life wonderful memories, as well as opening up our ears to fresh new experiences.
    Thank you!!

  9. bigheadrascal March 25, 2015 at 19:27 #

    This is one of the few CD-4 discs I was able to get my hands on back in the day. Also one of the few that would play without so many intermittent bursts of static here and there. The vinyl is stored away. Not sure if it’s a Q4 or CD-4 transfer, but I’ve had this on DVD in my collection for a while now. It is a sweet collection of Doors’ radio hits, though I’d be tempted to amend the track selection a bit. I’d have to say “Riders on the Storm” is one of the best rock quad mixes I’ve ever heard.

    • sacdtodvda March 26, 2015 at 08:26 #

      When Jim whispers in the rears as he sings in the fronts it’s incredibly eerie.

      • bigheadrascal March 26, 2015 at 20:27 #

        Imagine if they’d used a more realistic sounding thunderstorm effect. Wow!

      • captainbeyond55 March 26, 2015 at 20:42 #

        I agree sacdtodvda. It kind if creeped me out too but in a good way. He is still dead ain’t he?

        • SteveTuznik March 26, 2015 at 22:20 #

          LOL! Morrison was kind of a creepy guy. Or maybe Val Kilmer is more so. Anyway he’s probably dead, but he was also “tougher than dirt”.

          • twrock April 15, 2015 at 12:20 #

            Shouldn’t that be “stronger than dirt”?

  10. Ricardo Landaeta March 25, 2015 at 13:36 #

    Thanks!

  11. Owen Smith March 25, 2015 at 13:32 #

    I read the first sentence and thought this was an OD CD-4 release (which would be the first) before I read the rest of it. Still, a Q4 transfer should be better than CD-4.

Leave a Reply

