The next move?

22 Mar

As many of you know there has been an issue with regards to the hardware used here. Through it’s time the blog has gone through similar crises but a number of things have combined to bring things to a head bringing the continuation of the blog into question.

There has been some considerable thought and discussion regarding the situation, with a number of possibilities being considered. One of them is the level of donation required. Rather than just decide I thought it best to put the idea to a vote and then decide on the viability of the blog once all the votes are in. This poll will run for 5 days, ending at midnight Friday 27th March.

34 Responses to “The next move?”

  1. Owen Smith April 12, 2015 at 01:19 #

    By the way, DS-Classical blog link on the right hand side links to this blog not the classical one.

  2. birdycat19 April 2, 2015 at 03:14 #

    Getting in a bit late but I voted for 5 pounds or dollars or whatever. Money is not a problem for me and frankly given the pleasure these releases have provided me (and the untold hours put in to create them by our host and others) I’d gladly pay more.

  3. prefabfan March 31, 2015 at 23:54 #

    Are YOU ok? How are the results for your neck, and yes I do care.

    Please excuse any typos, grammatical errors, etc. This was sent with my iPad.

    >

    • oxforddickie April 1, 2015 at 11:53 #

      Morning

      I’m ok thanks, results of biopsy not good, requires further treatment. Oh joy. And yourself?

    • Owen Smith April 1, 2015 at 13:31 #

      I type most of my blog posts on my iPad. Typos and grammatical errors are a constant problem on iPad, not to mention AutoCorrect changing what you actually type (I think I’ve got it turned off now).

      Best of luck with the treatment OD. None of us are getting any younger, alas.

  4. oxforddickie March 27, 2015 at 16:57 #

    The results are now available. .

  5. captainbeyond55 March 25, 2015 at 17:04 #

    It appears we members are making honest offers to help but much akin to trowing darts in the dark. Questions needs to be asked and solutions considered. What will make the blog sustainable? How as members can we provide the means to make the blog sustainable? Once we understand the exact needs then offers could effectively be more targeted for success. Just my two cents worth.

  6. Larry H March 24, 2015 at 09:45 #

    Hi OD mugs here. I agree with one of the above posters. If need money to keep things running let us know how much you need and we will pitch in to try to get you to that amount. I realize you have costs associated with this. Throw out a number and let us see what we can do to achieve it.

    • oxforddickie March 24, 2015 at 14:02 #

      Hi

      Many thanks for the offer but that would only end up being a quick patch. I’m not going into details but for a variety of reasons there has to be a change here and basically what happens next is all down the whether the blog continues or not.

      I’m not sure if i’ve said this openly but whatever happens next will be solely down to what is the best option for me. I’ve laid out my situation to Owen, who i think finally understands where i am. And i’m afraid there can be no half measures.

      • admsh March 25, 2015 at 10:33 #

        I’ll join the others, just put it out there, happy to donate more for each release, happy in fact to pay a membership fee for this blog too. But also, as others have suggested, happy to make a bigger donation if you are in need OD, and to donate equipment — I can spare an Oppo BDP-93, a pretty decent desktop computer.

        • oxforddickie March 25, 2015 at 11:13 #

          An OPPO? Can you hear my old Denon DVD-2910 shaking LOL

          • admsh March 25, 2015 at 12:21 #

            Ha, I have this old equipment and can’t bring myself to get rid of. Can’t let go of old things that gave me so much pleasure. But if someone can put it to good use it’s a different story.

            Find a way to release Nina Simone’s Best and I’ll donate my right arm, too.

            • oxforddickie March 25, 2015 at 12:23 #

              Can’t say i’ve ever seen it listed as a quad release

        • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) March 25, 2015 at 19:07 #

          I would just like to say that this says everything I wanted to say – but better (apart from the gear bit – cos I don’t have any!). Thank you OD for everything you’ve done – I hope that you can find some way to keep things going.

    • Owen Smith March 24, 2015 at 18:17 #

      I feel I should point out I’m only acting as a sounding board and sanity check for OD’s thoughts and ideas. I’ve suggested a few options, but ultimately it’s OD’s decision to make.

  7. crispin14 March 23, 2015 at 21:24 #

    Regardless the donation you decide, what will make the blog sustainable for you are more members. I can’t recall how I landed on this site, but I seem to recall that joining was (to exaggerate) like joining a restrictive country club. Perhaps you can set up a system of member referrals to help interested friends join. A couple of years ago when I bought a new DTS receiver, I wanted to leave a DVD of sample quad music at the store to help them sell gear, but recalled that you did not want unauthorized distribution. I think a Demo file of excerpts would help; one that members could drop off at HiFi shops with appropriate information and some sort of “code” to assist people wanting to join. I’m sure there are lots of folk who buy a new receiver to watch Star Wars don’t know that there is also surround music to be had, often pieces they enjoyed in their youth.

    • Owen Smith March 23, 2015 at 23:49 #

      I don’t recall it being that hard to join, but then I was on the previous version of the blog that was open to all. The blog went closed for various reasons, but now it is open to the public for all to see again. Like you crispin14 I was concerned about the number of followers, but the numbers have definitely improved over the last 18 months. And the comments are more lively than they’ve ever been, which is great.

      I have mixed feelings about discs at hifi shops. Those places have links with record companies, and this isn’t exactly above board, so moving into hifi shops seems a bit antagonistic. Plus I’ve never found one I felt was worth the effort anyway, half the time I can’t find one that stocks what I want to try out. I ordered some £1400 quid Dynaudio Xeo 3 speakers online from Doug Brady HiFi (never been to the shop, just found them online) because I couldn’t find a local Dynaudio dealer. Fortunately they were great and I ordered a second pair. If I hadn’t like them I could just have returned them for a refund under EU distance selling regulations, and I wouldn’t even have needed to give a reason. It’s a sad way to do business, I even tried to persuade a local hifi shop to stock them to sell to me. But they have to be a dealer, and to do that they have to stock 3 product lines, one of which they’d have shifted to me and then they said they’d have trouble selling the other two. Sounds like restrictive practices in the hifi business to me. But I digress from the subject at hand.

      • crispin14 March 24, 2015 at 18:37 #

        Thanks for the response, Owen; it makes complete sense now. I wonder if there is a way to do a demo disk that OD will not mind our sending to friends with surround systems that are used exclusively for cinema?
        I find myself listening “in private” to these offerings and wondering how others might be able to share in the experience.

        • oxforddickie March 24, 2015 at 19:12 #

          I’m not sure why you feel the need of a demo disc to send to friends? Why not just send them a copy of an album you have?

          • crispin14 March 25, 2015 at 15:28 #

            I was concerned based on comments about people re-distributing recordings for profit. One never wants to be the source of a “leak.” But I will discretely offer a sample or two to people who are likely to join.

        • Owen Smith March 24, 2015 at 20:04 #

          The Freebie With Link items on the blog are available to anyone on the Internet. I can’t see any issue with sending a copy of those, it’s no different to friends downloading and burning it themselves.

  8. farfig March 23, 2015 at 15:24 #

    I would be happy to give more if only I could. However, being unemployed long-term has already nearly excluded me from some of these generous offerings. I have given – on occasion – in the past, but upping the ante makes it even less doable for me personally.

    This is not to say that I want everything for free – only that paying for these offerings is a luxury that I’m less and less able to afford. You may inadvertently be whittling away some of your readership and followers.

    Just some food for thought as you move forward.

    • oxforddickie March 23, 2015 at 15:38 #

      And this is my problem, having been unable to work due to illness for some 6/7 years, running this takes all of my resources, even with the donations.

      I do know how you must be struggling, but if you have another option i am willing to listen.

      • farfig March 23, 2015 at 17:20 #

        I hope you didn’t take my comment as a complaint. It was not meant that way at all.

        I don’t have a better idea, and I do realize that there are costs involved for you.

        It is unfair and self-centered to somehow expect access to these treasures for free. I am not one of those. However, I will have to be more judicious in my choices going forward. I will send what I can, when I can, and all I can do is hope that it helps…….Kind regards, farfig.

        • oxforddickie March 23, 2015 at 17:46 #

          Certainly not taking it as a complaint at all, just want you to know i know what it’s like to be in that situation. Perhaps i can sort some thing out.

          And as for ideas, you never know what someone else can come up with, there’s always more than one way to look at a problem

        • Owen Smith March 23, 2015 at 20:12 #

          Do you have any legacy quad albums in your collection farfig? It’s a long shot, but OD has stated costs of obtaining albums he doesn’t have are non trivial. If you could supply some that might help. Chances of you having the ones OD doesn’t have aren’t high I’ll admit.

  9. K Douglas March 23, 2015 at 03:50 #

    Your efforts are very much appreciated, and I would say you can guide the donations based on need. I would love to keep the per title donation low, but if you need more by all means ask for what you need!

    • oxforddickie March 23, 2015 at 08:07 #

      I’ve thought of every possible way to keep the blog open and as it is now but needs must. There has been a lot of discussion with regards to this and we can’t think of a suitable alternative to what has been put forward now to keep it viable.

      • admsh March 23, 2015 at 11:04 #

        OD I think I may have missed this discussion. Would you explain more about the hardware issues you are having? Or point me in the direction to read past comments?

        • oxforddickie March 23, 2015 at 13:40 #

          Eyes right: Blog Information/7th March 2015 and possibly some small discussion on the Reseed’ page.

          I suggest that signing up for all posts would be the best way of keeping up to date on the blog.

        • Owen Smith March 23, 2015 at 13:46 #

          Some of the “lot of discussion” has been by email. A lot of that would just be noise on the blog and has little to do with quad itself. I try to seperate the two. If I’m discussing listening thoughts on blog releases or OD’s decoding process or torrent problems, it’s on the blog. Unrelated personal stuff or sensitive topics I keep off the blog.

          • oxforddickie March 23, 2015 at 14:05 #

            I agree, much of it has been on a more personal basis and not suitable for the blog. The poll came out of a three way discussion where i felt that this particular issue was put to the public vote, and Owen agreed. There are other issues that are still ongoing and are not suitable for open discussion.

  10. crispin14 March 22, 2015 at 23:25 #

    I like to donate for every “classical” recording even though some of them are not exactly to my taste and preference. I usually donate more for the ones I really like.

Leave a Reply

