The Guess Who – The Best Of

28 Feb

The Guess Who - The Best of The Guess Who CB040 frontWithdrawn – Now Available Commercially On SACD

The Guess Who had twelve titles released in the quadraphonic format. This is one of them. Sourced from a Q4 provided by Steve Tuznik. This album has been a favorite of mine for years. Hope you folks enjoy it as much as I do. CB

Release: CB040

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

56 Responses to “The Guess Who – The Best Of”

  1. Owen Smith March 8, 2015 at 14:59 #

    This one is great. I’ve never heard most of the music but I enjoyed it all. And the quad mix is seriously active with guitars and vocals bouncing all over the speakers, and yet it manages to sound sensible within the context of the music. A good disc for making you fell happy.

    The Q4 transfer is as good as I’ve come to expect, in fact better than some which have unreasonable amounts of tape hiss. Nice job Captain.

  2. bigheadrascal March 7, 2015 at 21:04 #

    Keep coming back to this one. Can one wear out a DVD?

  3. lizardking430 March 7, 2015 at 03:08 #

    What – only 1/2 of the users here have DVD-A capability? Y’all need to buy a 2nd hand Oppo! They can be got quite cheap – check eBay…

    You can order the Guess Who SACD (and other SACDs) at a good (better than most) price from ImportCDs. That is where I’m buying my Audio Fidelity surround SACDs from.

    The multichannel SACDs from Audio Fidelity that have been done to date have been excellent!

    Buy the SACD!!!!

    • oxforddickie March 7, 2015 at 13:32 #

      What needs to be remembered is that many are more than happy with what DTS & DD gives them, not everyone can appreciate, or afford, anything about those systems, plus how often do second hand Oppos actually come up on the second hand market.

      The humble DVD player has almost completely replaced the CD player in most homes, you can watch films on it and there’s the benefit of quad/surround music. It’s pretty much a do it all machine for a majority of people out there. Whereas SACD is, and will always be, a minority product. And coming from someone who was fully behind SACD when it was launched is saying something.

      I have two elderly Denon SACD players, would love to upgrade them but it’s too expensive to get anything better than them.

      • bigheadrascal March 7, 2015 at 21:03 #

        It would be interesting to see a survey of the blog as to what we’re listening on. High end, “mid” range”, or something more basic.

        • oxforddickie March 7, 2015 at 21:11 #

          Perhaps another poll on which of the sound streams members use would be best as peoples view of what is High End and what isn’t can vary quite a bit. Will give it some thought.

  4. daveede March 4, 2015 at 22:29 #

    I’m in SF, CA. I see universal players (plays SACD and DVD-A) with 5.1 analog out (and digital coax and optical) at thrift stores for less than $20 rather frequently, usually sans remote. Got my Oppo for $5, and the company sent me a remote for $8. If you want a future proof way to play multi-channel audio, get a receiver that has individual analog inputs for 5 or 7.1. You can get one of those for less than $100, depending on your audiophile-like needs. My Rotel was closer to $200.

    • Owen Smith March 5, 2015 at 00:21 #

      Indeed, non HDMI and non Blu Ray stuff has recently become quite cheap on the second hand market, as lots of people dump it in favour of HDMI capable gear.

    • Owen Smith March 5, 2015 at 00:23 #

      As well as my Oppo 95, in my loft I have an Arcam DV137 which does multi channel SACD (but not SACD-R) and DVD-A, including HDMI. But it doesn’t do Blu Ray, so it’s second hand value is perhaps 10% of the new cost and simply not worth selling.

      • daveede March 7, 2015 at 17:26 #

        I wonder how long it’ll be til 5.1 FLAC is the medium for the surround message? I’ve been thinking about getting a second-hand universal Blu-Ray player, because there are a couple of titles I’d like to get, like the XTC Drums and Wires re-issue, and a Luigi Nono recording – but I don’t there’s not enough recordings out there to warrant it.

      • Owen Smith March 7, 2015 at 21:17 #

        My Oppo 95 plays 5.1 FLACs, I have some Linn test files and the Mike Oldfield new mix of Tubular Bells in 5.1 FLAC (don’t bother with the new Tubular Bells, he’s thrown the baby out with the bath water). Unfortunately the Oppo 95 doesn’t do gapless playback of FLACs (or any other file format), you get an enforced gap of silence between tracks which makes it useless for some music eg. live concerts, Pink Floyd albums and many others. The Oppo 105D latest model still doesn’t do gapless playback properly.

        For stereo FLACs I use my SqueezeBox, it does gapless playback and transcoding of multiple input formates seamlessly. It’s fantastic except for being discontinued as a product and only handling stereo. A 5.1 SqueezeBox would be ideal.

  5. farfig March 2, 2015 at 18:57 #

    I’m patting myself on the back here (LOL)…I had the foresight years ago to buy a multi player (SACD & DVD-A) strictly as a dedicated surround player. When I began to realize that surround may be slowing down or dying, I purchased a second unit as an eventual backup – in case the industry stops making them altogether….

    My original player is a Yamaha, my backup is an Oppo 95….

    I would hate to think that someday my investment in at least a hundred surround discs would not be playable….. not to mention dozens of others made from non-commercial sources (such as from here).

    My only regret is that neither plays Blu ray………

    • Owen Smith March 2, 2015 at 19:29 #

      The Oppo 95 plays blu rays, I have one. And the 95 is quite a high end player, what on earth is your Yamaha if you consider the 95 a backup?

      • farfig March 2, 2015 at 22:05 #

        I should have gotten off my arse to make sure, but the Oppo is the 980H – it doesn’t play Blu Ray. The Oppo is my primary player now, the Yamaha is my backup.

        LOL…I wish it were the Oppo 95…..but out of my price range……

  6. SteveTuznik March 2, 2015 at 06:53 #

    Truly enjoyed the Guess Who again after all these years! The reels have been carefully stored for anticipating hearing it again somehow, someday. The entire album sounds amazing again and brings back pleasant memories. Hearing the acoustic guitars, bass lines and harmonies of “No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature”, sent shivers down my spine. Thank you CB for this one!

    Looking back at the relatively short history of Dreaming-Spires, I have seen nothing short of careful decision-making and complete respect for the multichannel medium and the marketplace here. The thoughtful processes and dedication to doing what is right is so readily apparent in the mission from this group’s leadership and its loyal contributors and followers. So for that reason, there is this impassioned discussion here on this thread.

    The Captain is right; this small group of 207 members won’t make much difference in the SACD sales, and many here seem to be on board with purchasing it regardless. I’m afraid that even if every member here bought ten, it wouldn’t change what is happening in the current audio landscape. I see numerous articles pronouncing surround music dead once again as the 5.1 surround titles of SACD, DVD-A, Blu-Rays, DTS, ebb slowly away for a variety of reasons. That is obvious with the diminishing releases and out-of-print titles. The second wave is looking very similar to the 1st quadraphonic rise and fall of the 70’s and 80’s.

    What is so different in today’s age is that younger people are so distracted with everything. They’re not exactly like the music lovers like we once were, and still are, at least not to the same degree. The Captain and I have shared discussions and observations on that subject.

    I see my sons ages 20, 18, 13, and 11 all play guitar and violin, listen to headphones and play music from MP3’s while gaming, in the car or on the school bus., so they also seem to be multi-tasking. When I try to get any of them to actually sit down and listen to great music on a wonderful sound system, they can’t seem to make the time, or have the desire. They are just too busy with all the modern day distractions, computer games, smart-phones, etc. I’m afraid that finding a group of friends that will sit around and playing albums just for music’s sake is steadily becoming a lost art. Hence one reason that record lps, cassettes, reels, and now even cd’s are disappearing and will fall by the way of the downloads, such as what is happening with movies and television as well. There are no record and cd stores of any kind around unless I visit a college town that is re-selling used music media.
    At least there is still Amazon and e-Bay—for now.

    Last evening I pulled out six large boxes with lp’s and reminisced with my wife I had stored away for decades. I even found several quadraphonic albums that I forgot I had and hardly touched, some even unopened. But later when my boys came in the room, my 13 year old son Lars said he recognized the artist on the first (stereo) album in the front. He actually recognized the cover with Joan Jett’s picture and said he knows her and the song “Bad Reputation”. But when he picked up the album itself and asked “what is this?” my wife and my jaws hit the floor, and then laughed and shook our heads.

    Wow….. If that doesn’t make you feel older than dirt!

    I’ve only been a part of this group for two short months, but I really grown to love this blog because I have found a niche group of like-minded music lovers that I can actually relate to which I didn’t have before, and share the magic with that could otherwise disappear and not be heard. Although I certainly don’t possess the technical expertise of Oxford, Beyond, Smith, Mr.Sacd and others, or contribute in all the tech-speak that I don’t understand, I certainly do appreciate all of you greatly, or we wouldn’t even be here. All I can do is help like all the other members do by sharing thoughts, donations, titles, and especially the love for the music which is really why I think we’re all here.

  7. gregtanner March 1, 2015 at 03:35 #

    Mine’s discontinued now but here are all the spec’s…

    http://www.sony.com.au/product/bdp-s380

  8. Glen S. Fleetwood February 28, 2015 at 20:21 #

    My mistake as usual, the best of The Best of the Guess Who, above is the same as the SACD release. The SACD is 4.0.

  9. gregtanner February 28, 2015 at 16:22 #

    Yeah the BD player i have is a Sony… parts made in Japan and assembled in China… it’s great ! Only cost me $180 ( AUD ) but that was two years ago… they’re even cheaper now though…

    • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 18:25 #

      I think it would be nice to know some of the model numbers so that we can see if any of them are available in the UK/Europe

      • admsh February 28, 2015 at 20:10 #

        SACD is Sony’s baby and my understanding was most of their BD players also play SACDs. It’s a bit tricky for some reason, I searched Amazon UK for models that play SACDs and it’s hard to find details on the site. I do see quite a few good players for under £100. Here’s one such example:

        http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pioneer-BDP-170-K-Blu-ray-Player-Wi-Fi-Black/dp/B00KFZWNQE

        Seems like everything across the pond costs twice as much as we pay here in the US. Which is outrageous…

        • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 20:20 #

          I’s always been like that, welcome to ‘Rip Off Britain’

          • sacdtodvda March 1, 2015 at 09:40 #

            Think that’s bad, try the prices here in Australia!

    • Glen S. Fleetwood February 28, 2015 at 20:23 #

      No, they are cheaper because all lower cost current models do mot play SACD. SONY HAS DUMPED THE FORMST, IT IS DEAD.

  10. romanotrax February 28, 2015 at 16:01 #

    I really didn’t comment about the format or anything. Just the timing of this release with that of the SACD.

    • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 16:12 #

      True, but the fact it’s SACD moved it on, and hey there’s nowt wrong with a good old conversation that most have a view on…

    • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 16:18 #

      .. and the timing was a little coincidental….

  11. gregtanner February 28, 2015 at 15:50 #

    I don’t know about other countries, but i’m in Australia and 90% of the Blu-Ray players here can play SACD too… i have one… it can play all formats ( DVD-A, DVD-V, DTS, DD, BD and SACD) , and it wasn’t expensive… don’t really know why people here are saying they don’t have the abilty to play SACDs…

    • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 15:53 #

      I suspect that here in the UK we aren’t seeing those models

      • Glen S. Fleetwood February 28, 2015 at 20:26 #

        I suspect there may be a linguistic mismstch between (1) the models currently in service, where many\most play SACD, and (2) the models currently in stock for sale, which do not.

    • Owen Smith February 28, 2015 at 16:03 #

      Not the case in the UK at all. Over 99% of Blu Ray players here can play CD, DVD-V (DTS and DD) and Blu Ray only. I get the impression that in Aus you get a lot of chinese imports in the mass market that we never see.

  12. Lonky 1 February 28, 2015 at 13:55 #

    I agre with you OD , although I have a sad player, it is certainly a niche market.
    Thanks for this release CB, contains some great songs from my younger days.

  13. bigheadrascal February 28, 2015 at 12:09 #

    One of my fave bands from the late ’60 to early 70’s!

  14. Glen S. Fleetwood February 28, 2015 at 07:14 #

    I believe the SACD is the first greatest hits ending with American
    woman? Does it have hang on to your…? Albert Flasher was my fav, saw them many times, they were totally different live, very more rock\heavy/ The Paramount catches the real guess who, although a terrible show.

  15. sailorpaul February 28, 2015 at 04:49 #

    I haven’t heard this in surround since I was 18 and had the Q8 playing in my 66 Mustang. That was 40 years ago. I loved “Hang On To Your Life…Life… life…life

    • captainbeyond55 February 28, 2015 at 23:02 #

      your life… life… life… life… Heck yeah. So glad the music could rekindle an old memory that you hold dear. That is always my intention and goal with each and every CB title released. I rode shotgun many a mile in a ’67 canary yellow notch back with a black vinyl roof. Zoom….!

  16. romanotrax February 28, 2015 at 02:17 #

    Hmmm not sure this was the best idea to release this one now.

    • Owen Smith February 28, 2015 at 12:38 #

      Why not? What happened? (I honestly have no idea).

      • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 13:51 #

        Because it is being officially released on SACD in America. There appears to be no plan for a release in the UK/Europe plus releasing it on SACD limits its potential market. They would sell a lot more if it were released worldwide on DVD-A/V like the Universal releases.

        If company’s want to be taken seriously they should look at the market place and see what’s happening.

        • admsh February 28, 2015 at 14:22 #

          I have to disagree. I love this blog and all the work you and CB are doing to preserve these amazing mixes, most of which would otherwise not see the light of day ever again. It’s almost sacred.

          This is the second title in a row that you are releasing here for free, as it is being released officially on SACD. Is not agreeing with the format really a cause to spit in AF’s face? Their choice to start releasing multi channel mixes should be celebrated in our community, certainly supported to the fullest extent we can.

          Anyone who owns a DVDA player can play SACDs these days, certainly anyone who cares about sound quality. And where there’s internet there’s usually a post office around, too.

          • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 14:43 #

            I was asked a while ago if i would change to releasing on SACD-R. My answer is NO, because of the extremely limited number of people who can play them compared to a DVD-A/V. My hats off to Universal for realizing that if they want to sell their releases you have to aim it at the largest number of people that can play it.

            I can promise you one thing, in the discussions CB and i had regarding these two releases, not once did either of us saying anything like your inferring to. There was a plan put in place and if you look it has already (partly) taken place.

            I would celebrate the releases and list them on the blog, but as they are SACD and limited to the USA they do not fit into what i see as a well thought out attempt to bring ‘surround sound’ music to the attention of the general public, more a specialized release for the minority.

            These are my views, i cannot speak for the Captain.

          • captainbeyond55 February 28, 2015 at 22:42 #

            Spitting in Audio Fidelity’s face….!! I can honestly say that such an act was never my intention. The timing of these last two CB releases was just a quirk of coincidence. Did consider shelving or delaying their posting. I salute the official release from AF and will support their effort via purchase. I am sure their quality will surpass anything the Captains bathtub gin could put a cork in. Their catalog and upcoming releases look very appealing and exciting.The audio community as a whole could benefit from supporting any official release we can. Due to geographic location or lack of hardware one is unable to enjoy the release format that is unfortunate. Deju vu. The format wars has again prevented any chance on a true universal formats success. I also believe that even if all the members on this blog made a purchase it would not even be a drop in the bucket on AF’s bottom line. Sales would need to exceed more than a few hundred to realize any profit. Will multi-channel music ever go commercial mainstream to the masses? Me thinks not but of course I have been wrong many times before. I speak only for myself. Your mileage may vary and no refunds.:)

            • oxforddickie March 1, 2015 at 11:01 #

              Firstly i must state i wasn’t spitting in anyone’s face, just so that clears up any thoughts by anyone out there. I am firmly behind any attempt to return the quadraphonic versions of albums to the market place for the general public to enjoy.

              Secondly i think the format war is long over with no real winner, both formats have remained in the shadows with it’s followers occasionally releasing new material. But with we quad releasers using the more versatile DVD-A/V format for our releases, it showed that the format still had much to commend it and it has slowly grown in use due to the fact it can be played by anyone with a DVD player.

              And personally i think this could be the one reason why Blu-Ray Audio fails, it doesn’t really improve on what we have. Agaimj you have to remember the majority of the general public that are more than happy with DVD and see no real reason to ‘upgrade’. I heard this being said by a salesman in a shop last week.

              • admsh March 1, 2015 at 13:11 #

                That was a bit harsh guys, I’m sorry. I was holding it inside since the Bread release. I have no doubt no one meant to spit in anyone’s face, and I am thankful and appreciate all the work you do on this blog to no end.

                Regarding the format wars — we are all going down I’m afraid. Physical media is toast, DVD, SACD and BD alike. People are streaming their media or downloading high-res files at the very best. The concept of listening to an album is also on its way out. We are an endangered species through and through.

            • Owen Smith March 1, 2015 at 12:34 #

              I asked my parents if they’d like a Blu Ray player for christmas (I don’t like buying stuff they might not want), and they said “no thanks, take us out for dinner instead”. They have a DVD-V player (an old but good one), it plays audio and video, they see no need for anything better.

              • oxforddickie March 1, 2015 at 12:52 #

                Yea, Gill updated her TV this week and i joked about getting a Blu-Ray player and she asked why she needed one, i couldn’t give her a reason. The DVD player gets the most use when she’s baby sitting playing kids DVD’s.

              • Owen Smith March 1, 2015 at 14:02 #

                My reason for getting Blu Ray is that the picture quality is quite a lot better than DVD, but the improvement in sound quality is out of this world. It’s difficult to get DVDs with DTS sound so you’re usually stuck with DD5.1, whereas on Blu Ray almost everything disc comes with lossless sound. To anyone with a decent sound system the difference is incredible, as we know from our DVD-As. Alas most people care even less about audio quality than picture quality, and many TVs or compact home cinema sound systems are barely good enougn to hear the difference anyway.

        • bigheadrascal February 28, 2015 at 15:06 #

          I live in the US and will most likely never be able to afford a unit that will play SACD or SACD-R, a Cadillac, or a cowboy ranch. I’m midway through my first listen to the release presented here and feel nothing but appreciation. With many thanks to Steve, CB, and OD. Keep on keepin’ onI

      • Owen Smith February 28, 2015 at 14:22 #

        Sadly SACD is doing better in the marketplace than DVD-A. I think the industry sees surround as a) a niche market and b) a straight contest between SACD multi channel and DVD-A MLP. I think some companies have completely failed to understand that with all the home cinema systems out there now, if they sell a DVD-A/V the multichannel audio market is much bigger because of all the people that can play the DVD-V layer in DTS or (shudder) DD. Heck if they sold Blu Rays with surround music on, the addressable market is a lot larger than SACD though probably a quarter to half the size of the DVD-A/V market. The old argument in favour of SACD was a hybrid disc is playable in a CD player, but as Universal have shown it’s cheap enough to put out a 2 disc set including a CD. On top of that a DVD-A/V allows the inclusion of video clips, it’s a much more flexible format. It confuses the hell out of me how SACD got ahead of DVD-A/V in the market.

        And only released in the US? (and Canada presumably, or cross border sales are easy enough anyway). Why?

        • admsh February 28, 2015 at 15:02 #

          Firstly, I’m honestly surprised to hear that there are folks out there with a surround sound system that is incapable of playing SACDs. Seems strange to spend money on such a system but have a player that’s limited to one format when 90% of players on the market can play all of them.

          Whether or not you like the SACD format, in the end of the day we are here to listen to the music, no? Finally it’s coming out of the vaults and made available to us in wonderful quality. By putting it up here for free — the same week it’s being released — we are definitely not convincing anyone to try harder.

          And that it’s being released in the US, this is a relatively small company putting these titles out and they probably don’t have the ability to officially release titles all over the world.

          Half of my purchases come from Europe — the Genesis SACD boxes for example, or more recently the Rick Wakeman deluxe releases. No doubt, it’s annoying when titles are not available here, but thank the lord and lady we have post in the US, and any title can make its way across the atlantic relatively quickly. We don’t have brick and mortar music stores here in New York City any longer, opening amazon.co.uk instead of amazon.com every once in a while doesn’t make a difference to me. I’m thankful for no longer be living in a time where I’d have to fly 7 hours to scavenge around Camden Market for old records, frankly.

          • oxforddickie February 28, 2015 at 15:29 #

            I’d say a large majority of people who use the blog don’t have any ability to play SACD’s. They really are a niche product, and if they are a small company then i would have thought they’d have done a little more research unless the person behind the company is a confirmed SACD user.

          • Owen Smith February 28, 2015 at 15:41 #

            Audiophiles buying £500 and upwards players from Oppo or Pioneer or the like that play everything are a tiny minority, fractions of tenths of a percent. The mass market is people with a £50 to £150 DVD (a few years ago) or blu ray (now) player from Sony or Panasonic. These pay CD, DVD-V and Blu Ray but neither DVD-A or SACD. There were a small number of low end models that played DVD-A (it’s reallt not hard if it can play DVD-V) but that’s dried up too. The mass market for surround is on DVD-V, this reaches the widest possible market and using DTS this sounds pretty good.

            This blog is am interesting case. We are a self selecting group of audio enthusiast so you would expect us to have far better equipment than the average household. Yet even here the last time OD did a poll, only half were listening to the DVD-A MLP tracks with the other half using DTS (majority) or DD (large enough minority eg. in cars to keep supplying it).

            Yes there are cheap chinese players that play everything, as sacdtodvda has posted about severel times. That requires research and taking a bit of risk. Most people just buy this month’s cheap Sony or Panasonic from Amazon or own brand player in Tesco or other supermarket.

          • Owen Smith February 28, 2015 at 15:48 #

            The problem with US only releases is it tends to cost a fortune to import them to the UK. If they’re on amazon.com it’s not so bad, we only get hit for import duty. But if they’re on specialist sites like Acoustic Sounds which only sell direct, we get absolutely hammered because these sites almost universally insist on using tracked and insured carriers which across the Atlantic costs a fortune. To add insult to injury they put the total price including the postage on the package, so we get charged import duty on the postage as well as the goods (I am not importing postage).

            As an example of this, the SACD 5.1 mix of Wish You Were Here cost me just over £45 by the time I paid all of these costs for US import. For a disc that should cost a third of that. Never again am I paying that much.

        • Glen S. Fleetwood February 28, 2015 at 20:34 #

          I was greatly disappointed when Crime of the Century was offered on Blu-ray in stereo, only.

  17. zaphod2359 February 28, 2015 at 00:19 #

    I just got the SACD with the quad mix and it’s great! Hoping for more of their albums in the future.

  18. bigtoad73 February 28, 2015 at 00:16 #

    Thank you gentlemen!! I am sure this will be most excellent.

Leave a Reply

