Bread – The Best Of

21 Feb

Bread - The Best of Bread CB039 frontWithdrawn – Now Available Commercially On SACD

We have The Best of Bread sourced from a Q4 provided by member Steve Tuznik. This was a 1973 release from Elektra records. Sure wish it included ‘Guitar Man’.  CB

Release: CB039

Source: Q4

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

 

12 Responses to “Bread – The Best Of”

  1. Owen Smith March 8, 2015 at 15:04 #

    Well I’m glad I didn’t buy the official SACD (especially at import to the UK prices) because this is a complete non entity. The Q4 transfer is fine, but the music just leaves me feeling “is that it?”. There’s just nothing to it, like a limp sandwich for lunch it leaves no impression.

    I see this has been withdrawn due to the official release, I can understand that. We don’t want to upset the record companies. There was talk of another recent release being out om SACD now, has that also been withdrawn? I forget which it was.

    • oxforddickie March 8, 2015 at 16:03 #

      Glad you reminded me, forgot with all the issues. Ta

  2. gleeksmirt7 February 23, 2015 at 02:55 #

    I really enjoyed this! Thank you VERY much for this one! My older cousins had this L.P. back in the 70’s and at parties they would play side one of this then ALWAYS move on to something else, ignoring side two. A few years later my older brother bought the 8-track tape version and I was blown away at the song “Mother Freedom”. I had no idea Bread could make such a rocking tune. Later on I bought all their albums. This sure brings back some sweet memories for me. 🙂

  3. prefabfan February 22, 2015 at 19:09 #

    Btw, Bread got famous so fast that I called David Gates because his phone number was still listed in the phone book, he living in Hidden Hills, the extremely expensive community the Kardashians lived in.

    • stevetuznik February 23, 2015 at 17:41 #

      That’s a funny fact. I hope you kept his number! 🙂

  4. prefabfan February 22, 2015 at 19:07 #

    To add to your listening pleasure, Everything I Own is about David Gates hearing his father had passed away

    • stevetuznik February 23, 2015 at 17:40 #

      Thanks for that reminder Prefabfan. The song is so heartfelt full of both love and sadness and is a gem. His father must have passed at a fairly young age then.

  5. stevetuznik February 22, 2015 at 18:52 #

    I haven’t hear this album in many years and it sounds terrific! Bread is very responsible for the the term “soft rock” at the time. Many girls I knew at the time swooned over this groups sounds of love and romance, and back then when everybody played radios, it was difficult to go through a day and not hear one of their 13 Billboard Top 100 songs playing.

    They also released another greatest hits volume 2 that did have more great songs like “Sweet Surrender, Aubrey, Yours for Life, and O.D.’s revered Guitar Man. Unfortunately Volume 2 was not released as 4-channel I’m certain.

    The separation on all the numbers on this album is superb, but the envelopment of the harmonies on “It Don’t Matter to Me” was particularly gratifying.
    Bravo Captain Beyond–and Thank You!!

    The lead singer David Gates is one of the few members still with us and is now 74 years young. If interested, here’s a short medley of three of his hits more recently played in 2002 and ends with Guitar Man.

  6. joeerand February 22, 2015 at 05:58 #

    Thank you so much!

  7. lenikus February 21, 2015 at 03:10 #

    Thank you very much. I didn’t hear about this group, so its very appreciate.

  8. zaphod2359 February 21, 2015 at 00:23 #

    bravo! My SACD of the guess who’s greatest hits w/the quad version just came too. I may have to buy the bread SACD to compare to this-and to support more commercial quad releases!

    • Beechwoods (@Beechwoods_) February 21, 2015 at 10:12 #

      This sounds very good. I’ve not checked out Bread before, but it’s lovely. I’m not sure that I’d have enjoyed them in stereo as much as I am in quad – it’s a nice mix. I’ve seen the reel for this on eBay before, it’s nice to have a proper transfer of it now. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

