Chicago – VIII

13 Feb

Chicago - VIII DS468p front

Withdrawn due to pending reissue

And i still have the iron on transfer!

Allmusic

Release: DS468p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

6 Responses to “Chicago – VIII”

  1. Owen Smith March 14, 2015 at 14:01 #

    One of the best Chicago releases on the blog for me, I like this one. Probably because it’s a bit more rock in style. As someone else noted, the quad mix is pretty unadventurous. Perhaps they were getting bored by this album? Guitar rear right is the main thing I’ve heard, and Phoenix does a great job of ensuring it doesn’t bleed through into front right. Superb work for SQ, bodes well for Santana III.

  2. gleeksmirt7 February 18, 2015 at 00:51 #

    When I played the first song for the first time I thought the rears were nothing more than an out of phase mix of stereo L + R. They didn’t use much imagination in this quad mix did they?. It seems the only prominent thing in the rears on every song is piano and some lead guitar on the song “Oh Thank You Great Spirit”. Since that song was a tribute to Jimi Hendrix I had hoped there would be some cool things happening. I hope Chicago VII in quad is better than this. Great job as usual on the decode but I just wish they could have put more effort into the mix.

  3. joeerand February 15, 2015 at 19:46 #

    I’m pretty sure this is the same “Harry Truman” version that was a single…they didn’t usually do different radio mixes (although “Make Me Smile” from the 2nd album had an edited version for radio). Nice job, OD! The orchestra on track 2 sounds particularly nice. I compared it to the Q8 transfer I got from the web, but that one is too bright, bass too loud, and has tape flutter that is quite noticeable on the piano.

  4. cheezmo February 14, 2015 at 17:02 #

    One of the very first cassette tapes I ever owned (what I started music with). Great to hear it in a new way.

  5. bigheadrascal February 14, 2015 at 10:49 #

    I wasn’t a huge Chicago fan back in the day so this is a first listen. Fortunately tastes mellow (and hopefully improve?) with age. One of the most enjoyable Chicago releases I’ve heard. Very nicely mixed and Phoenix show it proudly. Just asking rhetorically unless someone cares to respond, but is the version of “Harry Truman” represented here a completely different version released to radio as a single?

  6. joeerand February 13, 2015 at 19:24 #

    Iron on transfer! :+) Thank you!

Leave a Reply

