Cat Stevens – Catch Bull At Four

7 Feb

Cat Stevens - Catch Bull At Four CB038 frontLink

Allmusic

Release: CB038

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

19 Responses to “Cat Stevens – Catch Bull At Four”

  1. Owen Smith February 21, 2015 at 14:28 #

    Much more Latin in style than I was expecting for Cat Stevens, I guess I haven’t understood his musical style yet. Pleasant enough but not the sort of music that does much for me. Not a great use of the quad mix as others have commented, it’s quite tame.

    Either the Q8 transfer had a lot of flutter in the first track or the piano was deliberately processed to judder up and down in pitch a lot. Does anyone know if it’s intentional on the master? Either way it’s not an effect I particularly like. Other than that and the usual tape hiss this is OK as a Q8 transfer, the frequency range sounds fine.

  2. Matt Eastwood February 15, 2015 at 05:21 #

    Thank you so much for making this possible, guys!!

  3. sailorpaul February 11, 2015 at 18:22 #

    I finally got a chance to give this a serious listen. The album itself is a long time favorite of mine. I really like an aggressive mix and I wish the mix here was more discreet. Granted, several of the cuts are not good candidates for an aggressive quad presentation because there simply is not that much instrumentation to go around. The surround effect is largely of the ambient type, and this is the rule even for the more layered tracks like Sitting, Can’t Keep It In, Angelsea, and Freezing Steel. I did find that increasing the rear channel levels did produce a more enveloping sound field, but again it was pretty much all ambience with few, if any discreet elements. I cant help but wonder how many potential buyers rejected quad reproduction back in the 70’s because they were led to believe that end products like this was the ultimate potential of the medium.

    I thought the fidelity was exceptional for a Q8 conversion, and I certainly do appreciate the effort that went into restoring a complete version and providing the transfer. And of course you simply cant beat the price. Once again, Thanks to all.involved.

  4. Lonky 1 February 11, 2015 at 15:48 #

    Thanks for the effort and explanation of this release very enjoyable

  5. captainbeyond55 February 10, 2015 at 01:01 #

    Hope you folks are enjoying this additional Cat Stevens title along the other Cat Stevens titles already available here on this blog. I did not offer OD any introduction for this release and in doing so failed to give credit where credit is due. This Q8 tape was made available via the generosity of rockyofpittsburgh and I thank him. Sadly the tape had a wrinkled spot which affected two songs and would have put this release on major hold. But as luck would have it I had this tape too however it also had a damaged spot. By editing these two damaged tapes together we get the result offered here. This is not the first CB release where it took two bad tapes to make one good one. CB017 Bobby Goldsboro CB031 Venus & Mars and CB033 Sinatra all took two bad tapes to get a final satisfactory result. Oh the things we do for our four ears. Above all else just enjoy the music.

    • stevetuznik February 12, 2015 at 21:45 #

      Just played the entire album and it was a pleasure for the ears. Other than Cat Stevens greatest Hits, I haven’t had much exposure to Yusef’s entire body of work, but have always wanted to. I can’t think of a better way than through the quad releases on this blog.

      Thanks to the Captain’s creative problem-solving talents, he used some Gestalt Psychology with “the sum of two parts is greater than the whole” in this case. Splendid troubleshooting abilities! The combined technical expertise by the people on this blog is astounding and impressive. The time and effort put into making any of the contributions whether by tapes or lp’s by OD and CB is not to be taken for granted, and is very much appreciated.

      ♫”Ohhhh I can’t keep it in, I just gotta let it out!”♫♥♥♫

      Thank you.

  6. birdycat19 February 8, 2015 at 04:25 #

    Fantastic! This has been a “holy grail” item for me for years. Not only is it hands down my favorite Cat Stevens album, it’s the only one that doesn’t appear to be just a “double stereo” quad release. Woot!

  7. bigheadrascal February 7, 2015 at 16:44 #

    Very nice indeed! Many thanks!

  8. sailorpaul February 7, 2015 at 05:25 #

    Thank you CB and OD. I’ve been waiting for some essential quad Cat for quite some time. I hope here is more to follow.

  9. lenikus February 7, 2015 at 02:07 #

    Thank you, great release!

  10. Owen Smith February 7, 2015 at 01:53 #

    I see no seed after a couple of hours. Public trackers have been failing again, I have DHT enabled at my end but does the Captain at his?

    • oxforddickie February 7, 2015 at 03:46 #

      As you say the trackers are dead but DHT is working ok

    • Owen Smith February 7, 2015 at 12:36 #

      It started to download after my 06:30am auto restart of uTorrent, so it may have been a uTorrent hiccup at my end. Which is precisely why I auto restart it daily.

    • captainbeyond55 February 7, 2015 at 14:46 #

      Yes DHT is enabled at my end however uTorrent does seem to be acting a bit screwy. I have also restarted it this morning.

  11. joeerand February 7, 2015 at 01:09 #

    Wow! Thank you CB, I’m eager to hear this! There’s a great variety of instrumentation between songs, so it could be interesting. Thanks OD for hosting these!

  12. tarkus2013 February 7, 2015 at 00:15 #

    THANK YOU – “Sitting” would be worth the price of admission!

    • jaypfunk February 9, 2015 at 20:06 #

      You are 100% correct. What a great song and this quad mix is really cool.

Leave a Reply

