Frank Sinatra – Some Nice Things i’ve Missed

12 Dec

Frank Sinatra - Some Nice Things I've Missed CB033 frontLink

Sourced from a Q8 provided by’ Lupineassassin’ is this mixed bag of songs from The Chairman himself. Another short release here clocking in at 28:11. Please don’t be put off by the CD-4 cover. The Q8 label was without photo so I used the LP cover instead. Enjoy. CB

Album info

Release: CB033

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Frank Sinatra – Some Nice Things i’ve Missed”

  1. Owen Smith March 28, 2015 at 17:52 #

    I’ve been passing over this one during listening sessions, finally the backlog pile has shrunk enough for me to try it. And I like it more than I expected, it’s good to be pleasantly surprised.

    It’s not my preferred style of music, but this is a first class example of the style and Sinatra is one of the acclaimed masters. The quad mix is very impressive for such laid back music, quite a bit of movement of instruments in different tracks and much more that I was expecting.

    I heard some wow and flutter near the start, but I didn’t particularly notice it anywhere else. Frequency response seems OK and hiss is fairly low, altogether quitea good Q8 I thought. The mains hum that comes and goes a bit is clearly in the band’s gear and part of the recording so not a concern here.

    • oxforddickie March 28, 2015 at 18:50 #

      I have this album in a very rare Matrix version (South American) as well as CD-4, will have to do a comparison one day

    • Owen Smith March 29, 2015 at 00:59 #

      What matrix is that? A standard one or some weird thing like that Soviet matrix?

      • oxforddickie March 29, 2015 at 09:56 #

        I’ve still yet to test it but as CD-4 appears to have failed to take any hold in the South American country’s, both SQ & QS had the field to themselves.

        It’s known that WEA were originally going to go with QS before they were blackmailed into choosing CD-4 (bad choice guys) so i’d guess it is QS. As far as A&M goes, they appear to have stuck with SQ, i’ve seen a copy of ‘Journey’ pressed in SQ.

  2. Matt Eastwood December 21, 2014 at 11:54 #

    Oh boy, another Sinatra to add to my collection! I LOVE you guys!

  3. Mats Lindgren December 17, 2014 at 19:22 #

    Thanks for this one. I once had the CD-4 album but CD-4 never worked out very good for me so this is actually the first chance to hear it in quad. Thanks once again!

  4. joeerand December 13, 2014 at 01:26 #

    Thanks so much CB and OD!

  5. johnpierogi December 12, 2014 at 19:49 #

    I’m too excited listening this that I want to share some thoughts on it. Several/most of the tracks offer a great sonic landscape. Sinatra’s voice is in all channels, but the rhythm section, brass sections and everything else is often well placed in the 4 channel mix.

    Gotta go my homework, but some of these tracks sound as if they might be different takes than those that appear on all other formats, especially the original LP. I’m more inclined towards the opinion that it’s the same takes, the quad mixing is in the best of the 1970’s quad tradition.

    Thanks again, CB.

    Finally, if any fellow fans and listeners have some thoughts on this one, I’d love to hear them.

    • captainbeyond55 December 22, 2014 at 19:05 #

      johnpierogi it is reactions such as yours that makes all the work worthwhile. Your excitement rubs off and I feel it too. About the music.. Frank really shines on ‘Sweet Caroline’ and ‘Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Tree’. Those swing arrangements really work for me. The only cut I could have dispensed with was ‘Bad, Bad Leroy Brown. That one just didn’t work. Thanks again for your enthusiastic response. So glad you enjoyed this release.

  6. ringadingbat December 12, 2014 at 13:26 #

    Thanks so much for the Sinatra!

  7. lupineassassin December 12, 2014 at 02:50 #

    Thank you! 😀

  8. johnpierogi December 12, 2014 at 00:58 #

    Incidenally, today, 12 December 2014, would have been his 99th birthday… but of course you KNOW that!

  9. johnpierogi December 12, 2014 at 00:51 #

    Thanks VERY much for this release, CB!

    For many years I have been wanting to hear the quad version of this album, and here it is! – at last. Wow! As far as I go, this is the best web site in the whole world tonight!

    I look forward to having a listen and sooner thereafter offering up some thoughts in order to promote a constructive discourse on this quad mix among the members of this forum.

    Thanks again, my friend!

  10. lenikus December 12, 2014 at 00:42 #

    Thank you, very appreciated!

Leave a Reply

