Quadraphonic Live show possibly to be cancelled

26 Nov

I’ve just received news that the Quadraphonic-Live show in Oxford on the 6th of December could possibly be cancelled. This is taken from the email:

Ticket sales have been truly dire, and, right now I’ll lose about £450 if I cancel, and about £1700 if I don’t. Also, a room of that size with about 10 people in will not lead to a great atmosphere I fear

15 Responses to “Quadraphonic Live show possibly to be cancelled”

  1. pvdmword November 28, 2014 at 09:37 #

    If I would live in the UK I would have come…..

  2. Mats Lindgren November 27, 2014 at 09:46 #

    Very sad. I was also looking for possibilities to come, but it would have cost me a lot to go from Sweden. I thought that I could make a visit to London as well but London is not that attractive in December I’m afraid.

    • oxforddickie November 27, 2014 at 09:55 #

      Hmm, your right, Hyde Park is best seen in the summer. Never liked London, always got a headache after visiting there.

  3. failedmuso November 26, 2014 at 13:36 #

    Whilst I am struggling to get to this event (other side of the country for me), I have spread the word as I think this needs to happen and would love to see more of them!

    • failedmuso November 27, 2014 at 22:57 #

      I’d just like to say that I shared this information, along with direct links to the Quadraphonic Live website, Facebook page and Twitter feed as well as the poster image, over at QQ in the hope that it might generate some more interest in this event and possibly contribute to enough tickets being sold to ensure it went ahead.

      However, this evening, I was called out by an anonymous contributor there for mentioning it and not giving due credit to the, and I quote, “well known blog” from whence I got this information.

      So, I’d like to offer my apologies to whomever that might be, and one assumes they frequent here, and reassure them that it was an oversight on my part and I was in no way attempting to pass anything off as my own. I merely wanted to promote this very cool idea to what I believe is a very appropriate audience in the hope that it might help.

      I am keeping my fingers crossed for next Saturday and hope that if it doesn’t come off, that those involved in the organisation of the event don’t lose heart and try again.

      • oxforddickie November 28, 2014 at 09:29 #

        Firstly i’ve made a minor edit to the original post.

        Well both Martin & myself thank you for attempting to further promote ‘Quadraphonic Live’ but unfortunately this morning i received a message from Martin that it is officially cancelled. He does say that he will look into the possibility of doing it sometime next year, again in Oxford.

        And thank you for the apologize even though i’m unaware of what has gone on over there, i must say a special thank you to whoever obviously stuck up for this blog. If you’d like to email me i’d like to thank you personally.

        That must have got some peoples goat LOL

        • failedmuso November 28, 2014 at 09:41 #

          It is unfortunate to hear that this event has been cancelled and one can only hope the people behind it can try again soon.

          I have to say that news of this event went down well over at QQ and every thing was positive. Sadly, the tone was tainted by the rather curt message I received.

          We’re all fans of the same thing and we should all be pulling together to support efforts like QL

          I look forward to news of further QL events and will do my utmost to promote and attend wherever possible 🙂

          • oxforddickie November 28, 2014 at 09:57 #

            I’ll be seeing him next weekend so will chat about the possibility of setting up another show in 2015.

            I had tried to get ‘Universal’ involved as they are releasing two old quad albums on DVD-A/V with MLP/DTS/DD streams soon, but the timing was wrong. Shame, but they are aware of it now and i’ll try to involve them should another show happen.

            • failedmuso November 28, 2014 at 12:10 #

              The more I think about it, the more I feel that making it exclusively about Quad might be a bit short-sighted and that more interest might be generated if it were to embrace all multi-channel audio formats. This way, it might attract not only enthusiasts, but also people looking to get into the scene as a whole, and giving them advice on getting into it, whether they want to go down the Quad path, or down the route of modern 5.1 formats such as DVD-A, SACD and Blu Ray Audio.

              Getting sponsorship from companies like Universal and even hardware retailers would be a great way of funding it too. It could cover hardware costs and they would benefit from being highly visible as a trusted advisor.

              Lots to think about and I’m happy to contribute where I can 🙂

  4. kilg0retr0ut November 26, 2014 at 12:21 #

    Very sad. I live in Belgium and checked for the possibility to come as soon as I read the announcement. Unfortunately the trip would have cost me too much for my currently rather empty purse, so I had to abandon the idea. I would have loved it, listening to some quad albums on a good system, surrounded (no pun intended) by quad aficionados. I was hoping it would meet great success so another venue might take place in the near future, when my purse will hopefully get better. Very sad, indeed.

  5. Owen Smith November 26, 2014 at 11:01 #

    It’s too close to my coming back from holiday for me to have gone. It’s a shame, but ticket sales that low don’t surprise me I’m afraid.

    • oxforddickie November 26, 2014 at 11:06 #

      Unfortunately it shows the general lack of enthusiasm in music in any form of surround by the general public. More from the email:

      I’ve pumped more into advertising this show than anything else I’ve put on in years and got almost no response. I suppose it goes to show you should promote what’s popular, not what you’re into

    • Owen Smith November 26, 2014 at 14:38 #

      And yet the Bowers and Wilkins ambisonic roadshow equipment is quite popular, it is being used for all sorts of events with genuine ambisonic sources.

      I think the dreaded word “quadraphonic” is box office death, it’s associated with the past and market failure to most people.

  6. Em² November 26, 2014 at 10:39 #

    Desperately sad. Wish I could get there.

  7. sacdtodvda November 26, 2014 at 10:19 #

    This is a real shame.

Leave a Reply

