The Royal Doulton Band – Clayhanger

21 Nov

The Royal Doulton Band - Clayhanger DS443f front

Who?

Release: DS443f

Source: QS LP

Process: QS/IIa

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

11 Responses to “The Royal Doulton Band – Clayhanger”

  1. Owen Smith November 23, 2014 at 13:09 #

    The band isn’t very good, a shame. I know this genre so well and have played about half of the tracks on here that I can’t enjoy the music, all I hear is the flaws. I spent half of my playing career in bands better than this. Intonation (tuning on a per note basis) is poor throughout, tonal balance is lacking and the band isn’t together half the time. It’s scratty as we would say Up North. And the Euphonium soloist isn’t a patch on a chap I played with for years called Leonard Wilkinson. Well at least this is bringing back memories.

    The quad is a bit strange. On the left side we’re clearly in the conductor’s position, the cornets are well into the rear speakers. But on the right we should therefore have the trombones to the rear and we don’t, except once or twice for effect. It’s like there’s no musicians to the conductor’s right.

    The acoustic is very dry, this sounds like it was recorded in the band’s rehearsal room (they’re usually cheap and nasty, I’ve played in plenty). The occasional bits of reverb sound out of place compared to the rest of the recording, so I think they’ve been added later in mixing.

    Wow, suddenly a half decent player. The soloist in track 8 is pretty good, sounds like a Flugel Horn. Which strangely appears to shift around the quad soundstage, but that’s not the soloist’s fault.

    • sacdtodvda November 27, 2014 at 11:52 #

      I grabbed this mainly because my wife and i collect certain Royal Doulton series ware and we occasionally visit a small town called Trentham in our part of the world.

      I do have two colleagues (they make up the entire corporate training team) who both play brass – one plays French horn, the other an instrument she told me is only played in brass bands (she might have called it a “band horn”?).

      What a shame these are not very good performances.

      • oxforddickie November 27, 2014 at 12:23 #

        I’m sorry this hasn’t gone down too well, will dig out another from another band

      • Owen Smith November 27, 2014 at 14:00 #

        Email me some band names, I know generally which bands are good. Anything by Black Dyke should be good, Grimethorpe are excellent too. Any others depend on date.

      • Owen Smith November 27, 2014 at 14:01 #

        “Band horn” is not a name I recognise in UK bands. Possibilities are Tenor Horn, Fugle Horn or Baritone if we’re looking for a similar sounding word.

  2. Owen Smith November 21, 2014 at 11:45 #

    I never thought I’d see a quad decode of Brass Band music. I played Eb Bass in several brass bands from the age of about 11 to 25, then after a break I switched to BBb Bass for a few years. This is where I started musically, in Skelmanthorpe Band, Hepworth Band and Scissett Youth Band for most of my teenage years plus others whose names I’ve forgotten. Then one day my brass teacher asked if I wanted to play Tuba in Kirklees Youth Orchestra, and that was one of the best things that ever happened to me musically.

    I was gutted when I went to university and couldn’t continue in Kirkless Youth Orchestra due to the time commitment. More recently the last place I played was City of Cambridge Brass Band but the banding scene is just not the same here in the south. Staffordshire where the Royal Doulton Band are from is much more a core brass banding region, along with Yorkshire, Lancashire and parts further north.

    • oxforddickie November 21, 2014 at 12:24 #

      Well i do try and keep the output varied, and as they say… ‘Never say Never’ LOL

      • g335 November 21, 2014 at 14:54 #

        And we are the lucky ones for your varied output OD! One of the things I really admire about coming here is the variety you bring. You’ve opened my ears up to all kinds of new sounds and I’ve very grateful for your efforts. Thanks for posting this Brass music by the way, appreciate it. 🙂

        • beukenoot November 23, 2014 at 21:54 #

          I agree with that! 😉

      • Owen Smith November 22, 2014 at 15:14 #

        The other instrument I played a lot in my teens was the recorder, in many sizes but mainly Sopranino, Treble and Bass since I could play with treble fingering which because the recorder is a non transposing instrument requires different fingering for the same written note compared to Descant and Tenor recorder. I played in a recorder consort playing what I now know was baroque original pieces, which for a Saturday morning music school in the late 1970s and early 1980s in Yorkshire was pretty special. I thought nothing of it then, but I now realise how lucky I was. It ended when the musical director Miss Wally emigrated to Portugal, and with no-one to take it on the recorder players were shoved onto the flute parts in the Orchestra. It was a terrible fit, I think I went for only one week. Recorders have a poor reputation as a children’s instrument, but we were fairly good and a number of children came to try out that just couldn’t play to the required standard.

        So, any recorder music in quad? The star player during the quad era is this chap, who died this year and BBC Radio 3’s Early Music Show feature last weekend:

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frans_Brüggen

Leave a Reply

