Quadraphonic Event

11 Nov

I realize most of you are outside of the UK but something like this in this day and age is not an everyday occurrence.

 

Quad poster

14 Responses to “Quadraphonic Event”

  1. rayc2 November 15, 2014 at 03:03 #

    Oh, the tyranny of distance. GOOD LUCK with it.

  2. Mats Lindgren November 12, 2014 at 16:41 #

    Oh how I wish I could be there. Maybe I can?

  3. daveede November 12, 2014 at 05:39 #

    If i may add, on Tuesday Nov 18th there will be a show of contemporary and classic quad, in San Francisco, CA @ the Center for New Music. Pieces performed will be Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Gesang der Jünglinge (“Song of the Youths”), from 1956, and Bhob Rainey/Chris Cooper’s – Axon Ladder (2014)

    http://centerfornewmusic.com/calendar/sfsoundsalonseries-quadraphonic-compositions-by-bhob-raineychris-cooper-karlheinz-stockhausen/

  4. trylucius November 12, 2014 at 05:25 #

    I am hopeful that there will be one or more reports about how this goes. I have actually made inquiries about conducting a similar event in Colorado USA. Would anyone who reads this be interested in such an event?

  5. failedmuso November 11, 2014 at 11:11 #

    This sounds like a really good evening. It’s just a shame that it’s in Oxford and a bit of a trek from Suffolk.

    I’m interested in how well this goes down and whether they’d do similar events around the country or whether they’d consider working with others in those locations to do something similar.

    Also, I imagine there has to be PRS/PPL licensing in place at the venue?

    • oxforddickie November 11, 2014 at 11:47 #

      I can say for certain all required licenses will be obtained

    • Glen S. Fleetwood November 14, 2014 at 19:48 #

      if you are walking. Over here, across the pawned, we call that a joyride. Now when I went to see Jan Akkermann at the Melkweig, from Agoura, California, that was a trip.

  6. tarkus2013 November 11, 2014 at 10:30 #

    Even though I am one of those in the States, I am pleased to hear of such an event. The 70s quad sounds marching forth – how nice!

  7. johnpierogi November 11, 2014 at 09:46 #

    WOW! I would *love* to attend this, and I would even trek to Oxford from Aberdeen to be there – but I already have a gig that day/night. Blah!

    I hope this event is a success and that there will be more to come in the not-so-distant future.

    Hmmm… I wonder if I could liaise with someone (or a group of interested parties) to plan (co-produce?) an event like this in Scotland: Edinburgh or (more likely) Glasgow? It would be not-for-profit, a labour of love, as it were. I have an “in” with a decent venue for such an event in Aberdeen, but Aberdeen is hardly a central location.

    I’m thinking early summer 2015 maybe, and it would be contingent upon the success of the Oxford event. If anyone’s interested, we should start a new thread on it or get some PM action going. I’m swamped with work through the holidays just now, so frankly I’d need to postpone any further discussion until early 2015. But please give it some thought.

  8. sacdtodvda November 11, 2014 at 09:22 #

    How fantastic!

  9. Owen Smith November 11, 2014 at 09:16 #

    Now if it was in Cambridge rather than Oxford I’d be going. But it’s quite a trek across to Oxford since the direct railway line closed decades ago (moves are afoot, at last, to potentially re-open it).

    • oxforddickie November 11, 2014 at 09:29 #

      Yes but Martin is a friend of mine and he’s based in Oxford, but you never know what could happen if it’s a success. This is very much an experiment for him.

    • Owen Smith November 11, 2014 at 14:04 #

      I hope if goes well for Martin.

      Is he playing legacy quad formats and hardware, or using modern conversions? For example Dark Side Of The Moon is going to sound much better from the Immersion Blu Ray.

      • oxforddickie November 11, 2014 at 15:32 #

        I’m not sure what is planned at the moment, i’ll be able to fill in with more details once i’ve talked with him.

Leave a Reply

