Stomu Yamash’ta – Red Buddha

10 Nov

Stomu Yamash'ta - Red Buddha DS440p front

Album info

Release: DS440p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

8 Responses to “Stomu Yamash’ta – Red Buddha”

  1. Owen Smith November 16, 2014 at 19:02 #

    Interesting. Some of this I enjoyed, some I didn’t, but it’s definitely different. Also I feel any of the processes prior to Phoenix would not have done this justice, because so many of the instruments are placed in a single speaker and as often the rears as the fronts which would have leaked into the fronts previously.

    There are some sounds I thought were meant to be a mobile phone breaking through into the speakers. But of course given when this was recorded it can’t have been the intention.

  2. krompac November 14, 2014 at 21:15 #

    You can check it out on youtube, as I find time I hear it it seems to be interesting.

  3. bigheadrascal November 14, 2014 at 06:01 #

    Somehow this makes me think of Morton Subotnick’s “Touch”.

  4. quadro2013 November 10, 2014 at 20:36 #

    Fantastic! Can’t believe it.

    I first listened to Stomu Yamashta albums Go Too and Live. Never had the idea, that there is a quad recording around.

    Your collection ist really awesome!

    Thank you a 1000 times!!

    • oxforddickie November 10, 2014 at 20:43 #

      i thought people knew how he started, this is totally percussive album, i’m suspecting it may come as a bit of a shock to some.

  5. mtairyradio November 10, 2014 at 16:11 #

    Stomu Yamashta, one of my faves from back inna day! Really accessible fusion, not like some of the Kraut Rock my friends inflicted on me…

  6. joeerand November 10, 2014 at 16:03 #

    Thank you for this freebie. I’m really looking forward to hearing this. The Vanguard label didn’t release many quads, but they’re interesting titles, and usually well-recorded.

Leave a Reply

