Art Garfunkel – Breakaway

7 Nov

Art Garfunkel - Breakaway DS439p front

Album info

Release: DS439p

Source: SQ LP

Process: ‘Phoenix’

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

13 Responses to “Art Garfunkel – Breakaway”

  1. stevetuznik February 12, 2015 at 21:14 #

    I was delighted to find this album here on this blog not long ago! I like all of Art’s efforts, but this one is the true masterpiece—every number so very listenable. I played it many times back in high school, and every person I shared it with back then had to go out and buy their own!

    Love, just LOVE it even more in quadraphonic. The clarity and separation is superb. Not only that but the fact that OD basically eliminates distortion, pops, ticks, or any surface noise, especially on the quietest moments on the lp is masterful.

    This is truly a romantic album. and anyone wanting to woo their significant other this Valentines day, or any day for that matter will reap rewards after playing this one together. My wife and I have been married 24 years now, but when Art sings we’re still dating.

  2. Owen Smith November 15, 2014 at 15:02 #

    By far the best of the Garfunkel solo albums as others have said. Great orchestration, there are some very nice string sections. The quad mix is beautiful and well separated by Phoenix. I liked this so much I listened to it twice,

  3. Len Costello November 10, 2014 at 20:35 #

    Wow!!!! This is great!!!

  4. cheezmo November 10, 2014 at 15:40 #

    Track list on back cover image shows 11 tracks but I only see 10 MLP tracks?

    • cheezmo November 10, 2014 at 15:42 #

      Never mind, see last track name split over two lines.

  5. bigheadrascal November 9, 2014 at 00:26 #

    I have a decode to DTS-CD of “Breakaway”. I’d shuffle through my discs to find it and make a comparison to the Phoenix decode, but let’s face it. The DTS-CD will end up in the trash bin. Glad to have this proper rendering.

  6. Lonky 1 November 8, 2014 at 18:24 #

    This album is one of my guilty pleasures. It’s lush romanticism and it’s beautifully orchestrated production along with Garfunkel’s best solo performances, are a must listen.
    The surround mix often places you often right in the middle of this well produced classic
    filling the soundstage with strings, vocals,keyboards and percussion.
    A treat, thank you

  7. Len Costello November 7, 2014 at 22:44 #

    Can’t wait to hear it…can someone please seed?

    • oxforddickie November 8, 2014 at 10:51 #

      Sorry, had a major outage here, service now back to normal

    • Owen Smith November 8, 2014 at 12:27 #

      I was seeding (still am), but to find the seeds we are reliant on the one tracker at OD’s place. The plan is to have two once I’ve got FTTC broadband, which is why there are two tracker addresses. But at the moment my bandwidth probably couldn’t stand it so both trackers resolve to the same address. Maybe I should experiment and find out what the network load of the tracker is, it might be less than I think.

  8. beukenoot November 7, 2014 at 18:22 #

    hmm.. you’re making me poor with all those new albums 😉

    • oxforddickie November 8, 2014 at 10:50 #

      I’m sorry, i realize that many would have problems but it’s the only way i can figure of keeping the blog alive

  9. zaphod2359 November 7, 2014 at 12:02 #

    What a treat! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

