Paul McCartney & Wings – Band On The Run

11 Oct

Paul McCartney & Wings - Band On The Run CB030 frontLink

This is the 2nd in a series from Captain Beyond of solo Beatles titles released on Q8. This particular title, considered by some to be the high point of Sir Paul’s career, was only offered in quadraphonic mix on Q8 cartridge.

‘Helen Wheels’ was originally only available on the US release. This Q8 graciously provided by ‘rockyofpittsburgh’. Enjoy CB

Album info

Release: CB030

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

35 Responses to “Paul McCartney & Wings – Band On The Run”

  1. records633 December 13, 2016 at 01:11 #

    Wow, been wanting to hear the real Quad mix for many a year, I had a Q8 of this and when I was a Broadcaster lent it to a guy who was going to make a DTS CD for me, never happened and the many Q8 tapes I had that point vanished when he quietly left our studio one day, well that was almost 20 years ago and now, well WOW, ive heard a LOT of converted Q8 carts but this Shines, and as a album ive heard quite a bit this Quad mix rocks, its totally not what I imagined. The degree of separation brings many “new’ Details I never knew Existed, Thanks CB-OD very very nice work

  2. John February 20, 2016 at 00:34 #

    Oh really nice. My DTD loses the first bars of the title song – but this quad doesn’t. I love the way these transfers really use all 4 speakers – and this one is no exception. Love the placement of various sounds in the rears throughout. Singing voice is where it needs to be – not recessed as in some of the others I’ve listened to. Haven’t listened to this album much recently – but where it is good it is great. The climax of the 1985 really crashes in! Great stuff…

  3. Chris D October 12, 2015 at 18:20 #

    Very much enjoyed this Quad release. A bit like hearing it again for the first time. Thanks!

  4. Owen Smith November 17, 2014 at 22:07 #

    I’ve finally managed to compare this to the second issue DTS CD (intro intact).

    Firstly, this is a fantastic Q8 transfer by the Captain, there’s virtually no hint that it’s from Q8 at all. No tape hiss, no wow and flutter, nothing. It might be just a tad warm, but that’s all. Superb job, if only all Q8s sounded this good.

    The DTS CD holds up well. The warmth of the Q8 is gone, but maybe it wasn’t supposed to be there in the first place. It’s a close run thing, and it may come down to personal preference in the end. But I think the Q8 transfer is slightly better, it sounds just a fraction clearer and more detailed. But it’s so close. If it weren’t such a good Q8 I suspect the DTS CD would win. Not the result I was expecting, but that’s the point of doing comparisons.

    Mix wise this is good quad stuff, plenty going on in all speakers and well thought out. I’d agree with others that say this is probably McCartney’s best post Beatles album.

  5. qrx9001 October 26, 2014 at 01:50 #

    I didn’t like McCartney’s work post-Beatles, and I thought several of the tracks were overplayed on the radio. But listening to the quad mix and the wonderful separation and creative use of all four channels brought a real appreciation to these chestnuts. I truly enjoyed listening to this album. Thank you.

  6. erikdali1 October 17, 2014 at 21:24 #

    Thank You. I like to read the research done in the comments section in regards to the different quad releases. Keep up the great work.

  7. rayshackleford October 15, 2014 at 03:01 #

    My cat rewired my speakers for me the other night. Looks like I found the reason to get under the desk and start pulling wires…

  8. donimo1 October 13, 2014 at 23:35 #

    Thanks for this, some great stuff, enjoyed the listen.

  9. twrock October 12, 2014 at 20:16 #

    Thank you. This is much better than the DTS CD. Is Venus and Mars planned for the future?

    • captainbeyond55 October 14, 2014 at 16:28 #

      The Captain shakes the old 8-Ball, flipping it over looking for an answer. The reply on the icosahedron inside an 8-Ball says “Signs point to yes”.

    • Owen Smith November 17, 2014 at 22:09 #

      Interesting you found this much better than the DTS CD. I found it to be very close when I compared them.

  10. kilg0retr0ut October 12, 2014 at 15:24 #

    Thank you very much for this. The sound is really very good (for a Q8).

  11. Len Costello October 12, 2014 at 04:18 #

    Thank You!!! Would love a conversion of Venus and Mars from the Quad 8

  12. lonky53 October 12, 2014 at 00:03 #

    Thanks so much for this. A very active surround mix much like the DTS version of Venus And Mars that I own. That disc, for some reason,also does not play the first few notes.Odd.
    I think that part of the lead McCartney vocal during the beginning of Jet are somehow missing and/or low in the mix. A nice listening experience overall, again thank you

    • Owen Smith November 17, 2014 at 21:59 #

      The low vocals at the start of Jet are the same on the DTS CD, so I’d say it’s in the mix.

  13. sumo5763 October 11, 2014 at 12:50 #

    looking forward to this thank you very much, is there any similar version of Venus and Mars around?

    • captainbeyond55 October 11, 2014 at 19:43 #

      Yes the quadraphonic mix of ‘Venus And Mars’ was originally released in the US by Capitol on Q8 cartridge Q8W-11419 and again on compact disc using the DTS format.

    • birdycat19 October 12, 2014 at 00:12 #

      I have the DTS V&M (supposedly a clone of the Q8, which I’ve never seen) and it’s a real piece of work….sonically it doesn’t hold a candle to the excellent BOTR quad, but even worse is the song order is all askew compared to the original LP:

      01. Venus and Mars (01:18)
      02. Rock Show (05:33)
      03. Letting Go (04:37)
      04. You Gave Me the Answer (02:13)
      05. Love in a Song (03:04)
      06. Magneto and Titanium Man (03:15)
      07. Venus and Mars (Reprise) (02:08)
      08. Spirits of Ancient Egypt (03:05)
      09. Call Me Back Again (04:54)
      10. Crossroads (01:01)
      11. Medicine Jar (03:26)
      12. Listen to What the Man Said (03:33)
      13. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People (04:51)

  14. lenikus October 11, 2014 at 00:58 #

    Thank you very much!!

  15. Owen Smith October 11, 2014 at 00:49 #

    Is this the same mix as the official DTS CD release? I have the CD.

    • captainbeyond55 October 11, 2014 at 01:45 #

      According to what I have read on the net yes the Q8 master mix was used for the DTS CD release. Also the 1st release on a purple label was missing the first three notes from the intro. A 2nd release on a yellow label had the missing notes restored. I have no first hand knowledge concerning the DTS CD. Only reporting what I have read during research for this project. Perhaps since you have the CD you can give us the lowdown on what you may discover when comparing it with this Q8 transfer.

      • rockyofpittsburgh October 15, 2014 at 04:17 #

        The Captain wrote:
        >the 1st release on a purple label was missing the first three notes from the intro<

        I have the purple label DTS-CD, and I can confirm that.

        • birdycat19 October 15, 2014 at 06:13 #

          Same here 😦

          • atq October 14, 2015 at 16:28 #

            And same for me 😦

    • Owen Smith October 11, 2014 at 12:25 #

      I’ll see if I can do a comparison to the DTS CD, but I’m away from home this weekend so I don’t know when I’ll get time.

      • iaasheim October 11, 2014 at 16:13 #

        I have a copy of what is supposed to be the DTS-CD, probably the 1st issue as part of the intro is missing.
        I’m not quite sure about the origin of the files or how they have been ripped, I “found” them as flac files.
        On my equipment (with my old ears) the Q8 transfer sounds clearer compared with my DTS version.
        It’s a great album. Thanks.

        • captainbeyond55 October 11, 2014 at 18:58 #

          Thanks for the comparison and yes I think it is a great album too as reported from my old ears. Well to be fair my young ears also thought it was a great record.

      • birdycat19 October 12, 2014 at 00:06 #

        Same here…

  16. quadrophiliac October 11, 2014 at 00:23 #

    Another one of my favorite albums from the 70s. Really looking forward to hearing this in four channels! Thank you Rocky, CB and OD

  17. lupineassassin October 11, 2014 at 00:11 #

    Another winner! Thanks. 😀

  18. jaypfunk October 11, 2014 at 00:09 #

    Thanks CB and OD!! QUAD FOR LIFE!!!

    • cheezmo October 11, 2014 at 01:00 #

      Is this the same mix that is on the dts CD (after removing the nonsense center channel on the dts CD that is)?

      • Glen S. Fleetwood October 11, 2014 at 07:12 #

        //////////I almost my foot in it, saying if we have the dts disc no reason to download…DUH. Lossless!!! vs, lossy HAPPY MAN!!! Love Bluebird in quad. btw, there was a quad four track.

    • Owen Smith October 11, 2014 at 01:23 #

      Easiest way is to disconnect the Centre speaker, but tell your amp you still have one.

      • rayshackleford October 15, 2014 at 06:23 #

        My cat managed to do that for me, so I’ve saved that step at least.

Leave a Reply

