Beck, Bogert & Appice – Live

29 Aug

Beck, Bogert & Appice - Live DS414f front

I’ve finally decided to release this, but with reservations. I’m sure you all have a view on whether this is quad……

Album info

Release: DS414f

Source: SQ? CD

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

5 Responses to “Beck, Bogert & Appice – Live”

  1. Owen Smith September 8, 2014 at 21:34 #

    Not a very active quad mix, hence I suspect the uncertainty on whether this is quad. If it is then it’s mostly live ambience. I don’t have the experience to say.

    What I can say is that the music leaves me cold except for some of the guitar playing. The drum solos in particular are endless and tedious in the extreme, does this man only have two drums? It sounds like he doesn’t own any cymbals either. Give me a Roger Taylor drum solo any day compared to this dreariness.

    I so wanted to like this, but it just didn’t happen for me.

  2. bigheadrascal August 30, 2014 at 02:33 #

    Not sure why you were hesitant to release this. My old ears tell me it’s quad. Artistically, maybe back in the day and with a good buzz on it would have artistic appeal. These guys were no threat to Led Zeppelin…but who was?

    • bigheadrascal August 30, 2014 at 03:29 #

      PS… that’s not to say I’m not enjoying the hell outa this. these guys are excellent musicians!

  3. jaypfunk August 29, 2014 at 16:02 #

    Wow!! Very cool So, I am assuming that this is from the Japan 2 disc set? I have owned this for 20 years and never new it was an SQ CD. Can you give us some more details? Looking FWD to blasting this over the weekend. Carmine is my all time favorite drummer and drumming influence.

    • oxforddickie August 29, 2014 at 16:19 #

      Please look at the posting again and then i’ll leave it up to you to decide.

Leave a Reply

