A message and a grateful thanks or two

11 Aug

As you may have gathered i’m back, but not quite as i left.

Firstly, many thanks for Captain Beyond for filling in the weeks release slots with his releases, i hope you all enjoyed them, but i notice a slight lack of comments, so come on, he spent a lot of time on getting them ready.

There were a few things that really narked me during the weeks leading up to my time off, and i want to answer one of those things here and now. And it’s to do with the donations.

There appears to be a general feeling that i’m making a small fortune out of these donations. Well I’M NOT! if those individuals would care to try to run this blog exactly as it is now for a month AT YOUR OWN EXPENSE, let me know!!!

So, where i do start, firstly the reason i turned the blog this way should be well known by now, but for those who don’t know, it costs money to run the computers and other equipment used to do all that is necessary to created these releases. There are two computers that run 24 hours a day plus another that runs maybe 4 or 5 a day. They run on electricity, which is bloody expensive.

Plus there’s maintenance, i’ve had a spate of failures over the time, and there’s no way i can afford to repair/replace these items. Then there’s the record cleaning liquid, etc etc. All of this needs paying for. And, if there’s anything left over, it’s put into the ‘buying media’ pot. Although i have a reasonable quad collection, i most certainly don’t have everything, so when there’s enough in the kitty i go buying albums i don’t have, using the requests page as a rough guide, but also my own list of rare titles or ‘possible quad’ titles.

Oh, and PayPal turned the account into a business account and take their cut of every donation.

Staying on the theme of rare and possible quad titles i’d like to say a big thank you to Artis.F for the deep investigative work he has done on digging up some titles that fitted into the ‘possibly quad’ list. All of this happened in the weeks running up to my week off, and i decided to take the plunge and sourced most of the titles. Although one or two arrived just before i stopped, the rest were here upon my return, and after a few quick tests it looks as though we have some nice rare and previously unlisted quad albums from the start, and end, of the quadraphonic period.

Again, these had to be paid for!!!!!

Right, off my soap box

 

23 Responses to “A message and a grateful thanks or two”

  1. Matt Eastwood August 14, 2014 at 21:32 #

    Welcome back, OD! Can’t wait to hear more from you 🙂

  2. quadrophiliac August 14, 2014 at 17:12 #

    Welcome back OD. I hope you are fully recharged and ready to take on whatever challenges come your way.I am extremely thankful for the quad mixes you have preserved.

  3. philbiker August 13, 2014 at 01:59 #

    Thanks for bringing life into these old mixes that would otherwise be lost forever. I don’t consider the donation amount excessive at all, and as you know from my last communication I exceed it almost every time. I know you do this largely as a labor of love but I also know the time invested is not minimal. I do needle drops of vinyl in my home and I know what I put into these; I can only imagine the additional work you do. Thanks again. My only wish is for more timely communication of the updated freebie location, but that’s a very small nit. I can wait.

    • oxforddickie August 13, 2014 at 08:57 #

      As you may know i don’t like discussing the ‘Freebie’ folder publicly, but everyone entitled access had the folder information on the 1st July. You’d best email me with all the address’s you use as this address you use isn’t recognized

  4. fathomie August 12, 2014 at 22:58 #

    Dickie, your work is much appreciated, as is the other contributors. I really don’t think a nominal donation is going to break anyone’s bank, and if people think the small amount you ask is too much, I would suggest trying to buy up and rip the albums themselves. It’s not just the cost of the maintenance it’s also the expertise. I’ve tried ripping Stereo LP’s never mind Quad, and my efforts are, well, pathetic. Doing it right is an art.

    Some of these releases are as rare as hens teeth, you won’t find them anywhere else ripped to Quad Digital, making this site unique.

    I am happy to carry on donating when new albums come up that I want, and my funds are limited. However, the small fee you ask really isn’t causing any hardship….

    • oxforddickie August 13, 2014 at 08:46 #

      Well, there are many who feel i’m ripping people off, making a fortune, etc. Now i know one person who was making a fortune out of my releases, he was (and may well still be) selling them at $30 a title. Ok that was in New Zealand, but the internet makes it such a small world.

      Your right, transferring LP’s is a bit of an art as is decoding the various matrix systems. I’m always looking at possible ways of making some money out of my work on creating these decoding process’s, but it’s such a specialized market, but i’m ‘working’ one one possible option, time will tell.

  5. beukenoot August 12, 2014 at 19:24 #

    Hi Owen. I agree with you concerning PP. However, you can send money to family or friends. With that option, the costs can be surpassed.. Or having a few accounts, one on your dog’s name etc..

    Then within this few accounts you can shift money using the friends/family option..

    Another possible donation option is managing a wish/wantlist and then members can look and do an acquisition.

    About appreciating this blog: of course! I try to listen as much as possible music from here, only not everything is what i like. Well that is normal…

    Question: can you decode CD4? I have found that there is vinyl record from Henry Mancini – Symphonic Soul in CD4. On discogs prices vary from 10-25 USD.

    But maybe you got it already.

    • oxforddickie August 13, 2014 at 08:39 #

      Not sure about the wish/want donation list, and yes i can do CD-4, but i’m not ready to start releasing at the moment, a few more modifications i want to do to my JVC 4DD-5 demodulator. Once they’re all done……

  6. Jack S August 12, 2014 at 10:33 #

    Thank you, Dickie, for re-introducing me to the world of Quad many years ago in the old blog! I owe a debt of more than gratitude. I have a couple dozen commercial open-reel tapes that have been preserved these past 40 years that I would like to ship to you at some point. They will be a payment in kind, if you are interested.

  7. rayc2 August 12, 2014 at 09:23 #

    I think regulars should view the two quid as the minimum donation and work from there. Minimum does imply that I pay what you believe the service is worth in terms of what I can afford. I can afford differing amounts at different times. I value the service.

  8. Len Costello August 12, 2014 at 03:37 #

    You do fine work and it is much appreciated. Those who do not understand , never will…but those who do will always support what you do. Welcome back.

  9. zaphod2359 August 12, 2014 at 02:02 #

    Ditto to all the other comments,I’m not sure whether I enjoy hearing the Quad mixes or discovering new music more…OK I guess it’s the Quad mixes,but only by a hair.How much of a cut does Paypal take from 2 pounds?I’d at LEAST want to make that up.Anytime your media fund needs a boost,I’d be happy to do what I can,as I’m sure others would.Just give the word,especially if you come across something too good to pass up!
    Anyway thanks again for sharing!You are enriching many people’s lives by doing so!

    • oxforddickie August 12, 2014 at 05:11 #

      PayPal’s business ‘fee’ for donations is 14%. I’m glad that the blog is allowing people the opportunity to enjoy these, mostly, lost mixes. A lot of time and money was spent by the companies in pushing quad, and as i’ve found out very recently some of the quad mix masters have been lost, so projects like this are the only way they can be heard. Record companies!!!!

    • Owen Smith August 12, 2014 at 10:18 #

      I thought it was more complex than just a 14% cut. I thought there was a fixed fee plus percentage when I checked the figures. I donate a little for the Freebies, but I bundle them up and donate for several together to reduce the impact of the fixed fee. Being in the UK I have the advantage of no currency conversions.

      • oxforddickie August 12, 2014 at 10:27 #

        Your right but i could find the page on the site so i worked it out from the amount deducted from a donation, which ended up exactly at 14% for a £2 donation.

  10. Owen Smith August 11, 2014 at 21:47 #

    To put costs into context, about a year ago I supplied OD with CD rips of four Maurice André albums to decode. I bought the original LPs second hand to prove they were SQ encoded (they are labelled as such) and to get the much better LP artwork to scan. Then I bought a second hand CD that turned out not to have the correct tracks on it. I already had a two CD compilation with 3 and a bit of the albums on it, but wanted the fourth album. Finally I found it on a newly issued 13 CD retrospective Maurice André boxset.

    All told I spent about £50 on this exercise, which I consider money well spent since I got quad decodes of music I truly love out of it, plus a nice 13 CD boxset. And I used a double CD I already had, and ripped the CDs with equipment I already own which one day will wear out and need replacing. Then there’s the electricity this equipment uses, and the monthly broadband internet bill.

    Now consider if OD could have afforded that £50 above. He’s on long term disability benefit from the UK government, which just about allows you to live (maybe) but with no money left over for anything optional beyond food and a place to live. How is OD to pay the costs of running the blog? The UK government aren’t going to pay for it as an extra in his benefits.

    • oxforddickie August 11, 2014 at 21:52 #

      Thanks, you put it perfectly, i need say no more

  11. trylucius August 11, 2014 at 21:41 #

    Dear OD & CB,

    Firstly I want to apologize for not making more nice comments about the work you do. This is not because I do not appreciate your work, but because I often will not comment if I have nothing to add which has not been said by others. Perhaps this is a mistake. I make an effort to listen to everything I get here, although some titles take months to get to. And I for one have been balls-to-the-wall this summer and have had only a dozen days to access the sweet spot at all.

    So to be clear, thank you both so much for the efforts you put in!

    I do not begrudge the donations, and I usually kick in more than the minimum (hint hint). I have not made any donations this summer as I have not been in town to manage the downloads. As I get settled in here later this month I will come back on-line more consistently. Meanwhile, I would just like to encourage you to continue. The task should not be thankless, and I am sorry if I have not been vocal enough about that.

    Glad you had some time off! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

  12. quadro2013 August 11, 2014 at 20:51 #

    Dear O.D.,

    your blog is one of my most visited websites. In the summer time in general and especially at the moment, I’m not able to listen closely to all recordings, cause I’ve not much time. I listen to music in the cold and dark time of the year.

    Of cause I can understand, that running this blog is not cheap and the bills must be paid. For me – and I can only spark for myself – it’s no problem to increase the minimum donation.

    The worst thing for me would be the shutdown of your blog – I’m always surprised of the wide range of music you offer to your members. And of cause I enjoy the fantastic quad experience.

    For the future all the best to you!

    quadro2013

  13. rockyofpittsburgh August 11, 2014 at 20:22 #

    Welcome back, OD! I hope you had a nice rest. Your time and expenses are much appreciated.
    Is there any alternative to PayPal? – or can you correct them about your being a business? They also charge a fee for converting currency.

    • oxforddickie August 11, 2014 at 20:41 #

      Had an enjoyable time thanks, was interesting having almost no music to listen too, gave the ears a rest, so to speak.

      Sorry, there’s no alternative to PayPal, and there’s no chance of returning the account to standard, they did it then told me a few days later. They are a law unto themselves.

    • Owen Smith August 11, 2014 at 21:32 #

      PayPal are a highly immoral organisation. They squirm and wriggle to avoid being classified as a bank, so that they can avoid the stiff regulations that apply to banks. Those regulations were put in place for a reason, and they should apply to thieving dictatorial scumbags like PayPal.

      I’ve been wanting to say that somewhere for ages, OD gave me a pretext.

  14. qrx9001 August 11, 2014 at 16:00 #

    The selections Captain Beyond made available were wonderful. I, for one, have not been able to listen to them yet because of other commitments–and I wish vacation was one of them. Years ago I was aware of some but not all of these releases, but they were hard to find. It’s a thrill to hear familiar songs and recordings in quad mixes because they reveal so much more vocalization and instrumentation that was buried in stereo mixes. I have not been able to access the Skydrive freebies because my link has not been updated; but as far as the donation versions go, I think that is perfectly fair. There are several of those releases I would like to hear, and I will gladly donate to support the efforts you go through to make these quad treasures available and the costs involved. Like you, I just need to find the time. In all cases, the pleasure of hearing surround sound is worth it.

Leave a Reply

