Seals & Crofts – I’ll Play For You

28 Jul

Seals & Crofts - I'll Play For You CB023 front

‘I’ll Play For You’ was Seals & Crofts seventh studio album. The title track and ‘Castles in the Sand’ as I recall got radio play upon original release. I very much enjoy the mandolin picking in ‘Freaks Fret’. Plus ‘Golden Rainbow’ and the story about ‘Wayland the Rabbit’ satisfied my listening pleasure. Upon original release this was offered in three quadraphonic formats. Q4 reel, CD-4 record and Q8 tape. This transfer was made from a Q8 tape provided by lupineassassin. Enjoy CB

Release: CB023

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

12 Responses to “Seals & Crofts – I’ll Play For You”

  1. T Bradley February 26, 2016 at 23:35 #

    No available seeds February 2016?

    • Owen Smith February 27, 2016 at 01:31 #

      I’m seeding, and note there’s a separate section for re-seed requests.

      • T Bradley February 27, 2016 at 08:35 #

        I’ve since discovered the re-seeds request area. Sorry for my mistaken use of the wrong space and thanks for letting me know about both things.

  2. prefabfan August 12, 2014 at 05:36 #

    Again, very charitable but minimal fidelity and some wow and flutter. Thanks though.

    • Owen Smith August 12, 2014 at 10:06 #

      You have to make allowances for the source material. Q8 is a better format than cassette tape, but it’s not much better. I didn’t notice any wow and flutter, though that is a Q8 gremlin. Personally I thought this transfer was quite good except it had a bit more tape hiss than some of the others.

  3. Owen Smith August 9, 2014 at 15:48 #

    I enjoyed this, a good rock sound with a bit of pop thrown in. Nice mix, some good use of quad. The Q8 transfer is pretty good, a bit more tape hiss than some and the usual Q8 slightly limited high frequency reponse but I didn’t hear any other gremlins. Another good transfer.

  4. birdycat19 August 1, 2014 at 05:34 #

    Just beautiful. A wonderful mix and a great conversion from the Master 🙂

  5. lenikus July 28, 2014 at 13:56 #

    Thank you! Great artists and great disc.

  6. matsarnelindgren July 28, 2014 at 10:02 #

    Thank you you!

  7. tarkus2013 July 28, 2014 at 01:38 #

    Thank you very much!

  8. birdycat19 July 28, 2014 at 01:28 #

    Thanks! I have a conversion of DIAMOND GIRL (don’t know the source) that sounds very nice. This should make for some enjoyable evening listening tonight…

  9. lupineassassin July 28, 2014 at 01:09 #

    Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

