Alice Coltrane – World Galaxy

19 Jul

Album info

Release: DS142f-2

Source: QS  CD

Process: QS/IIa

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

11 Responses to “Alice Coltrane – World Galaxy”

  1. Owen Smith August 3, 2014 at 13:05 #

    Looks like I’m the first to comment on the musical content here, which is odd given it’s been out a couple of weeks.

    Well, I find this deeply weird. I’m not sure what it is trying to be, it’s not jazz or any other musical genre I recognise. It’s just – pointless I’m afraid. There might have been ten bars in the entire thing of musical merit. This is one I half ignored while it was playing so I could do something useful, ie. idly browsing the web.

    I cannot comment on the surround content or decode, I just wasn’t paying enough attention except to say there is something on the rears.

  2. daveede July 19, 2014 at 19:00 #

    Alice Coltrane is great. Looking forward to this one, which I haven’t listened to in quad, or stereo. Thanks, OD!!

  3. g335 July 19, 2014 at 15:41 #

    Glancing at the info teamster provided below, this looks to be a very intriguing jazz release. Thanks for providing it OD, appreciate it! 🙂

  4. admsh July 19, 2014 at 12:43 #

    I’m not seeing this in the freebies folder… Was it removed?

    • admsh July 19, 2014 at 12:53 #

      Sorry, found it, dated May 2014 so it was at the end of the list.

  5. Owen Smith July 19, 2014 at 02:24 #

    There are four peers but no download action. Has Virgin reset your modem again?

    • oxforddickie July 19, 2014 at 06:02 #

      Not this time, have one person connected whose almost completed. I see you but you aren’t connected. will restart Tixati

      • oxforddickie July 19, 2014 at 06:13 #

        It looks as though 3 people have downloaded it, and are seeding. I see you, but as i said your not connecting, in fact you keep switching from encrypted to unencrypted. I see one other person who shoes he’s unencrypted, there’s nobody else

      • Owen Smith July 19, 2014 at 12:10 #

        I have unencrypted disabled, so if I keep switching to it that’s a bug in uTorrent. I think my server may need a restart, it’s been up for several weeks. Also it was trying to download all night but is only on 21%, definitely time for a reboot.

      • Owen Smith July 19, 2014 at 13:08 #

        That’s working a lot better now after a reboot. I don’t know whether it’s uTorrent or Windows Home Server V1 which gets confused, I just reboot the entire machine.

  6. teamster March 14, 2012 at 07:02 #

    Thanks OD!!! If anyone is interested, here are the salient credits.
    Alice Coltrane (piano, organ, harp, perc, all arrangements, and co-producer), Frank Lowe (sax, perc), LeRoy Jenkins (violin on A Love Supreme), Reggie Workman (bass), Ben Riley (drums), Elayne Jones (tympani), and string section. The voice on tracks 4 & 5 is that of Swami Satchidananda.
    Recorded Nov 15-16 1971 at Record Plant, NYC and mixed at Village Recorder in Los Angeles. Cover and design by Peter Max.

Leave a Reply

