Original Soundtrack – Howards End

18 Jul
Howards End DS60f-2 sm

Album info

Release: DS60f-2

Source: UHJ CD

Process: UHJ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

 

15 Responses to “Original Soundtrack – Howards End”

  1. Owen Smith July 27, 2014 at 15:32 #

    A bit of a disappointment this one. The ambisonics isn’t working as well here as it has for most of the other UHJ releases, at least for me. It’s all a bit diffuse and hard to place any instrument.

    Musically I don’t like how much this jumps around, it starts to play something I like and then switches to something else. I wish it would play the complete work. I’ve never been a great fan of soundtracks which are compilations (compared to written specifically for the film) and so it proves here.

    Oh well, you can’t win them all.

  2. bigheadrascal July 26, 2014 at 04:02 #

    Having only heard a couple of UHJ decodes, I’m not sure quite what to make of it. What it seems to lack in discreteness, it does seem to make up for with presence.

    • Owen Smith July 26, 2014 at 10:19 #

      It took me about half a dozen UHJ albums before I started to hear them properly. I think it takes time for the brain to figure out how to decode the phase relationships. Also I change my listening position slighty, I have to recline my sofa more.

      Now that I can hear them properly, instruments can be located very precisely at positions unrelated to where the speakers are. That’s what Ambisonics does using phase relationships. It is dependent on your speaker placement however.

  3. forthosewithfourears July 25, 2014 at 18:07 #

    Thanks for this OD. I’m a bit of a sucker for soundtracks generally, and enjoyed this one immensely. Surprising amount of rear channel info for an orchestral recording. Sounds great.

  4. crispin14 July 24, 2014 at 23:19 #

    Richard, you are doing wonderful things with UHJ decodes. This production is brilliant, lush music with surround sound to match, and all very coherent. There is full surround here, and, it may be my imagination, but I hear some instruments positioned toward the middle of the room.
    Thank you for another great UHJ experience.

  5. OxfordDickie August 31, 2011 at 09:06 #

    I have to manually remove the phase issue, which is basically based on the front channels and is aroud 30/35 degrees, but oddly enough, varies from album to album, or as one album (which hasn't been released) from track to track.

    This was a compilation album, and i believe shows there are problems.

    Yes, i agree, i think if CBS had continued things may be a little different now

  6. Disclord August 31, 2011 at 02:04 #

    That's so interesting because all the UHJ boosters would disregard my comments about decoded UHJ sounding phasey by telling me that the decoders removed the phase errors. I have a couple of articles from the 80's that even state that. But, I knew what I was hearing.

    The software you are using to decode UHJ is doing something right though because this decode sounds fantastic. I didn't notice any of the usual UHJ problems – just a superb soundfield.

    I have a DTS CD made from a B-Format (3 channel) Ghent Microphone Universal SQ encoded recording and it sounds a lot like this one in terms of natural imaging and the overall soundfield. It's a shame CBS abandoned quad before more Ghent USQ recordings could be made.

    I look forward to hearing more of your UHJ conversions. I think NxNW will be next.

  7. OxfordDickie August 30, 2011 at 20:18 #

    I spent some time looking into the phase issues left over from the decoding. During my research i found that none of the hardware decoders, nor any of the software ones, even attempted to correct the issue.

    I use the standard 4 channel format, with no shelf filters. I will be returning to more UHJ releases in the future once i've finished off testing and inproved method of converting the UHJ signal to B-Format. Bitrates used were the standard ones.

  8. Disclord August 30, 2011 at 20:06 #

    This is beautiful. Not only do I love this film but the music is fantastic. I can't believe I'm saying this but the surround mix sounds great too with none of the irritating phase errors that I associate with 2-channel UHJ, decoded or not. It makes me wish the soundtracks to “Maurice” and “Remains Of The Day” were available in UHJ too.

    What type & shape of “G-Format” speaker lay-out did you decode/encode this for? (I ask out of curiosity and because, for some reason, neither my Blu-ray player nor DVD-Audio player show the # of channels encoded or the bitrates used for the DTS and AC-3 on your DVD's) Does the PC UHJ decoder use shelf-filters for the lower frequencies or are those not part of Ambisonic decoding anymore? (I seem to recall Michael Gerzon writing that, after more research, he found the shelf filters impaired correct psychoacoustic decoding – but I've never followed UHJ all that closely.)

  9. OxfordDickie February 25, 2011 at 05:36 #

    Thanks for the feedback

  10. nooders February 25, 2011 at 04:48 #

    Have a listen this has a nice very rich sound spectrum across all channels maintaining discreteness in the rear channels .
    Quite impressed thanks OD 🙂

  11. nooders February 23, 2011 at 14:53 #

    thanks OD – can't wait to listen to this UHJ decoded disc 🙂

  12. OxfordDickie February 22, 2011 at 20:38 #

    Thank you for the feedback

  13. Anonymous February 22, 2011 at 20:22 #

    It sounds really beautifully. THX Frank

  14. floydophile February 22, 2011 at 07:46 #

    Congrats! I almost thought it is about your 60th birthday, but then I realized it is just your release no. 60. 😉

Leave a Reply

