The Eric Burdon Band – Sun Secrets

12 Jul

The Eric Burdon Basnd - Sun Secrets CB021 frontLink

Burdon did not want this material out. The tapes of these sessions were signed to Capitol and released without his permission and referred to as “rehearsal tapes” by the singer. Capitol, in their butcher mentality, released two different versions of this disc. A full-length commercial LP, and a ‘Radio Programming Aid’ which has edits of everything except for the 13-minute Burdon co-written ‘Letter From the Country Farm.’ Further research lead to an interesting interview of Eric where he relates telling John Lennon about a certain Jamaican girlfriend of his. Where upon John gave Eric the dubious nickname of Eggman. So now you know the Walrus was Paul and the Eggman was Eric. The original quadraphonic release was only available on a Q8 cartridge. This was sourced from a Canadian Q8 provided by fellow member rockyofpittsburgh and we thank him very much. We also thank you OD for posting this here on DSQA-II. Enjoy CB

Album info

Release: CB021

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

17 Responses to “The Eric Burdon Band – Sun Secrets”

  1. Owen Smith August 3, 2014 at 13:00 #

    This is excellent music, I have no idea what possessed Eric to not want this released. Good hard rocking sounds, and great guitar playing. A reasonable amount of surround but not excessive. This really rocked my morning music listening.

    As a Q8 transfer this is pretty good. No wow and flutter that I can detect, and the tape sounds in good condition. There is tape hiss and the usual slightly restricted frequency response, but it doesn’t detract much from the music. There is also some print through evident between a couple of tracks, which is more irritating to me than tape hiss, but that’s what’s on the tape.

    Thanks CB, another good transfer.

  2. quadrophiliac August 2, 2014 at 04:05 #

    Thank you for this one! Sun Secrets has been a favorite of mine since it was new so this will be a real treat for me. I played this one so much I wore out my first copy and had to buy it again. As much as I like it my wife does not and she asked me to turn it down when I was playing it on the home theater.

  3. Len Costello July 16, 2014 at 03:28 #

    Haven’t heard this in a long long time….very enjoyable listen, thank you for making it possible

  4. ultimatetrouble July 13, 2014 at 23:02 #

    Just now able to play this. This is real music, I can’t stress enough how all these quads sound superb. I love these older tunes, takes me back to a peaceful tranquil time. It helps my high blood pressure to listen to all this great music. Thanks to ALL the people involved with this site and reproducing the music it contains. I may not credit the right folks but all of you have some part in it some how. Thanks a million light years for ALL the efforts in keeping something special alive.

  5. Sandra Blum July 13, 2014 at 03:08 #

    There is a lot of good music here!!

  6. lonky53 July 13, 2014 at 00:33 #

    I found it a bit of a burden, pun intended, to get through Letter From The Country Farm but enjoyed the others, mostly , remakes. I agree with Sailorpaul about the ambient feel of the record

  7. joeerand July 12, 2014 at 19:17 #

    I love that voice. Thanks for making this available.

  8. sailorpaul July 12, 2014 at 17:18 #

    I sat down and had a listening session today and included this one for “warm-up” . I got caught up in it. Totally new to me, this release is great on several levels. First of all, the material is first rate and has an energy level that is hard to ignore. The fidelity is nothing special but definitely worthy. If you like rock you’re gonna play this loud, its that kinda album. The mix is at the top of my list as one of the best “ambient mix” surrounds I’ve heard. Don’t expect discrete placement or effects here. Play this disk to hear what a live band would sound like in an intimate setting, and that band just happens to have Eric Burdon in it. I can’t believe he was upset about having this released.

    • captainbeyond55 July 13, 2014 at 16:17 #

      This title was new to me too and I had the same experience you did sailorpaul. Your remark hit the nail square on the head or as our friends might say, spot on. Thanks for putting it into words.

    • ultimatetrouble July 13, 2014 at 23:12 #

      I agree. Why would he be upset? Its a great sound. but some artist are unique that way I guess. But none the less the fans got it anyways. 🙂 Great listening.

  9. quadro2013 July 12, 2014 at 14:56 #

    Never heard of this record. Curious.

    Were this one released after the “WAR”-time?

    • captainbeyond55 July 12, 2014 at 16:50 #

      quadro2013 yes this album is after Burdons time with War. His 1st release after War was ‘Guilty!’ with Jimmy Witherspoon released in December 1971. Then this ‘Sun Secrets’ released in December 1974. The band included Aalon Butler on guitar, Randy Rice on bass and Alvin Taylor on drums.

      • quadro2013 July 14, 2014 at 10:05 #

        Thank You!

  10. g335 July 12, 2014 at 14:35 #

    Thanks CB and OD, appreciate this post…looks intriguing. 🙂

  11. mickjerome July 12, 2014 at 08:48 #

    Waow great post!!Thank you so much.

  12. lenikus July 12, 2014 at 03:17 #

    Completely unknown band to me. Thank you very much to everyone who made this release possible!

  13. lupineassassin July 12, 2014 at 01:06 #

    Another neat post! Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

