Burton Cummings – Burton Cummings

9 Jul

Burton Cummings - Burton Cummings DS401f front

Album info

Release: DS401f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

 

26 Responses to “Burton Cummings – Burton Cummings”

  1. Owen Smith August 2, 2014 at 14:17 #

    Interesting, and difficult to classify. Part rock, part pop, part easy listening, part big band sound. But all good, great singing and good rythmic tunes all the way through. The last track “Ain’t seen nothing yet” is very different from the standard version.

    The quad mix is spacious but a bit unadventurous, there’s only modest amounts of stuff in the rears. But what’s there is effective.

    As to brightness and channel bleed as described by sailorpaul, I can’t detect either. My speaker layout does not suit critical listening, so I probably wouldn’t notice small amounts of channel bleed. But I do notice excessive brightness especially if it is in the front channels, and I don’t hear any with this.

  2. sailorpaul July 12, 2014 at 18:20 #

    So I got a chance to sit down and do a comparison of this release vs a Q8 release of the same title. Both DVD-A formats. I couldn’t do a true A/B comparison like I can with CD vs LP or CD vs SACD etc… due to only one DVD-A player in the system. So consider this a subjective view.

    I only did the first track since OD was interested in that comparison, but I plan to go back for more as time permits. In all, I played each version 4 times. I would gladly make a copy of the Q8 available to anyone who wants it provided you can explain to me how to go about it.

    The first issue is the difference in overall tonal balance. On first listen the SQ seems bright compared to the Q8. On repeated listening I believe some of this is just the result of the extended HF range from the SQ and the more limited range of the Q8. Still, the low end is much more robust and satisfying with the Q8, and the brightness of the SQ tends to wash out the midranges some, not something you wanna do with this material … lotta vocals, lotta piano. I have to give the fidelity crown to the Q8 here. If only we could combine the SQs extended HF range and the Q8s fullness…

    My impression of the mix favors the Q8 as well.

    With the SQ the vocals seem to come from everywhere and anywhere, with a sometimes noticeable bias toward the right side of the listening space. Very diffuse and sometimes I even got a “between the ears” effect you get with headphones. The Q8 sounds more like an up front vocal with reverb and ambiance coming from everywhere else. The backing vocals which are diffuse to a degree with both conversions are more firmly anchored toward the rear with the Q8.

    In both versions the guitar solo walks around the corners of the room. It is much more effective with the Q8. In fact the first version I played was the SQ and never even noticed it (being distracted trying to pin point the vocal directions maybe). When I played the Q8, it was pretty obvious and I then replayed the SQ for confirmation. Its there, just less noticeable,

    Piano with the SQ seemed directed to the sides and was diffuse. Occasionally a note or two would tend to take on a more defined location in the sound field. I have noticed this with piano on other SQ material as well. I didn’t hear it with the Q8 and overall the piano sounded more anchored to the sides. The same sonic description can be used for the overdubbed orchestration presentation as well.

    Overall while there is a good degree of diffuseness and channel bleed on the Q8, the SQ emphasizes it even more. YMMV. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • oxforddickie July 12, 2014 at 18:30 #

      Thanks for the nicelt detail comparison, interesting.

      You say the SQ version was brighter. In general, and not comparing it with the Q8, do you find the releases overly bright?

      • sailorpaul July 12, 2014 at 19:58 #

        OD: I think its hard to answer the brightness question in absolute terms. I don’t feel as if the top end is boosted. Your releases are always airy sounding and well extended without being etchy or sibilant. But there are times I wish I could reach for a Bass control and turn it up a few notches. Unfortunately I have no analog tone controls and I keep the signal all analog once it leaves the player.

        OS: I have no idea regarding the mix version. Others may know. You would think that the mixes should be tailored to the needs of the final medium, but I doubt that is the case. Its like pulling teeth just to get record companies to produce one surround mix now. i’m sure it was even worse in the 70’s

    • Owen Smith July 12, 2014 at 18:44 #

      Are we sure the Q8 and the SQ LP are the same mix? Also with SQ there is the issue of which encoder was used and whether the mix obeyed all the rules of things to avoid with SQ (unless a Londom Box was used).

    • Owen Smith July 12, 2014 at 18:46 #

      I should add, personally I don’t find OD’s LP releases too bright. I realise OD wasn’t asking me, but the more the merrier.

  3. bigheadrascal July 12, 2014 at 01:20 #

    Hadn’t heard this one before. A bit more pop oriented than I would expect from a rocker. “You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet’ quite amusing, b b b baby. The quad mix seems weak as if they weren’t quite sure what to do with the medium.

  4. lonky53 July 10, 2014 at 17:41 #

    BBBBBaby You Ain’t Heard Nothing Yet

  5. sacdtodvda July 9, 2014 at 22:55 #

    Should be worth grabbing just for the big band version of You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet. Seems like Aussie act Frank Bennett wasn’t the first one with that idea.

  6. gjwAudio July 9, 2014 at 22:51 #

    Not only is Burton a great singer… he’s a great ENTERTAINER.

    At the dawn of the Seventies I saw the Guess Who headline at The O’Keefe Centre (Toronto, Canada) and was completely blown away. Burton’s distinctive voice put a unique stamp on a rock solid show.

    Later – much later (like mid-Nineties) – I met up with Burton while volunteering for a TV fundraiser (annual Variety Club Telethon). Burton Cummings was a featured guest 3 years running, and I had numerous Green-Room chats with him. A really nice guy, and hilariously – he even remembered me from year to year. Burton always put his heart into the show, and never engaged in any “celebrity-snob” behaviour (unlike many other primadonna-types I had to deal with).

    The show was produced in a big downtown hotel and the final year Burton was on the roster, I was blessed to be in the right place at the right time. After the show had gone off-air, I found myself in a darkened ballroom with 10 other people, Burton Cummings, and a grand piano !

    Having enjoyed a liberal amount of refreshment in the Hospitality Suite, Burton felt he’d more to give that day… and we were treated to an impromptu singsong ’round the piano. It’s hard to describe the power of this guy’s voice (…from 8 feet away) – direct, dynamic and mesmerizingly expressive. No mics/PA/band-a-blazing stuff – just the raw acoustic power of that fabulous voice, accompanied by some great piano playing. Magical.

    That was a personal Best Of… Show I’ll never forget – Burton taking request after request from the group (easy to do with his huge catalogue of hit songs). We were soooo disappointed when hotel staff came to break things up and shoo us from the ballroom.

    Aw well, I got to ask Burton Cummings “play-another-one” for an hour – no ticket stub required. What a singular experience, and cherished memory.

    Thank you OD (and secret contributor…) for releasing this record. Nice decode too, as always.

    Hope you enjoyed my little Histoire 😉

  7. joeerand July 9, 2014 at 22:43 #

    You’re very generous with the freebies. Thank you! Always enjoyed the funny lounge version of “You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet” on this one.

  8. sailorpaul July 9, 2014 at 20:05 #

    A very nice release and a good listen. I believe I have a Q8 conversion of this, so it will be interesting to make an A-B comparison.

    I used to own a Q8 of Best of The Guess Who back in my late teens. I always loved that album, and the Q8 mix was very adventurous. It included the full version of “American Woman” and a great surround treatment on “Hang on to your Life”.

    OD: Any Guess Who in the pipeline? I’m not even sure what was available in the various Quad formats for this band. Maybe someone can enlighten me?

    • oxforddickie July 9, 2014 at 20:24 #

      It would be very interesting to have a comparison between the two, especially track 1.

      In total there were 12 quad Guess Who titles, six of which were only released on Q8. As to releases? You never know……….

      • jaypfunk July 10, 2014 at 20:26 #

        12? damn. Do you have any plans for doing any especially Share The Land and Road Food? I want to hear those 2 really bad

        • oxforddickie July 10, 2014 at 20:30 #

          I’m with Captain Beyond when it comes to letting people know what’s coming up. We keep an eye on the ‘Requests’ page for ideas of want people want and try and fit in what we can.

  9. lupineassassin July 9, 2014 at 16:11 #

    One of rock’s best singers. Thanks for posting this one! 🙂

  10. avpig July 9, 2014 at 15:29 #

    Thanks for this release. Great singer. If you get a chance, check out his performance on the “Voices” soundtrack. I wish that he would have recorded more Jimmy Webb songs.

  11. Owen Smith July 9, 2014 at 11:49 #

    By the way, I think the old “Freebie with link” text was better. In some browsers it isn’t very obvious what is a link and what isn’t, especially for visually impaired people. I thought this on the Captain Beyond release that didn’t have the “with link” text, now it’s happened twice I thought I’d say something.

    Now that the blog is public (is it? I can’t tell) I als feel we need to be explicit what is downloadable without membership and what is freebie for supporters only.

  12. Owen Smith July 9, 2014 at 11:16 #

    What are you doing releasing stuff at 6 in the morning? That’s what my email says anyway.

    • oxforddickie July 9, 2014 at 11:33 #

      Couln’t sleep, so i had to find something to do

  13. ultimatetrouble July 9, 2014 at 10:12 #

    My wife will be thrilled with this album. Stand Tall is one of her favorite songs and for her first time will get to hear it in four channel. Thanks Captain and OD This site is rewarding.

    • oxforddickie July 9, 2014 at 10:40 #

      This is a Dreaming-Spires release!

    • captainbeyond55 July 9, 2014 at 12:25 #

      Oh my goodness. Please don’t confuse the 100’s of audiophile DS releases here with the occasional CB release from magnetic media. The Captain had nothing to do with this release.

      • oxforddickie July 9, 2014 at 12:32 #

        Sorry if i came across grouchy, but this release was a special, the transfer was supplied by a blog member and was pushed ahead to be the first of my ‘Freebie with LINK’ releases, a i mentioned in my message.

        I also don’t mean anything against the Captains release. Please read the whole posting, it’s very easy to tell whose release is whose.

Leave a Reply

