Art Garfunkel – Angel Clare

4 Jul

Art Garfunkel - Angel Clare DS399f front

Album info

Release: DS399f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/VΒ  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Art Garfunkel – Angel Clare”

  1. Owen Smith July 20, 2014 at 12:15 #

    Not my thing musically, just light hearted audible wallpaper. Maybe I wasn’t in the right mood? The transfer sounded good and there was definitely quad all around me, but I wasn’t paying enough attention to say if the mix was any good. Sorry.

  2. bigheadrascal July 4, 2014 at 23:07 #

    Having yet another opportunity to finally hear a title in my collection of SQ vinyl truly come to life.

    • oxforddickie July 4, 2014 at 23:51 #

      I’m guessing you have a nice quad collection. From your remarks i’m wondering what your playing them through?

      • bigheadrascal July 5, 2014 at 00:28 #

        They play in my memory of the receiver I had back in the day which had QS and SQ Logic decoding. I have a turntable which is not currently connected. I did for a time experiment with it connected to a Dolby Pro Logic theater system with, at best, lukewarm results. The collection is small because the record shops generally limited quad to a single bin in a corner somewhere. That is if they carried any quad at all. With barely a few exceptions, you’ve already released most of what I have.

  3. admsh July 4, 2014 at 18:56 #

    Thank you OD, can’t wait to listen to this one. Is Breakaway planned for release as well? Both really great albums, the Breakaway mix is as good as Still Crazy. Would love to hear your version of that.

    And then we’re only missing Paul simon and There Goes Rhymin’ Simon in SQ/II πŸ™‚

    • oxforddickie July 4, 2014 at 22:05 #

      Breakaway is planned at some point, and as far as “There goes…” a search for it may surprise you.

      • admsh July 5, 2014 at 13:31 #

        I was suggesting “There goes…” could be a good candidate to compare SQ/Final with SQ/II πŸ˜‰

        OD, the quality of this transfer is really amazing, clear and beautiful. The difference between this (and Still Crazy), and say Aftertones is the physical quality of the LP itself? The difference is staggering, this could pass as a transfer from a quad reel.

        One thing — I think tracks 7 and 8 are both under track 7 together on the DVD.

        • sacdtodvda July 5, 2014 at 14:12 #

          I noticed that as well about 7 & 8 as well – these tracks are cross-faded, but is it possible you’ve missed a Track Point?

          • oxforddickie July 5, 2014 at 14:23 #

            More than likely. Is it serious enough for a re-release?

            • sacdtodvda July 6, 2014 at 00:57 #

              I don’t think so – they do flow directly into each other. And of course I can fix my copy if I feel the need.

        • oxforddickie July 5, 2014 at 19:48 #

          I’d never thought about re-doing “There Goes…”. Of course re-doing it would mean a new release would be pushed back, but i’ll consider it.

  4. g335 July 4, 2014 at 14:10 #

    It’s time to make a donation soon, for there are several I haven’t picked up yet and this #399 looks intriguing. Wow, I can’t believe you are really one away from the big 400 post. Judging from your past century marks, I’m sure it will be special. I can’t say it enough, I really appreciate your dedication to quality and keeping quad and surround sound alive OD. I’m very grateful to be associated with your fine blog. Thanks again for all that you do! πŸ™‚

    • oxforddickie July 4, 2014 at 14:41 #

      Thanks for those kind remarks.

      I’m glad that what started off as a small project has found like minded people from all over the world join together in the delights of surround sound from the past. It’s a shame certain parts of the world can’t also just get on and share the delights this world has to offer.

      Whoops, promised myself not to get political πŸ˜‰

      Anyway, as i mention in my usual end of the century dire-tripe, that will be posted tomorrow, i’m hoping DS400f will ‘hit the right spot’, so to speak.

  5. bigheadrascal July 4, 2014 at 07:13 #

    This title has been on my wish list all along! Much gratitude!

Leave a Reply

