Bobby Goldsboro – Summer (The First Time)

27 Jun

Bobby Goldsboro - Summer (The First Time) CB017 frontLink

Not quadraphonic friends but no less than the official Quadrasonic from United Artist. I hope we can tell the difference. The title song which is about summer was the big hit here on this tape. Bobby also did a good job with track 04 ‘Killing Me Softly With Her Song’. I liked track 06 ‘Marlena’ a real toe tapper but didn’t it sound sort of like ‘Candida’ by Tony Orlando & Dawn? But now my big favorite is track 09 ‘Mississippi Delta Queen’ with those big fat horns. Coupling that with the cadence and rhythm of lyrics makes it a real bell ringer for the Captain. This was originally only available as a Q8. I wish to express my thanks for the tape which was supplied by Lupine. Enjoy CB

Album info

Release: CB017

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

 

11 Responses to “Bobby Goldsboro – Summer (The First Time)”

  1. birdycat19 July 4, 2014 at 19:01 #

    Gave this a listen last night and was very pleasantly surprised! A perfect album to end the evening with! A definite keeper.

  2. smokey901 July 4, 2014 at 00:33 #

    I really enjoyed the title track, waves rolling across all four speakers, but the stand out track for me is “Killing Me Softly”, great production and very discreet. “Marlena” is so close to “Candida” I’m surprised Bobby wasn’t sued !
    Many Thanks for sharing this one.

  3. quadro2013 June 29, 2014 at 18:06 #

    Very cool!

    I think, I know the title song, but don’t know the rest of the album – at least I’m not sure…

    So, I’m glad to can listen to it now.

    Many Thanks!

  4. Owen Smith June 28, 2014 at 18:41 #

    This is one of my favourite releases from the Captain, thanks! Great vocals, well known songs with good accompaniment, and plenty of well thought out surround action. Some great snarling trombones in track 9 too, I really love that sound.

    Good sound quality for a Q8, all I can really detect is the usual limited high frequency response but it just adds to the ambience for vintage songs like these. I didn’t notice any wow or flutter or other Q8 nasties.

  5. lenikus June 28, 2014 at 00:51 #

    Thank you very much for this, I didn’t know the artist, but this songs are very familiar to everyone.

  6. lupineassassin June 27, 2014 at 19:08 #

    Thanks so much for posting this! 😀

  7. birdycat19 June 27, 2014 at 16:42 #

    You should check out Millie Jackson’s killer version of “Summer” on her LP CAUGHT UP. One of the great soul albums of the 70’s and a concept album to boot!

  8. Q! June 27, 2014 at 15:55 #

    Nice tunes – it’s my kind of music (Killing Me Softly With Her Song!), yes, Marlena is really similar to Candida but after all, it does not matter, doesn’t bother 🙂 and the whole album creates a very pleasant quadraphonic sound environment.

  9. oldsiamsir June 27, 2014 at 14:34 #

    Wonderful title song. Many thanks to Captain and Lupine.

  10. joeerand June 27, 2014 at 10:31 #

    I never heard this either. Looking forward to it. Thanks!

  11. deepsky4565 June 27, 2014 at 07:52 #

    I’ll give it a try, not familiar with the album.

Leave a Reply

