Rick Wakeman – Return To The Centre Of The Earth

11 Jun

Rick Wakeman - Return To The Centre Of The Earth DS392f sm

Album info

Release: DS392f

Source: Dolby Surround CD

Process: DS/IIa

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

9 Responses to “Rick Wakeman – Return To The Centre Of The Earth”

  1. Dan Forzano September 26, 2014 at 00:21 #

    I haven’t heard this album, though I was a big fan of JttCoE when I was in college.

  2. farfig June 21, 2014 at 14:44 #

    Looking forward to this! Narration by Patrick Stewart will be a treat as well…

    Owen’s comment above referencing “War Of The Worlds” with Richard Burton’s narration raises my hopes, as I have always loved that story-like style…….

    Many Thanks!!!!….

    • Owen Smith June 22, 2014 at 12:48 #

      I have the SACD of War Of The Worlds. The 5.1 mix is fantastic, for something that was not recorded with surround in mind it’s probably the best surround remix I’ve heard.

  3. rockyofpittsburgh June 18, 2014 at 05:11 #

    I like this very much.

  4. Owen Smith June 17, 2014 at 14:06 #

    Having read the Allmusic review I disagree with it completely. I much prefer this to Journey To The Centre Of The Earth, that was just a prententious cacophony of keyboards whereas this features real music from the LSO plus choir and electric guitar, and when Wakeman plays keyboards they’re an addition rather than dominating. I’m guessing the Allmusic reviewer likes Wakeman keyboards and wants to hear nothing but those, whereas I’ve been unimpressed with the pure Wakeman efforts on the blog.

    The Allmusic reviewer also doesn’t like Patrick Stewart’s work here, whereas I think it’s fantastic. I couldn’t help comparing it to Richard Burton in War of the Worlds, it’s that good.

    The surround presentation is basically stereo with ambience in the rears from the surround encoding. I’d have liked a bit more surround action, but realistically Dolby Surround just can’t do much more. The passages shooting down tunnels of water would have been ideal for effects zooming around the rears to match the narrative, but that would have required a decent encoding system like SQ or at a pinch QS. A shame, definitely a lost opportunity.

  5. lmwallnj June 16, 2014 at 05:19 #

    Thanks OD – I did not realize this is a DS encoded CD. Looking forward to listening to it in properly decoded surround.

  6. quadro2013 June 13, 2014 at 18:46 #

    Thank You.
    As g335 says, the Rick Wakeman albums in the early 70s are real classics.

    Thumbs Up!

  7. g335 June 11, 2014 at 22:06 #

    I’ve always enjoyed Wakeman’s earlier 70s classic. This looks incredible…thank you! Appreciate it OD. 🙂

  8. jrdaniels June 11, 2014 at 18:41 #

    Thanks OD – another gem!

Leave a Reply

