Chicago – II

6 Jun

Chicago - II DS390f front

Withdrawn due to pending reissue

Album info

Release: DS390f

Source: SQ LP

Process: SQ/II

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

14 Responses to “Chicago – II”

  1. rockyofpittsburgh June 13, 2014 at 08:17 #

    I recently made the mistake of spending a lot of money for a used DVD-A of this album. That was before I joined the blog. This sounds just as good, if not better.Again I am amazed at the front-to-rear separation Odee has achieved.

  2. tarkus2013 June 10, 2014 at 00:08 #

    I liked what your surround did for several of the tracks, especially Movin’ In and Fancy Colors. CTA and Chicago III were just all around better efforts from these guys. I saw on Al Kooper’s site that Chicago was the brass used for the Buckinghams, an old sixties group, before they got their own claim to fame. Kind of a Drag? Perhaps not…

  3. Owen Smith June 8, 2014 at 13:41 #

    I liked parts of this when I could drag my attention back to it. But mainly this is far, far too long to sustain my interest in this sort of middle of the road music. The last three tracks were more engaging for some reason.

    How many LPs was this on? It feels like three.

    • oxforddickie June 8, 2014 at 15:28 #

      This was a double album, although i guess if your not into Chicago it may well seem like a triple album LOL

  4. jaypfunk June 7, 2014 at 12:03 #

    Does anyone know if the Quad LP differs from the Q8 in mix or sound quality? I’ve only heard the Q8 and it’s a little muddy

    • oxforddickie June 7, 2014 at 12:09 #

      Mix wise it’s the same, as to sound quality… personally i’d prefer the SQ mix, but then i am a little biased…. LOL 😉

  5. joeerand June 7, 2014 at 07:29 #

    Thank you! I was wondering if you were going to unload the Chicago titles as part of DS400 milestone, but I’m happy to have this now!

    • oxforddickie June 7, 2014 at 09:57 #

      It would be heavy going to put out the remainingg Chicago titles by the time we get to DS400, but the series will continue, i promise.

  6. birdycat19 June 6, 2014 at 23:36 #

    I have the Rhino 5.1 DVD-A which is marvelous, but I’ve never heard the original quad. This should be interesting…

    • oxforddickie June 6, 2014 at 23:43 #

      Never understood why they bothered re-mixing II, V & X for those DVD-A relelases

      • birdycat19 June 9, 2014 at 16:39 #

        What, and frighten a bunch of people into thinking their sub and center channel speakers didn’t work lol? And, everyone’s knows 6 speakers are better than four, right? Right? 🙂

    • birdycat19 August 18, 2014 at 04:41 #

      I’m finally getting around to getting this one, if only to compare to the DVD-A which sonically blows away 45 years of muddy bad mix memories that I have of every vinyl and CD version I’ve ever heard of this great album. I shall report my findings!

Leave a Reply

