Original Soundtrack: Star Trek – First Contact

4 Jun

Star Trek - First Contact DS389f front

Includes: Steppenwolf – Magic Carpet Ride & Roy Orbison – Ooby Dooby

Album info

Release: DS389f

Source: Dolby Surround CD

Process: DS/IIa

Format: DVD-A/V  MLP/DTS/DD

13 Responses to “Original Soundtrack: Star Trek – First Contact”

  1. jamoke June 19, 2014 at 04:52 #

    I was a bit let down by this one. Was hoping for a real multichannel Magic Carpet Ride and Obby, but sounds like “double stereo” to my ears.
    I guess they can’t all be winners.

    Thanks for all the effort!

    • oxforddickie June 19, 2014 at 05:01 #

      Interesting. This is where feedback is important as when i listened to this there was certainly a surround field with defined rear sounds.

      Perhaps it’s dependent on the sound system? Would like to hear others views on what they hear on these Dolby Surround decodes.

    • Owen Smith June 19, 2014 at 09:17 #

      As I said in my review, I found the anount of rear channel information varied greatly track by track on this release.

      • tarkus2013 June 19, 2014 at 21:39 #

        It is certainly not a special effects filled experience – like Frankenstein from Edgar Winters – but I think it is certainly broken out into surround rather than double stereo.

        • jamoke June 20, 2014 at 05:12 #

          The “double stereo” comment applies to the last two tracks (Magic Carpet / Ooby). The rest of the CD contains discrete 4ch content.

          Just didn;t hear anything in the rears that wasn’t in the front.
          I assume the didn’t have access to the multitracks for these tracks.

  2. Owen Smith June 9, 2014 at 21:58 #

    I found this a bit underwhelming to be honest. The tracks have no musical connection to each other except they were all used in the same film. And tracks varied greatly in how much rear channel information there was, some had almost none at all. The main theme had quite a bit however and taken in isolation is quite good music.

  3. tarkus2013 June 5, 2014 at 16:24 #

    You should have a special place in heaven for what transpired in my living room this morning. Got my head inside Magic Carpet Ride and took 40-something years off my life (for a few minutes anyway). Damn, that was fun – Thanks!! Sounded like it was supposed to sound, by god! Ooby-Dooby was a hoot, too – never knew that was a Wilbury singing that. Crank it up and keep ’em coming…

  4. gjbh June 4, 2014 at 18:13 #

    Richard, I have discussed not being able to access your work before. What do I need to do to rectify this. I so loved the old site…Greg

    • Owen Smith June 5, 2014 at 00:04 #

      Read the Rules page and do what it says there.

      • oxforddickie June 5, 2014 at 00:15 #

        I’ve been down that road with him for what seems like forever

        • gjbh June 6, 2014 at 05:07 #

          OD, I offered to make another donation sometime back and you said not to and whilst I have been an honorary ‘member’ since the great Reformation and happily receive the posts, I am not sure why I don’t make the freebie list. Anyway, having observed your comments on many forums and noting the reasons for the Reformation, I am not here looking to for the wrath of an Old Testament god. It’s been fun and “thanks for all the fish”

          • oxforddickie June 6, 2014 at 09:04 #

            Let me know your log-in name and i’ll remove you

  5. joeerand June 4, 2014 at 17:36 #

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

